Wireless Headphones work with SKYPE only

Problems with your sound card are to be posted here, as well as tutorials to share with others.
Message
Author
User avatar
richb
Administrator
Posts: 12961
Age: 71
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 2:17 pm

Re: Wireless Headphones work with SKYPE only

#11 Postby richb » Wed Apr 25, 2012 9:18 am

Getting back to helping with the "right" problem, you may also want to try alsamixer in a terminal and see if the mic volume control is not muted or at a too low level.
Forum Rules
Guide - How to Ask for Help

Rich

Laptop: Acer V5-572G: Intel i5, 12 GIG mem, Intel graphics, SanDisk SSD, 256GB
Virtualbox: Win 7
Desktop: MX-15- 64, AMD A8 7600 FM2+ CPU R7 Graphics, fglrx driver, 16 GIG Mem. Samsung EVO SSD 250 GB

User avatar
mustang64
Forum Novice
Forum  Novice
Posts: 90
Age: 67
Joined: Mon Oct 12, 2009 7:39 pm

Re: Wireless Headphones work with SKYPE only

#12 Postby mustang64 » Wed Apr 25, 2012 9:21 pm

Sorry - I did not mean to step on toes in my last post... :frown:

Below is the message I get when I do the "dmesg | tail" in a terminal. In the MIXER - all sliders are set to the maximum and none of the "MUTE" are checked.

Code: Select all

Gary@mepis1:~$ dmesg | tail
[174428.153754] usb 6-3.4: USB disconnect, address 3
[174455.505249] usb 6-3.4: new full speed USB device using ohci_hcd and address 7
[174455.976326] usb 6-3.4: New USB device found, idVendor=046d, idProduct=0a1d
[174455.976337] usb 6-3.4: New USB device strings: Mfr=1, Product=2, SerialNumber=0
[174455.976345] usb 6-3.4: Product: Logitech Wireless Headset H760
[174455.976351] usb 6-3.4: Manufacturer: Logitech
[174456.012335] 7:1:1 : no or invalid class specific endpoint descriptor
[174456.030336] 7:2:1 : no or invalid class specific endpoint descriptor
[174456.866668] input: Logitech Logitech Wireless Headset H760 as /devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:13.1/usb6/6-3/6-3.4/6-3.4:1.3/input/input9
[174456.866969] generic-usb 0003:046D:0A1D.0003: input,hiddev0,hidraw0: USB HID v1.11 Device [Logitech Logitech Wireless Headset H760] on usb-0000:00:13.1-3.4/input3
Gary@mepis1:~$



Any good words?
CPU - AMD Athlon II, X2 250 3.0GHz AM3 Dual-Core
MoBo - Gigabyte MA770T-UD3P
Video - MSI N9800GT-MD512MB
PSU - OCZ ModXStream-Pro 600W
RAM - Crucial 2GB DDR3 1333
OS - Mepis 11, 64bit
Display - Samsung, SyncMaster 930B

User avatar
Jerry3904
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 15031
Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2006 6:13 am

Re: Wireless Headphones work with SKYPE only

#13 Postby Jerry3904 » Thu Apr 26, 2012 6:04 am

OK, good. That should run just fine. Rich meant to say alsaconf, I think, and that is what I would try too. It is in the community repo, and you can read about using it in the Wiki.

You just have one soundcard?
Production: 4.2.0-0.bpo.1-amd64, MX-15 RC1, AMD FX-4130 Quad-Core, GeForce GT 630/PCIe/SSE2, 8 GB, Kingston SSD 120 GB and WesternDigital 1TB
Testing: AAO 722: 3.16-0-4-686-pae. MX-15, AMD C-60 APU, 4 GB

User avatar
richb
Administrator
Posts: 12961
Age: 71
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 2:17 pm

Re: Wireless Headphones work with SKYPE only

#14 Postby richb » Thu Apr 26, 2012 6:49 am

Jerry3904 wrote:OK, good. That should run just fine. Rich meant to say alsaconf, I think, and that is what I would try too. It is in the community repo, and you can read about using it in the Wiki.

You just have one soundcard?

I did mean alsamixer.
Forum Rules
Guide - How to Ask for Help

Rich

Laptop: Acer V5-572G: Intel i5, 12 GIG mem, Intel graphics, SanDisk SSD, 256GB
Virtualbox: Win 7
Desktop: MX-15- 64, AMD A8 7600 FM2+ CPU R7 Graphics, fglrx driver, 16 GIG Mem. Samsung EVO SSD 250 GB

User avatar
mustang64
Forum Novice
Forum  Novice
Posts: 90
Age: 67
Joined: Mon Oct 12, 2009 7:39 pm

Re: Wireless Headphones work with SKYPE only

#15 Postby mustang64 » Thu Apr 26, 2012 9:26 pm

richb wrote:Getting back to helping with the "right" problem, you may also want to try alsamixer in a terminal and see if the mic volume control is not muted or at a too low level.


I had a look at alsamixer and see the column marked HEADPHO is at zero and not adjustable. When I select the wireless sound card, F6, a column marked PCF shows 100% and is adjustable.

"alsaconf" showed "command not found"...
CPU - AMD Athlon II, X2 250 3.0GHz AM3 Dual-Core
MoBo - Gigabyte MA770T-UD3P
Video - MSI N9800GT-MD512MB
PSU - OCZ ModXStream-Pro 600W
RAM - Crucial 2GB DDR3 1333
OS - Mepis 11, 64bit
Display - Samsung, SyncMaster 930B

User avatar
richb
Administrator
Posts: 12961
Age: 71
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 2:17 pm

Re: Wireless Headphones work with SKYPE only

#16 Postby richb » Thu Apr 26, 2012 10:05 pm

If your sound card in a high definition Intel card you may have to edit the /etc/modprobe.d/alsa-base.conf file by adding the line options snd-hda-intel model = xxxx where xxxx is the model of your sound card. The reference for sound cards can be found here: http://www.mjmwired.net/kernel/Document ... Models.txt.

For example I added:

Code: Select all

options snd-hda-intel model= acer
for my ALC260 card.
Forum Rules
Guide - How to Ask for Help

Rich

Laptop: Acer V5-572G: Intel i5, 12 GIG mem, Intel graphics, SanDisk SSD, 256GB
Virtualbox: Win 7
Desktop: MX-15- 64, AMD A8 7600 FM2+ CPU R7 Graphics, fglrx driver, 16 GIG Mem. Samsung EVO SSD 250 GB

User avatar
uncle mark
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 5360
Age: 2015
Joined: Sat Nov 11, 2006 10:42 pm

Re: Wireless Headphones work with SKYPE only

#17 Postby uncle mark » Thu Apr 26, 2012 11:51 pm

mustang64 wrote:
richb wrote:Getting back to helping with the "right" problem, you may also want to try alsamixer in a terminal and see if the mic volume control is not muted or at a too low level.


I had a look at alsamixer and see the column marked HEADPHO is at zero and not adjustable. When I select the wireless sound card, F6, a column marked PCF shows 100% and is adjustable.

"alsaconf" showed "command not found"...


Install the 'alsamixergui' via Synaptic. It should install an entry in the Multimedia menu. Then check there for any sliders that need moved up or are muted.
Desktop: Custom build Asus/AMD/nVidia -- MX-15 KDE, MEPIS 11
Laptop: Acer Aspire 5250 -- MX-15

User avatar
Jerry3904
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 15031
Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2006 6:13 am

Re: Wireless Headphones work with SKYPE only

#18 Postby Jerry3904 » Fri Apr 27, 2012 6:06 am

"alsaconf" showed "command not found"...
That indicates that either you did not install program or you did not become root before trying to run it. Again, see the Wiki--where BTW there is an excellent section on "sound not working" that contains all the suggestions made so far...
Production: 4.2.0-0.bpo.1-amd64, MX-15 RC1, AMD FX-4130 Quad-Core, GeForce GT 630/PCIe/SSE2, 8 GB, Kingston SSD 120 GB and WesternDigital 1TB
Testing: AAO 722: 3.16-0-4-686-pae. MX-15, AMD C-60 APU, 4 GB

User avatar
Danum
Forum Guide
Forum Guide
Posts: 2688
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2007 5:49 pm

Re: Wireless Headphones work with SKYPE only

#19 Postby Danum » Fri Apr 27, 2012 8:53 am

Jerry3904 wrote:
"alsaconf" showed "command not found"...
That indicates that either you did not install program or you did not become root before trying to run it. Again, see the Wiki--where BTW there is an excellent section on "sound not working" that contains all the suggestions made so far...

alsaconf was removed from alsa-utils at 1.0.17-1. From the package changelog: "The only valid use-case for alsaconf is aiding the configuration of ISA sound cards."

http://wiki.debian.org/alsaconf

Just run

Code: Select all

alsamixer

in konsole, as root for system wide, or as user for the user only
Desktop.
Zalman Z11 Plus ATX PC Tower, AMD FX 8350 Black Edition Vishera, 8 Core 4.4 GHz, Kingston HyperX FURY Red 16GB, Nvidia GT740 Graphics, Pioneer BDR-209EBK Writer, 2 x Seagate 1TB SSHD SATA Hybrid Hard Drives. ASUS VS278Q 27 inch HD Monitor

User avatar
Jerry3904
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 15031
Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2006 6:13 am

Re: Wireless Headphones work with SKYPE only

#20 Postby Jerry3904 » Fri Apr 27, 2012 6:53 pm

Sure, but it is in the community repo which I told him to use
Production: 4.2.0-0.bpo.1-amd64, MX-15 RC1, AMD FX-4130 Quad-Core, GeForce GT 630/PCIe/SSE2, 8 GB, Kingston SSD 120 GB and WesternDigital 1TB
Testing: AAO 722: 3.16-0-4-686-pae. MX-15, AMD C-60 APU, 4 GB


Return to “Sound”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest