SoundBlaster Audigy 2 Value soundcard working intermittently

Problems with your sound card are to be posted here, as well as tutorials to share with others.
Message
Author
User avatar
cmf5
Forum Novice
Forum  Novice
Posts: 45
Joined: Fri Nov 23, 2007 9:53 am

SoundBlaster Audigy 2 Value soundcard working intermittently

#1 Postby cmf5 » Sun Feb 19, 2012 12:44 am

I have a SoundBlaster Audigy 2 Value sound card installed on my system, in addition to onboard nVidia audio on the motherboard. Since installing M11, the Audigy card is frequently not recognized or loaded after startup/reboot, resulting in no sound. When this happens, I will also get the alert popup shown below when I log in.

SoundCardMessage1.png


I would prefer that all audio be handled by the soundcard. Previously, to set the Audigy as the default sound card I followed the instructions in this link, under "Configure default soundcards...", but this fix no longer works. Any help is sincerely appreciated.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
qtech
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 693
Joined: Wed Nov 28, 2007 12:21 pm

Re: SoundBlaster Audigy 2 Value soundcard working intermitte

#2 Postby qtech » Sun Feb 19, 2012 2:11 am

If it is HDMI audio-

Find:

Code: Select all

/etc/modprobe.d/alsa-base-blacklist.conf


And add:

Code: Select all

blacklist snd_hda_intel

User avatar
lucky9
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 12359
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 5:54 am

Re: SoundBlaster Audigy 2 Value soundcard working intermitte

#3 Postby lucky9 » Sun Feb 19, 2012 5:42 am

First make sure that the onboard sound is disabled in the BIOS. To get into the BIOS you will need to enter Setup. The key needed is part of the boot screen before the operating system is loaded. If you need help post back here.
Yes, even I am dishonest. Not in many ways, but in some. Forty-one, I think it is.
--Mark Twain

User avatar
entropyfoe
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 498
Joined: Thu Apr 19, 2007 11:42 am

Re: SoundBlaster Audigy 2 Value soundcard working intermitte

#4 Postby entropyfoe » Sun Feb 19, 2012 1:13 pm

cmf5-

I had similar [not exactly-I had sound but not in any video] problems. As lucky9 wrote, you will have to go into the BIOS>

This thread covers my experience

viewtopic.php?f=84&t=30634&p=286234#p286234

The solution of the thread is the last posting of course. Not only disable the onboard sound, but find some BIOS screen regarding the VIDEO , something to do with HDMI, and there will be a sound which must be disabled.
Many outher good tips to try earlier in that thread by the knowledgable crowd here on the formums.

Are you using HDMI video output on the board?
-Jay
Asus Sabertooth 990FX R2.0 MB
AMD FX8320 3.5 GHz octo-core
16 Gig DDR3 1600 (Crucial)
Nvidia -ASUS 210 fanless
OCZ Vertex4 128G SSD (sda1,2, and 3=MX-15) sda4=MX-15 KDE
2TB WD sdb1= data
on-board ethernet & sound

User avatar
cmf5
Forum Novice
Forum  Novice
Posts: 45
Joined: Fri Nov 23, 2007 9:53 am

Re: SoundBlaster Audigy 2 Value soundcard working intermitte

#5 Postby cmf5 » Wed Mar 14, 2012 11:28 am

Thanks to everyone for your replies. Disabling the onboard sound in the BIOS has done the trick. I think this still begs the question as to why it is so much easier to manage mulitiple sound cards in W7 compared to Linux, but I'm happy I have this workaround.

Sorry for the delayed reply, but a lot of things came up.

User avatar
uncle mark
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 5360
Age: 2015
Joined: Sat Nov 11, 2006 10:42 pm

Re: SoundBlaster Audigy 2 Value soundcard working intermitte

#6 Postby uncle mark » Wed Mar 14, 2012 11:42 am

cmf5 wrote:I think this still begs the question as to why it is so much easier to manage mulitiple sound cards in W7 compared to Linux,


It just is.

One could also ask why it's so much easier to fill in the blank in Linux.
Desktop: Custom build Asus/AMD/nVidia -- MX-15 KDE, MEPIS 11
Laptop: Acer Aspire 5250 -- MX-15

User avatar
lucky9
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 12359
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 5:54 am

Re: SoundBlaster Audigy 2 Value soundcard working intermitte

#7 Postby lucky9 » Wed Mar 14, 2012 3:47 pm

cmf5 wrote:why it is so much easier to manage mulitiple sound cards in W7 compared to Linux, but I'm happy I have this workaround.


Because when you pay what it costs, it costs more. This is Open Software. In the segment that SimplyMEPIS is in most are volunteers. The more turnkey a system is the more it costs. Doesn't the top Windows cost around $400?

We basically give a really good start on enough kit to get you up and running with very little effort. Most of us here are hobbyists of one stripe or another. We really enjoy the process. Plus we want to share it with everyone that cares to try it.
(Personally I agree with you. But it's easily fixed and that makes it far down the list of things that are likely to be done.)

But the thing I really like is that I can tailor the system to my needs/wants easily. That I have control of my computer. That I can do anydamnthing I want with it without fear of intervention or restriction. I love the security also. Not worrying about a virus. And I can't remember the last malware I had to deal with.
Plus the level of customizations that are available is really staggering.

Welcome to the forum and we hope your stay is a plus for you.
Yes, even I am dishonest. Not in many ways, but in some. Forty-one, I think it is.
--Mark Twain


Return to “Sound”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest