MEPIS Community Forum

A Linux operating system based on Debian Stable
View unanswered posts | View unsolved topics | View active topics |



Reply to topic  [ 37 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Ati Radeon HD4200 onboard, on AsusM4A785TD-V EVO motherboard, not working 
Author Message
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 2:10 am
Posts: 3407
Location: The Netherlands
Has thanked: 296 times
Have thanks: 330 times
Post # 245480
Post Ati Radeon HD4200 onboard, on AsusM4A785TD-V EVO motherboard, not working
Hi all

we've got the new system up and running like a charm:


Corsair PSU VX550W
Western Digital hdd 500GB Caviar Blue
AMD Asus M4A785TD-V EVO AM3
AMD Processor Athlon II X4 635, sAM3
Kingston Value 2x2048MB DDR3 1333


Except for the screen driver.


When I boot the livecd (same happens when installed) I get the "undefined video mode number: 315" thing. I can then select a resolution, but my res. isn't in there (1920x1080). I selected 1280x1024 which gives me a somewhat workable screen, but it is stretched vertically so I lose the umm.. thingie.. (what we called kicker in kde3).

I put the starter applet on the desktop and then tried entering the resolution in system settings after setting up the vsync and hsync in mxconfig. No dice, I get really pretty colors (green, yellow and blue, all mushed.. ew) but not the right resolution (likely simply not supported by the driver that was loaded).

I have tried installing the Ati driver from the Ati site, but no luck with that either, it's not able to start amdcccle (ati control center) for some reason (pops up an error). I can enter the aticonfig command as root, but then you get so many options that I see cross eyed.

Tomorrow I will reinstall and try the sgfxi thing (got fed up for today), and HOPEFULLY that one will work, and if not, I am a bit disappointed. :sad:


If that doesn't work either, I'll cry.. the system itself runs a charm after all.


Did we forget to set something up in the bios? Any tips there that we need to look into?


Also.. if we really cannot get it to work, I will need a separate video card (remember we had the radeon 9550 which works in this one? It's AGP..... *smacks forehead*)

Which video card DOES work, guaranteed, on my mepis 8.5 system? Ati, or Nvidea? Which model?


Hopefully the sgfxi thingie works tomorrow........

_________________
MX-14.2 (upgraded from 14.1.1) ext4 Xfce4.10 * AMD Asus M4A785TD-V EVO AM3 * ASUS GeForce GT640-1GD5-L * AMD Processor Athlon II X4 635, sAM3 * HDA ATI SB (VT1708S Analog) * 2x4Gb DDR3 1600 Kingston * 22" Samsung SyncMaster P2250 * HP DeskJet F2280


Sat Sep 11, 2010 3:22 pm
Profile
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 11:15 am
Posts: 277
Location: British Columbia
Has thanked: 0 time
Have thanks: 1 time
Post # 245486
Post 
Eadwine Rose wrote:
Hi all

we've got the new system up and running like a charm:


Corsair PSU VX550W
Western Digital hdd 500GB Caviar Blue
AMD Asus M4A785TD-V EVO AM3
AMD Processor Athlon II X4 635, sAM3
Kingston Value 2x2048MB DDR3 1333


Except for the screen driver.


When I boot the livecd (same happens when installed) I get the "undefined video mode number: 315" thing. I can then select a resolution, but my res. isn't in there (1920x1080).

I have an ati hd board too. It also says the 315 thing at boot, all I do is let it do its thing by hitting the spacebar as soon as the undefined number 315 comes up. The other way is to wait til the undefined 315 comes up, then hit enter, then if you want the 1920x1080 res you have to input 315 and hit enter so it is easier to just hit the spacebar as soon as the 315 comes up.

if that doesnt work then try installing with one of the lower selections like vesa then use sgfxi to install the correct driver

_________________
Edit Grub
Triple Booting
Multi-multi booting and more grub info
Link to advanced DVD play
Making ndiswrapper work


Sat Sep 11, 2010 3:54 pm
Profile YIM
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 09, 2007 4:22 pm
Posts: 677
Location: Spokane, WA
Has thanked: 261 times
Have thanks: 96 times
Post # 245490
Post 
Eadwine Rose wrote:
When I boot the livecd (same happens when installed) I get the "undefined video mode number: 315" thing.


