MEPIS Community Forum

A Linux operating system based on Debian Stable
View unanswered posts | View unsolved topics | View active topics |



Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Acer emachine e727 no connection wired or wifi 
Author Message
Forum Regular
Forum Regular

Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2007 4:19 am
Posts: 573
Has thanked: 25 times
Have thanks: 24 times
Post # 242856
Post Acer emachine e727 no connection wired or wifi
I have just purchased the above laptop and have not been able to get on the net with or without wire. The network controller is an atheros device 002b (rev 1).I have installed M 8.0. This one is connecting to my home network which is bigpond cable broadband

_________________
The simplest things are the hardest to solve
P8Z68-V PRO, Intel i7 2600k


Sat Aug 21, 2010 1:25 am
Profile
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
User avatar

Joined: Fri Dec 15, 2006 8:07 pm
Posts: 8704
Location: Skullcrusher Mountain, Santee, CA USA
Has thanked: 583 times
Have thanks: 1955 times
Post # 242912
Post 
If it's an Atheros ethernet device, it may need the newer 2.6.32 kernel from the 8.0 repository--I think that one has the atl1 (?) driver for those cards. The 2.6.27 kernel is missing it.

Can lsusb or lspci see any wifi device?


Sat Aug 21, 2010 1:24 pm
Profile
Forum Regular
Forum Regular

Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2007 4:19 am
Posts: 573
Has thanked: 25 times
Have thanks: 24 times
Post # 242942
Post 
I cannot access the repos as I cannot get online when I plug a cable in either.

Quote:
$ lspci -v
04:00.0 Network controller: Atheros Communications Inc. Device 002b (rev 01)
Subsystem: Foxconn International, Inc. Device e016
Flags: bus master, fast devsel, latency 0, IRQ 11
Memory at 94600000 (64-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=64K]
Capabilities: <access denied>

05:00.0 Ethernet controller: Attansic Technology Corp. Device 1062 (rev c0)
Subsystem: Acer Incorporated [ALI] Device 0459
Flags: bus master, fast devsel, latency 0, IRQ 11
Memory at 93500000 (64-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=256K]
I/O ports at 1000 [size=200]
Capabilities: <access denied>

_________________
The simplest things are the hardest to solve
P8Z68-V PRO, Intel i7 2600k


Sat Aug 21, 2010 5:15 pm
Profile
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 21, 2007 11:59 pm
Posts: 3259
Location: Deep South, New Zealand
Has thanked: 67 times
Have thanks: 135 times
Post # 242966
Post 
Reading your other thread (different machine) - do you have both of these units at a new location? And were they both working correctly at your original (home) location.

Again from your other thread - I wonder if the new location 's router is set-up correctly?

_________________
Desktop - Win 8-64 : Corsair 520HX, P5Q Pro, Q6600 G0 @ 3Ghz, 4Gb DDR2 1066, Asus GTX560 OC, 3xWD 500Gb Sata2, Asus CD/DVD, Logitech Wave Kb, G5, C300 Cam, Audio-gd NFB-12 + LD MKIV + GigaWorks T20.
Netbook - Ubuntu 12.04 64b, Asus 1015PED 2Gb Ram


Sat Aug 21, 2010 7:48 pm
Profile
Forum Regular
Forum Regular

Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2007 4:19 am
Posts: 573
Has thanked: 25 times
Have thanks: 24 times
Post # 242975
Post 
The E727 is at my home location and is brand new purchased yesterday. I removed M8 and tried installing M8.5 and got ethernet up until I tried to tweak mna then I lost that. I will re-install M8.5 with a brand new install it is quicker than fiddling with mna - which I have always had problems with. Setup the repos and install wicd and go from there. I will discuss the X56A in that thread to prevent confusion.

_________________
The simplest things are the hardest to solve
P8Z68-V PRO, Intel i7 2600k


Sat Aug 21, 2010 9:14 pm
Profile
Forum Regular
Forum Regular

Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2007 4:19 am
Posts: 573
Has thanked: 25 times
Have thanks: 24 times
Post # 242999
Post 
Great M8.5 (prefer M8 never mind) is running wicd is installed ethernet is running, WICD finds all the local networks, but when I try and log on I get the wrong password message. The password and security option are correct.

_________________
The simplest things are the hardest to solve
P8Z68-V PRO, Intel i7 2600k


Sun Aug 22, 2010 12:28 am
Profile
Forum Regular
Forum Regular

Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2007 4:19 am
Posts: 573
Has thanked: 25 times
Have thanks: 24 times
Post # 243023
Post 
Here is some results
Code:
[root@Study Study]# iwconfig
lo        no wireless extensions.

eth0      no wireless extensions.

wlan0     IEEE 802.11bgn  Mode:Managed  Frequency:2.462 GHz 
          Access Point: Not-Associated   Tx-Power=20 dBm     
          Retry  long limit:7   RTS thr:off   Fragment thr:off
          Encryption key:off                                 
          Power Management:off                     

[quote]before opening WICD I got this[/QUOTE]

[root@Study Study]# ifup wlan0
Ignoring unknown interface wlan0=wlan0.
[root@Study Study]# iwlist wlan0 scanning
wlan0     Interface doesn't support scanning : Network is down

[quote]After opening WICD I got this I have removed the neigbours networks[/QUOTE]

[root@Study Study]# iwlist wlan0 scanning
wlan0     Scan completed :               
          Cell 01 - Address: 00:1E:2A:07:EB:D8
                    Channel:11               
                    Frequency:2.462 GHz (Channel 11)
                    Quality=63/70  Signal level=-47 dBm 
                    Encryption key:on                   
                    ESSID:"DomiandMoksha"               
                    Bit Rates:1 Mb/s; 2 Mb/s; 5.5 Mb/s; 11 Mb/s; 6 Mb/s
                              12 Mb/s; 24 Mb/s; 36 Mb/s               
                    Bit Rates:9 Mb/s; 18 Mb/s; 48 Mb/s; 54 Mb/s       
                    Mode:Master                                       
                    Extra:tsf=00000002b04e4181                         
                    Extra: Last beacon: 236ms ago                     
                    IE: Unknown: 000D446F6D69616E644D6F6B736861       
                    IE: Unknown: 010882848B960C183048                 
                    IE: Unknown: 03010B                               
                    IE: Unknown: 2A0100                               
                    IE: Unknown: 32041224606C                         
                    IE: WPA Version 1                                 
                        Group Cipher : TKIP                           
                        Pairwise Ciphers (1) : TKIP                   
                        Authentication Suites (1) : PSK               
                    IE: Unknown: DD180050F2020101800003A4000027A4000042435E0062322F00                                                                           
I am trying to use root# iwconfig wlan0 key but I cannot get the passphrase to take because there is white space

_________________
The simplest things are the hardest to solve
P8Z68-V PRO, Intel i7 2600k


Sun Aug 22, 2010 3:45 am
Profile
Forum Regular
Forum Regular

Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2007 4:19 am
Posts: 573
Has thanked: 25 times
Have thanks: 24 times
Post # 243039
Post 
Solved but frustrated because the series of moves dont make sense and in the final analysis, I still am not sure of the which order and why process.
## Edit ## Once I had atl1c in /etc/modules it was a matter of bloody minded persistence to get the somewhat difficult marriage between mna and wicd to happen

_________________
The simplest things are the hardest to solve
P8Z68-V PRO, Intel i7 2600k


Sun Aug 22, 2010 5:41 am
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 8 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

Protected by Anti-Spam ACP Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by STSoftware for PTF.