power down a monitor from CLI (SSH)

You can ask for help with video cards, tv cards, dvb, monitors, webcams, digital cameras and software related to these devices, here. Tutorials about these devices can be posted here, too.
Message
Author
User avatar
swordfish
Forum Novice
Forum  Novice
Posts: 15
Joined: Sun Oct 17, 2010 11:40 am

power down a monitor from CLI (SSH)

#1 Postby swordfish » Mon Nov 29, 2010 4:38 pm

Hi,

I have an old laptop as a fileserver with Mepis8.
Normally, the machine do not use Xorg ( init 3).

But I want also to shutdown the screen. If the KDE is used, then from Power management the screen can be power down after few minutes.

How can I obtain the same effect from command line ?

I noticed that now after few minutes the screen goes black. I repeat is black and not power down.
I'm accesing the machine by SSH. I tried with xset but is not working. The error is "cannot open display".

any ideas ?

Thanks

User avatar
eriefisher
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 463
Joined: Fri Sep 07, 2007 8:11 am

#2 Postby eriefisher » Mon Nov 29, 2010 7:31 pm

Try logging into you server with "ssh -X". This will allow you to run X applications remotely assuming X is running. Once logged in you can call what ever application you like such as the system settings.
AntiX 8.2 w/XFCE
Compaq Presario V5000
AMD Turion64 1.8
Lovin it

Image

The Home of eriefisher

erie's blog

User avatar
swordfish
Forum Novice
Forum  Novice
Posts: 15
Joined: Sun Oct 17, 2010 11:40 am

#3 Postby swordfish » Tue Nov 30, 2010 5:13 am

I found a solution. I do not know if is the best one but this is what I did.
since my X is not running , I used "vbetool dpms off".
It simply power down the monitor from BIOS settings.

To start again the monitor, I have to make "vbetool dpms on".
Of course all this have to be run as root.

User avatar
Adrian
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 6134
Age: 41
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 1:42 am

#4 Postby Adrian » Tue Nov 30, 2010 1:17 pm

swordfish wrote:I found a solution. I do not know if is the best one but this is what I did.
since my X is not running , I used "vbetool dpms off".
It simply power down the monitor from BIOS settings.

To start again the monitor, I have to make "vbetool dpms on".
Of course all this have to be run as root.


Learned something new, thanks for sharing.

By the way, this is a fishy thread :grin:


Return to “Video-Related”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests