MX & MEPIS Community Forum

Linux operating systems based on Debian Stable
View unanswered posts | View unsolved topics | View active topics |



Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
power down a monitor from CLI (SSH) 
Author Message
Forum Novice
Forum  Novice

Joined: Sun Oct 17, 2010 11:40 am
Posts: 15
Has thanked: 0 time
Have thanks: 0 time
Post # 252760
Post power down a monitor from CLI (SSH)
Hi,

I have an old laptop as a fileserver with Mepis8.
Normally, the machine do not use Xorg ( init 3).

But I want also to shutdown the screen. If the KDE is used, then from Power management the screen can be power down after few minutes.

How can I obtain the same effect from command line ?

I noticed that now after few minutes the screen goes black. I repeat is black and not power down.
I'm accesing the machine by SSH. I tried with xset but is not working. The error is "cannot open display".

any ideas ?

Thanks


Mon Nov 29, 2010 4:38 pm
Profile
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
User avatar

Joined: Fri Sep 07, 2007 8:11 am
Posts: 463
Location: North Shore of Lake Erie
Has thanked: 4 times
Have thanks: 16 times
Post # 252770
Post 
Try logging into you server with "ssh -X". This will allow you to run X applications remotely assuming X is running. Once logged in you can call what ever application you like such as the system settings.

_________________
AntiX 8.2 w/XFCE
Compaq Presario V5000
AMD Turion64 1.8
Lovin it

Image

The Home of eriefisher

erie's blog


Mon Nov 29, 2010 7:31 pm
Profile
Forum Novice
Forum  Novice

Joined: Sun Oct 17, 2010 11:40 am
Posts: 15
Has thanked: 0 time
Have thanks: 0 time
Post # 252810
Post 
I found a solution. I do not know if is the best one but this is what I did.
since my X is not running , I used "vbetool dpms off".
It simply power down the monitor from BIOS settings.

To start again the monitor, I have to make "vbetool dpms on".
Of course all this have to be run as root.


Tue Nov 30, 2010 5:13 am
Profile
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 1:42 am
Posts: 4676
Has thanked: 510 times
Have thanks: 683 times
Post # 252834
Post 
swordfish wrote:
I found a solution. I do not know if is the best one but this is what I did.
since my X is not running , I used "vbetool dpms off".
It simply power down the monitor from BIOS settings.

To start again the monitor, I have to make "vbetool dpms on".
Of course all this have to be run as root.


Learned something new, thanks for sharing.

By the way, this is a fishy thread :grin:


Tue Nov 30, 2010 1:17 pm
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 4 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

Protected by Anti-Spam ACP Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by STSoftware for PTF.