I had that same issue (with the same motherboard) and could never get past that error (even with the the ATI driver [fglrx] installed with sgfxi). You might try booting w/o the splashy, since the error you are getting (I believe, not positive) is splashy specific. Once my system was booted with the fglrx driver my resolution worked correctly. Note: I use 1280x1024 and still recieved that error, even though it was in the list given after the error.

As for a great compatible video card for the board is the GeForce 9500GT (approx. $50 w/rebate), the following link is the exact product I purchased:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814121339.
I have had this product for a couple of months and have been quite pleased. Note: I do game occasionally, so you might not need this much video card.

_________________
II: Kubuntu 14.04 & Windows 7 | 3.4GHz AMD Phenom II X4 | ASUS M4A785TD-V | 8GB DDR3 | nVidia GeForce GTX550
KAVAR: Kubuntu 14.04 | Dell Vostro 1000 | 1.8GHz AMD Athlon 64 X2 | 4GB DDR2 | ATI Radeon Xpress 1150


Sat Sep 11, 2010 4:32 pm
Profile WWW
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 7:55 am
Posts: 223
Has thanked: 169 times
Have thanks: 38 times
Post # 245492
Post 
Your onboard ATI HD 4200 should work perfectly fine - my computer build has the same onboard graphics. See my link where I got it to work with help from the community:

http://www.mepislovers.org/showthread.php?t=24989&page=4

Pay most attention to page 3/4 as my problem was related to using wireless to install using sgfxi. If you are using a wired connection, it should be easy. Also note on page 4, I had to edit xorg.conf to get compositing working.

_________________
Antec Three Hundred Case
GIGABYTE GA-MA785GMT-UD2H
Antec BP550 Plus
AMD Phenom II X2 550 Black Edition 3.1GHz Socket AM3 80W
G.SKILL 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600
LG DVD Burner GH24NS50
Nvidia GTS 250 10de:0615 & Dell IN2030M 1600x900


Sat Sep 11, 2010 4:36 pm
Profile
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 2:10 am
Posts: 3407
Location: The Netherlands
Has thanked: 296 times
Have thanks: 330 times
Post # 245493
Post 
mepnoob2005 wrote:
I have an ati hd board too. It also says the 315 thing at boot, all I do is let it do its thing by hitting the spacebar as soon as the undefined number 315 comes up. The other way is to wait til the undefined 315 comes up, then hit enter, then if you want the 1920x1080 res you have to input 315 and hit enter so it is easier to just hit the spacebar as soon as the 315 comes up.

Alrighty, that is easy enough to try. Let's hope and see.

So it basically means I boot the livecd, select 1920x1080 using F3 and then hit that spacebar, right? Thing is that 1920x1080 did not appear in the list of options that I got when I saw the list. But.. worth to try!


Quote:
if that doesnt work then try installing with one of the lower selections like vesa, then use sgfxi to install the correct driver

Will do. I have my work set out for tomorrow ;)


Quote:
You might try booting w/o the splashy, since the error you are getting (I believe, not positive) is splashy specific.

So you mean, in the livecd select no splash?



Thanks you two, I really appreciate it. I sure hope we can get this system up and running somehow!

_________________
MX-14.2 (upgraded from 14.1.1) ext4 Xfce4.10 * AMD Asus M4A785TD-V EVO AM3 * ASUS GeForce GT640-1GD5-L * AMD Processor Athlon II X4 635, sAM3 * HDA ATI SB (VT1708S Analog) * 2x4Gb DDR3 1600 Kingston * 22" Samsung SyncMaster P2250 * HP DeskJet F2280


Sat Sep 11, 2010 4:39 pm
Profile
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 2:10 am
Posts: 3407
Location: The Netherlands
Has thanked: 296 times
Have thanks: 330 times
Post # 245496
Post 
benny_fletch wrote:
As for a great compatible video card for the board is the GeForce 9500GT (approx. $50 w/rebate), the following link is the exact product I purchased:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814121339.
I have had this product for a couple of months and have been quite pleased. Note: I do game occasionally, so you might not need this much video card.

Is that the card that is running on the following mobo in your sig: ASUS M4A785TD-V?

_________________
MX-14.2 (upgraded from 14.1.1) ext4 Xfce4.10 * AMD Asus M4A785TD-V EVO AM3 * ASUS GeForce GT640-1GD5-L * AMD Processor Athlon II X4 635, sAM3 * HDA ATI SB (VT1708S Analog) * 2x4Gb DDR3 1600 Kingston * 22" Samsung SyncMaster P2250 * HP DeskJet F2280


Sat Sep 11, 2010 4:51 pm
Profile
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 09, 2007 4:22 pm
Posts: 677
Location: Spokane, WA
Has thanked: 261 times
Have thanks: 96 times
Post # 245499
Post 
Yes, try the "no splash" option and see if that eliminates the error. It's worth a shot.

Yes, I dropped the EVO from my sig and the video card is an expansion card. Just letting you know it is compatible with the motherboard and Mepis.

_________________
II: Kubuntu 14.04 & Windows 7 | 3.4GHz AMD Phenom II X4 | ASUS M4A785TD-V | 8GB DDR3 | nVidia GeForce GTX550
KAVAR: Kubuntu 14.04 | Dell Vostro 1000 | 1.8GHz AMD Athlon 64 X2 | 4GB DDR2 | ATI Radeon Xpress 1150


Sat Sep 11, 2010 5:02 pm
Profile WWW
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 2:10 am
Posts: 3407
Location: The Netherlands
Has thanked: 296 times
Have thanks: 330 times
Post # 245500
Post 
Thanks :smile: How did you install that card, specifically?

_________________
MX-14.2 (upgraded from 14.1.1) ext4 Xfce4.10 * AMD Asus M4A785TD-V EVO AM3 * ASUS GeForce GT640-1GD5-L * AMD Processor Athlon II X4 635, sAM3 * HDA ATI SB (VT1708S Analog) * 2x4Gb DDR3 1600 Kingston * 22" Samsung SyncMaster P2250 * HP DeskJet F2280


Sat Sep 11, 2010 5:05 pm
Profile
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 09, 2007 4:22 pm
Posts: 677
Location: Spokane, WA
Has thanked: 261 times
Have thanks: 96 times
Post # 245504
Post 
It installs into the top PCIe slot. The first long blue slot between the ASUS and M4A785TD-V EVO written on the motherboard. Can be seen here, but sideways

_________________
II: Kubuntu 14.04 & Windows 7 | 3.4GHz AMD Phenom II X4 | ASUS M4A785TD-V | 8GB DDR3 | nVidia GeForce GTX550
KAVAR: Kubuntu 14.04 | Dell Vostro 1000 | 1.8GHz AMD Athlon 64 X2 | 4GB DDR2 | ATI Radeon Xpress 1150


Sat Sep 11, 2010 5:24 pm
Profile WWW
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 2:10 am
Posts: 3407
Location: The Netherlands
Has thanked: 296 times
Have thanks: 330 times
Post # 245505
Post 
Ehh I meant software wise ;)

_________________
MX-14.2 (upgraded from 14.1.1) ext4 Xfce4.10 * AMD Asus M4A785TD-V EVO AM3 * ASUS GeForce GT640-1GD5-L * AMD Processor Athlon II X4 635, sAM3 * HDA ATI SB (VT1708S Analog) * 2x4Gb DDR3 1600 Kingston * 22" Samsung SyncMaster P2250 * HP DeskJet F2280


Sat Sep 11, 2010 5:24 pm
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 37 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

Protected by Anti-Spam ACP Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by STSoftware for PTF.