MEPIS Community Forum

A Linux operating system based on Debian Stable
View unanswered posts | View unsolved topics | View active topics |



Reply to topic  [ 24 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
Have to run alsaconf at every bootup... 
Author Message
MEPIS Enthusiast
MEPIS Enthusiast
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2006 6:13 am
Posts: 8754
Location: Geneva NY
Has thanked: 2359 times
Have thanks: 1541 times
Post # 228157
Post 
Do you have a webcam plugged in? Sometimes that will "pull" the driver on boot--as with mine, a Logitech Quickcam Fusion.

_________________
A Wiki only works when many eyes are on it.

32bit, 3.12-0.bpo.1-686-pae, MX-14, AMD Phenom 9650 Quad-Core, Dell SP2309W with integrated webcam, Nvidia GeForce 6150SE, 4 GB DDR2


Sat Apr 24, 2010 2:48 pm
Profile
MEPIS Enthusiast
MEPIS Enthusiast
User avatar

Joined: Fri Dec 15, 2006 8:07 pm
Posts: 8139
Location: Skullcrusher Mountain, Santee, CA USA
Has thanked: 479 times
Have thanks: 1669 times
Post # 228158
Post 
Yes, what does kinfocenter or alsaconf say the device is?


Sat Apr 24, 2010 2:53 pm
Profile
MEPIS Guide
MEPIS Guide
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 4:30 pm
Posts: 1447
Location: Flinthills of Kansas, USA
Has thanked: 253 times
Have thanks: 139 times
Post # 228159
Post 
Well, I do but it is a Phillips teleconference cam that has it's own pci card that it connects to with a serial connection and uses it's own Bt848 driver that is exclusive to it. I wouldn't think it should interfere but who knows.

_________________
http://patentabsurdity.com/
AMD 64x2 2.6GHz 4GB ram M-11.9.92 kernel 3.10-3-amd64 kde 4.11.5 mixed/unstable
"beware a frequent flirt with potential disaster"


Sat Apr 24, 2010 2:56 pm
Profile
MEPIS Guide
MEPIS Guide
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 4:30 pm
Posts: 1447
Location: Flinthills of Kansas, USA
Has thanked: 253 times
Have thanks: 139 times
Post # 228162
Post 
It's the intel 82801 or something I'll have to look it up again. Just where is kinfocenter now anyway I just looked all over the desktop for it under every place I could think of.

_________________
http://patentabsurdity.com/
AMD 64x2 2.6GHz 4GB ram M-11.9.92 kernel 3.10-3-amd64 kde 4.11.5 mixed/unstable
"beware a frequent flirt with potential disaster"


Sat Apr 24, 2010 3:04 pm
Profile
MEPIS Enthusiast
MEPIS Enthusiast
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 2:26 pm
Posts: 6371
Has thanked: 345 times
Have thanks: 1963 times
Post # 228164
Post 
I notice that the usb audio device "snd_usb_audio 49710 1" disappears after you run alsaconf. Is that GE Skype phone that you are working on in that other thread also plugged in?


Sat Apr 24, 2010 3:06 pm
Profile
MEPIS Guide
MEPIS Guide
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 4:30 pm
Posts: 1447
Location: Flinthills of Kansas, USA
Has thanked: 253 times
Have thanks: 139 times
Post # 228165
Post 
Yes the GE phone is plugged in. The soundcard I use listed by alsaconf is> Intel Corp. 82801EB/ER (ICH5/ICH5R) AC'97 Audio Controller

_________________
http://patentabsurdity.com/
AMD 64x2 2.6GHz 4GB ram M-11.9.92 kernel 3.10-3-amd64 kde 4.11.5 mixed/unstable
"beware a frequent flirt with potential disaster"


Sat Apr 24, 2010 3:11 pm
Profile
MEPIS Guide
MEPIS Guide
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 4:30 pm
Posts: 1447
Location: Flinthills of Kansas, USA
Has thanked: 253 times
Have thanks: 139 times
Post # 228168
Post 
In reference to my post #9 that odd 2 slider kmix that starts up says 2-in-1 phone at the bottom of it. So do you think the phone is doing what Jerry mentioned a cam sometimes does?

_________________
http://patentabsurdity.com/
AMD 64x2 2.6GHz 4GB ram M-11.9.92 kernel 3.10-3-amd64 kde 4.11.5 mixed/unstable
"beware a frequent flirt with potential disaster"


Sat Apr 24, 2010 3:15 pm
Profile
MEPIS Guide
MEPIS Guide

Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 4:37 pm
Posts: 1482
Has thanked: 3 times
Have thanks: 29 times
Post # 228169
Post 
Have you tried rebooting without the phone plugged in?

_________________
[color="Blue"][SIZE="2"]
In the long history of humankind [...] those who learned to collaborate and improvise most effectively have prevailed.
.[/SIZE][/color]
[color="Silver"][SIZE="1"]Charles Darwin[/SIZE][/color]


Sat Apr 24, 2010 3:16 pm
Profile
MEPIS Enthusiast
MEPIS Enthusiast
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 2:26 pm
Posts: 6371
Has thanked: 345 times
Have thanks: 1963 times
Post # 228170
Post 
You might try booting without the GE Skype phone plugged in, run alsaconf if necessary to get sound working, then reboot again without the phone plugged in to see if the sound system survives a reboot.


Sat Apr 24, 2010 3:16 pm
Profile
MEPIS Enthusiast
MEPIS Enthusiast
User avatar

Joined: Fri Dec 15, 2006 8:07 pm
Posts: 8139
Location: Skullcrusher Mountain, Santee, CA USA
Has thanked: 479 times
Have thanks: 1669 times
Post # 228172
Post 
JBoman wrote:
In reference to my post #9 that odd 2 slider kmix that starts up says 2-in-1 phone at the bottom of it. So do you think the phone is doing what Jerry mentioned a cam sometimes does?


Absolutely! But when two sound devices are plugged in, you should then have an option to switch between them in Kmix...someplace. How about where it says 2-in-1 phone--is that a button or selection checklist?


Sat Apr 24, 2010 3:23 pm
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 24 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

Protected by Anti-Spam ACP Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by STSoftware for PTF.