MEPIS Community Forum

A Linux operating system based on Debian Stable
View unanswered posts | View unsolved topics | View active topics |



Reply to topic  [ 17 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
eth0 disappeared 
Author Message
Forum Novice
Forum  Novice

Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2008 4:57 pm
Posts: 21
Has thanked: 5 times
Have thanks: 1 time
Post # 296162
Post eth0 disappeared
Hi
Mepis 8.0, has been running 2 years.
I tried to install Camorama which included:
Camorama 0.19-2
gspca modules
libpt-1.11.2 plugin V4l
libmilib 1.4.0

Ethernet worked until a reboot and now eth0 is greyed out
I can boot from the Windows hard drive and ethernet works fine, so it can't be the card or the router.

Under System -> Mepis -> Network Assistant I choose interfaces and eth0 is grey
I choose troubleshooting and "scan hdw" shows the ehternet card

Under System -> Info Center -> Network Interfaces I see
lo 127.0.0.1, but eth0 is no longer listed
the update button does nothing

A lot of lthe network problems I have seen in the forum were solved by reinstalling the system. I would rather not do this if there is another way to get the ethernet back.

Thank you for your time,
Don


Tue Feb 21, 2012 11:25 am
Profile
Forum Guide
Forum Guide
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 4:30 pm
Posts: 1456
Location: Flinthills of Kansas, USA
Has thanked: 254 times
Have thanks: 139 times
Post # 296168
Post Re: eth0 disappeared
see here> http://www.mepis.org/docs/en/index.php? ... _utilities :needcoffee: Jerry

_________________
http://patentabsurdity.com/
AMD 64x2 2.6GHz 4GB ram M-11.9.92 kernel 3.10-3-amd64 kde 4.11.5 mixed/unstable
"beware a frequent flirt with potential disaster"


Tue Feb 21, 2012 1:14 pm
Profile
Forum Novice
Forum  Novice

Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2008 4:57 pm
Posts: 21
Has thanked: 5 times
Have thanks: 1 time
Post # 296178
Post Re: eth0 disappeared
Hi JBoman,
Thank you. I tried dmesg and saw nothing related to network errors.

"ifup eth0" returns the message "ignoring unknown interfaces"

"ifconfig -a" shows the 127.0.0.1 listing, but not eth0. If I am reading the man page correctly, this command should at least list all interfaces, whether they are up or not. Can an interface disappear?

Thank you for your time,

Don


Tue Feb 21, 2012 4:49 pm
Profile
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2006 6:13 am
Posts: 9916
Location: Geneva NY
Has thanked: 2819 times
Have thanks: 1830 times
Post # 296180
Post Re: eth0 disappeared
This is hard for me to understand, since I do not see how your installing that package could have anything to do with the disappearance of eth0.

What is the hardware situation? Can you post this command in a console and give us back the output?
Code:
lspci | grep -i net


I usually do a whole sequence when I have problems like this:
Code:
ifdown -a
ifup eth0
dhclient eth0 essid NameOfAccessPoint
If you have encryption, you would have to add it.

Another option is to install wicd or ceni (download the deb on another computer).

_________________
A Wiki only works when many eyes are on it.

32bit, 3.12-0.bpo.1-686-pae, MX-14, AMD Phenom 9650 Quad-Core, Dell SP2309W with integrated webcam, Nvidia GeForce 6150SE, 4 GB DDR2


Tue Feb 21, 2012 5:12 pm

Jerry3904 thanked by: djungk
Profile
Forum Novice
Forum  Novice

Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2008 4:57 pm
Posts: 21
Has thanked: 5 times
Have thanks: 1 time
Post # 296182
Post Re: eth0 disappeared
Hi Jerry,

Entering "lspci | grep -i net" returns "01:00.0 Ethernet Controller: Attansic Technology Corp. L2 100 Mbit Ethernet adaptor (rev a0)"

when I try ifdown and then ifup, after the second command I get:
"ignoring unknown interface eth0=eth0"

after "dhclient eth0 essid NameOfAccessPoint" I get:
NameOfAccessPoint: Interface name too long (is 17)

I too can see no connection between the installation and this problem. If the ethernet card didn't work with Windows and with the installation CD, I'd think it was a hdw problem unrelated to the new program.

There is no encryption that I know of.

Thank you for your time,

Don


Tue Feb 21, 2012 5:24 pm
Profile
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 5:54 am
Posts: 10807
Location: Tulsa, Oklahoma U.S.A.
Has thanked: 3595 times
Have thanks: 859 times
Post # 296187
Post Re: eth0 disappeared
I'm someone that loves a good kludge so in this kind of instance I'd shutdown the computer and remove the card. If it's built-in I'd disable it in the BIOS then power off. Then power on and let the system not find the card (or built-in chip). After the OS has loaded I'd power down and replace the card or re-enable the lan in the BIOS. Power up and see if it shows up.

_________________
Yes, even I am dishonest. Not in many ways, but in some. Forty-one, I think it is.
--Mark Twain


Tue Feb 21, 2012 5:49 pm

lucky9 thanked by: djungk
Profile
Forum Guide
Forum Guide
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 4:30 pm
Posts: 1456
Location: Flinthills of Kansas, USA
Has thanked: 254 times
Have thanks: 139 times
Post # 296188
Post Re: eth0 disappeared
djungk wrote:
Hi Jerry,

Entering "lspci | grep -i net" returns "01:00.0 Ethernet Controller: Attansic Technology Corp. L2 100 Mbit Ethernet adaptor (rev a0)"

when I try ifdown and then ifup, after the second command I get:
"ignoring unknown interface eth0=eth0"

after "dhclient eth0 essid NameOfAccessPoint" I get:
NameOfAccessPoint: Interface name too long (is 17)

I too can see no connection between the installation and this problem. If the ethernet card didn't work with Windows and with the installation CD, I'd think it was a hdw problem unrelated to the new program.

There is no encryption that I know of.

Thank you for your time,

Don


Don, in the konsole as root enter "dhclient eth0" and then "ifup eth0" all without the quotes :popcorn: Jerry

_________________
http://patentabsurdity.com/
AMD 64x2 2.6GHz 4GB ram M-11.9.92 kernel 3.10-3-amd64 kde 4.11.5 mixed/unstable
"beware a frequent flirt with potential disaster"


Tue Feb 21, 2012 5:54 pm
Profile
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2006 6:13 am
Posts: 9916
Location: Geneva NY
Has thanked: 2819 times
Have thanks: 1830 times
Post # 296190
Post Re: eth0 disappeared
With NameOfAccessPoint I meant you should put in the name of your AP--mine is "linksys" for instance.

_________________
A Wiki only works when many eyes are on it.

32bit, 3.12-0.bpo.1-686-pae, MX-14, AMD Phenom 9650 Quad-Core, Dell SP2309W with integrated webcam, Nvidia GeForce 6150SE, 4 GB DDR2


Tue Feb 21, 2012 5:59 pm

Jerry3904 thanked by: JBoman
Profile
Forum Novice
Forum  Novice

Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2008 4:57 pm
Posts: 21
Has thanked: 5 times
Have thanks: 1 time
Post # 296191
Post Re: eth0 disappeared
Hi Jerry,
Ah, of course.
trying it correctly "dhclient eth0" it returns "No such device"

And Lucky9, I can't try your idea this afternoon, but I will have time tomorrow. Thank you.

Don


Tue Feb 21, 2012 6:09 pm
Profile
Forum Guide
Forum Guide
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 4:30 pm
Posts: 1456
Location: Flinthills of Kansas, USA
Has thanked: 254 times
Have thanks: 139 times
Post # 296205
Post Re: eth0 disappeared
You might find this post from linux questions helpfull... note there are 3 pages so read them all. The noapic bootup cheatcode may be worth a try from what I read there especially considering the way it happened. see here> http://www.linuxquestions.org/questions ... ss-736118/ also check the last post there. :crossfingers: Jerry

_________________
http://patentabsurdity.com/
AMD 64x2 2.6GHz 4GB ram M-11.9.92 kernel 3.10-3-amd64 kde 4.11.5 mixed/unstable
"beware a frequent flirt with potential disaster"


Tue Feb 21, 2012 10:43 pm
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 17 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

Protected by Anti-Spam ACP Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by STSoftware for PTF.