eth0 disappeared

Questions about Networking that deals with wireless cards, ethernet, modems, samba and anything else related to these, including software help. Tutorials for any of these can be posted too.

Remember to provide relevant info in your posts, such as the following information:

Version of Mepis being used
Card Manufacturer (i.e. Linksys)
Card Model (i.e. WMP54G)
Type: (PCI or PCMCIA)
Current Kernel in use on their system (i.e. 2.6.10)
Udev or Hotplug
Exact steps taken to get the card working if it is not immediately recognized by MEPIS.
Message
Author
User avatar
djungk
Forum Novice
Forum  Novice
Posts: 21
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2008 4:57 pm

eth0 disappeared

#1 Postby djungk » Tue Feb 21, 2012 11:25 am

Hi
Mepis 8.0, has been running 2 years.
I tried to install Camorama which included:
Camorama 0.19-2
gspca modules
libpt-1.11.2 plugin V4l
libmilib 1.4.0

Ethernet worked until a reboot and now eth0 is greyed out
I can boot from the Windows hard drive and ethernet works fine, so it can't be the card or the router.

Under System -> Mepis -> Network Assistant I choose interfaces and eth0 is grey
I choose troubleshooting and "scan hdw" shows the ehternet card

Under System -> Info Center -> Network Interfaces I see
lo 127.0.0.1, but eth0 is no longer listed
the update button does nothing

A lot of lthe network problems I have seen in the forum were solved by reinstalling the system. I would rather not do this if there is another way to get the ethernet back.

Thank you for your time,
Don

User avatar
JBoman
Forum Guide
Forum Guide
Posts: 1483
Age: 58
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 4:30 pm

Re: eth0 disappeared

#2 Postby JBoman » Tue Feb 21, 2012 1:14 pm

http://patentabsurdity.com/
AMD 64x2 2.6GHz 4GB ram MX-15 regular updates
"beware a frequent flirt with potential disaster"

User avatar
djungk
Forum Novice
Forum  Novice
Posts: 21
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2008 4:57 pm

Re: eth0 disappeared

#3 Postby djungk » Tue Feb 21, 2012 4:49 pm

Hi JBoman,
Thank you. I tried dmesg and saw nothing related to network errors.

"ifup eth0" returns the message "ignoring unknown interfaces"

"ifconfig -a" shows the 127.0.0.1 listing, but not eth0. If I am reading the man page correctly, this command should at least list all interfaces, whether they are up or not. Can an interface disappear?

Thank you for your time,

Don

User avatar
Jerry3904
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 15565
Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2006 6:13 am

Re: eth0 disappeared

#4 Postby Jerry3904 » Tue Feb 21, 2012 5:12 pm

This is hard for me to understand, since I do not see how your installing that package could have anything to do with the disappearance of eth0.

What is the hardware situation? Can you post this command in a console and give us back the output?

Code: Select all

lspci | grep -i net


I usually do a whole sequence when I have problems like this:

Code: Select all

ifdown -a
ifup eth0
dhclient eth0 essid NameOfAccessPoint
If you have encryption, you would have to add it.

Another option is to install wicd or ceni (download the deb on another computer).
Production: 4.7.0-0.bpo.1-amd64, MX-15 RC1, AMD FX-4130 Quad-Core, GeForce GT 630/PCIe/SSE2, 8 GB, Kingston SSD 120 GB and WesternDigital 1TB
Testing: AAO 722: 3.16-0-4-686-pae. MX-15, AMD C-60 APU, 4 GB

User avatar
djungk
Forum Novice
Forum  Novice
Posts: 21
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2008 4:57 pm

Re: eth0 disappeared

#5 Postby djungk » Tue Feb 21, 2012 5:24 pm

Hi Jerry,

Entering "lspci | grep -i net" returns "01:00.0 Ethernet Controller: Attansic Technology Corp. L2 100 Mbit Ethernet adaptor (rev a0)"

when I try ifdown and then ifup, after the second command I get:
"ignoring unknown interface eth0=eth0"

after "dhclient eth0 essid NameOfAccessPoint" I get:
NameOfAccessPoint: Interface name too long (is 17)

I too can see no connection between the installation and this problem. If the ethernet card didn't work with Windows and with the installation CD, I'd think it was a hdw problem unrelated to the new program.

There is no encryption that I know of.

Thank you for your time,

Don

User avatar
lucky9
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 12373
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 5:54 am

Re: eth0 disappeared

#6 Postby lucky9 » Tue Feb 21, 2012 5:49 pm

I'm someone that loves a good kludge so in this kind of instance I'd shutdown the computer and remove the card. If it's built-in I'd disable it in the BIOS then power off. Then power on and let the system not find the card (or built-in chip). After the OS has loaded I'd power down and replace the card or re-enable the lan in the BIOS. Power up and see if it shows up.
Yes, even I am dishonest. Not in many ways, but in some. Forty-one, I think it is.
--Mark Twain

User avatar
JBoman
Forum Guide
Forum Guide
Posts: 1483
Age: 58
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 4:30 pm

Re: eth0 disappeared

#7 Postby JBoman » Tue Feb 21, 2012 5:54 pm

djungk wrote:Hi Jerry,

Entering "lspci | grep -i net" returns "01:00.0 Ethernet Controller: Attansic Technology Corp. L2 100 Mbit Ethernet adaptor (rev a0)"

when I try ifdown and then ifup, after the second command I get:
"ignoring unknown interface eth0=eth0"

after "dhclient eth0 essid NameOfAccessPoint" I get:
NameOfAccessPoint: Interface name too long (is 17)

I too can see no connection between the installation and this problem. If the ethernet card didn't work with Windows and with the installation CD, I'd think it was a hdw problem unrelated to the new program.

There is no encryption that I know of.

Thank you for your time,

Don


Don, in the konsole as root enter "dhclient eth0" and then "ifup eth0" all without the quotes :popcorn: Jerry
http://patentabsurdity.com/
AMD 64x2 2.6GHz 4GB ram MX-15 regular updates
"beware a frequent flirt with potential disaster"

User avatar
Jerry3904
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 15565
Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2006 6:13 am

Re: eth0 disappeared

#8 Postby Jerry3904 » Tue Feb 21, 2012 5:59 pm

With NameOfAccessPoint I meant you should put in the name of your AP--mine is "linksys" for instance.
Production: 4.7.0-0.bpo.1-amd64, MX-15 RC1, AMD FX-4130 Quad-Core, GeForce GT 630/PCIe/SSE2, 8 GB, Kingston SSD 120 GB and WesternDigital 1TB
Testing: AAO 722: 3.16-0-4-686-pae. MX-15, AMD C-60 APU, 4 GB

User avatar
djungk
Forum Novice
Forum  Novice
Posts: 21
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2008 4:57 pm

Re: eth0 disappeared

#9 Postby djungk » Tue Feb 21, 2012 6:09 pm

Hi Jerry,
Ah, of course.
trying it correctly "dhclient eth0" it returns "No such device"

And Lucky9, I can't try your idea this afternoon, but I will have time tomorrow. Thank you.

Don

User avatar
JBoman
Forum Guide
Forum Guide
Posts: 1483
Age: 58
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 4:30 pm

Re: eth0 disappeared

#10 Postby JBoman » Tue Feb 21, 2012 10:43 pm

You might find this post from linux questions helpfull... note there are 3 pages so read them all. The noapic bootup cheatcode may be worth a try from what I read there especially considering the way it happened. see here> http://www.linuxquestions.org/questions ... ss-736118/ also check the last post there. :crossfingers: Jerry
http://patentabsurdity.com/
AMD 64x2 2.6GHz 4GB ram MX-15 regular updates
"beware a frequent flirt with potential disaster"


Return to “Networking”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest