What are you using to test your power supply?

If you are having a problem with getting any of your computer's hardware to work with MEPIS or you can't find the right driver, this is the forum to use. It's for newbies and regular users to post questions. Just make sure to post what hardware you are having problems with, in the subject and not just in the post's text area, please.
Message
Author
User avatar
namida12
Forum Guide
Forum Guide
Posts: 1569
Age: 51
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2007 4:54 pm

What are you using to test your power supply?

#1 Postby namida12 » Fri Dec 09, 2011 1:43 pm

I have a Corsair power supply tester with only LED lights, that has apparently died. I was looking to replace that unit and thought I would ask other Mepis users what they might be using. I understand not everyone assembles their own computer or does any hardware troubleshooting, but there should be more than a handful of "do-it-yourself" Mepis users that will read this thread.

I just read a review of the Thermaltake Dr Power II PSU Tester, that shows the voltages something I have not had previous with LED light testers. But the review as little concrete
information on the testing provided by this unit..
http://www.ninjalane.com/reviews/power_ ... tt_drpower

JR
MX-15 64-bit
AMD A4-7300.....3.8 GHz...8192 MB DDR3...1600 Memory
AMD 2650.........1.45 GHz..2048 MB DDR3...1600 Memory
AMD X4 630......2.8 GHz....4146 MB DDR2.....800 Memory
Mepis 11 64-bit
AMD X4 620......2.6 GHz....4146 MB DDR2.....800 Memory

User avatar
Frank D. Hubeny
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 250
Age: 63
Joined: Fri Sep 10, 2010 3:30 pm

Re: What are you using to test your power supply?

#2 Postby Frank D. Hubeny » Fri Dec 09, 2011 1:51 pm

Good afternoon namida12;

At work we use Ultra Power Supply Testers. They also have just LED's but they do work great and were not expensive. Our field service uses the same one. Their newer ones have the new connections on them for the newer power supplies. Web site is "www.ultraproducts.com".

I do not work for them so am not trying to get any business.
Until the next time we meet thank you for taking the time out of your day to visit
with me. I enjoyed spending time with you.

Frank D. Hubeny

User avatar
m_pav
Forum Guide
Forum Guide
Posts: 2507
Age: 49
Joined: Sun Aug 06, 2006 3:02 pm

Re: What are you using to test your power supply?

#3 Postby m_pav » Fri Dec 09, 2011 3:20 pm

We use a Digitus unit
http://www.digitus.info/en/products/acc ... -da-70601/

Works admirably with LCD readout and connections for all current mainsteam PSU connectors, has beeps for failures, but doesn't differentiate between 40-pin and 44-pin, so when testing a 40-pin, it will beep because it thinks some voltage inputs are not working.

When the voltage runs high, it is normally a sign of damaged e-caps, when it runs very low, it's the transistors, but this unit and most others I have seen is/are incapable of determining the current, therefore, it/they can not determine the "wear" state of the internals.

In short, these devices are only useful if the operator already has a good understanding of computer hardware in the first place, and they may be more useful to measure voltage in real-time if it were possible to connect them in parallel, but as the ones I have tested automatically short pins 15 & 16, this may not be the best option.

You can always use a multimeter as I have done for many years to get more accurate readings, but I do not totally agree with the author in the following page because power supplies only display their true status when under load and free-running a power supply without a load is not recommended by a number of electronics service agents.
http://pcsupport.about.com/od/toolsofth ... imeter.htm

I have only been caught out once though, that was when my multimeters battery was dying. The voltage readings kept climbing and it had me dumbfounded for the best part of half a day until I tested another PC with the same results, that's when I reaslised it was my multimeter.

Mike P
Mike P

Regd Linux User #472293
(Mine)Lenovo T550, i7-5600U, 16GB, 128GB SSD + 1.0TB HDD, MX15 64-bit
(Wifes) Asus M4A88TD-M, AMD Phenom II x4 955 CPU, nVidia GF610, 6Gb, 500GB+320GB, MX14 + KDE
(Kids) Intel NUC, J1900, 4GB, 64GB SSD, MX14 + KDE

User avatar
GoManutd
Forum Guide
Forum Guide
Posts: 2952
Joined: Mon Jun 30, 2008 8:06 pm

Re: What are you using to test your power supply?

#4 Postby GoManutd » Fri Dec 09, 2011 5:36 pm

i always just used a plain ole multimeter :)

User avatar
fatjak
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 479
Joined: Fri Jul 28, 2006 8:19 pm

Re: What are you using to test your power supply?

#5 Postby fatjak » Sat Dec 10, 2011 1:12 am

I have to agree with m_pav running a power supply with no load is the best way i know to destroy it. Thirty minutes to test with no load, man that guy is crazy. There is no real test anyway without a load. And my take on a $250. tester unless you are on some king of mission critical seconds count clock is a little out there for the average joe. The spare antec works for me & when the day is done , five minutes and its Mepis time. ;)


Return to “Hardware General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest