MEPIS Community Forum

A Linux operating system based on Debian Stable
View unanswered posts | View unsolved topics | View active topics |



Reply to topic  [ 25 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next
If upgrading a Beta or Release Candidate Post problems here 
Author Message
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 5:54 am
Posts: 10968
Location: Tulsa, Oklahoma U.S.A.
Has thanked: 3727 times
Have thanks: 892 times
Post # 268582
Post If upgrading a Beta or Release Candidate Post problems here
If not testing a clean install of an RC (or Beta) please post here. Do not clutter up the thread that is for those testing.

_________________
Yes, even I am dishonest. Not in many ways, but in some. Forty-one, I think it is.
--Mark Twain


Sat Apr 09, 2011 4:09 am
Profile
Forum Guide
Forum Guide
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 26, 2007 2:40 am
Posts: 2037
Location: Bakersfield, CA
Has thanked: 25 times
Have thanks: 78 times
Post # 268624
Post Re: If upgrading a Beta or Release Candidate Post problems h
lucky9 wrote:
If not testing a clean install of an RC (or Beta) please post here. Do not clutter up the thread that is for those testing.

If you count saving home, I wound up with two panels, mine and Warrens and Warrens was under mine and caused problems because I could not see it and did not know that it was there until I made my panel translucent.

_________________
Registered Linux User #380263
Registered Linux Computer #279395
Linux, working hard to save you $$$ - Get a clue, get Linux!
Intel Pentium D 2.80GHz
Intel Desktop Board D945GTP
Intel ICH7 Ethernet Controller
Intel ICH7 Audio
nVidia GeForce 6200 Video


Sat Apr 09, 2011 1:16 pm
Profile WWW
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 5:54 am
Posts: 10968
Location: Tulsa, Oklahoma U.S.A.
Has thanked: 3727 times
Have thanks: 892 times
Post # 268655
Post Re: If upgrading a Beta or Release Candidate Post problems h
I would count anything that is not a 'clean install without saving home' as needing to be in this thread.
Anything else belongs here.

I will note that saving home is a feature of Mepis and troubles should be noted. But they need to be here. Testing an OS is pretty one-dimensional. It's that way to lessen the complicity of extraneous causes being reported as problems when they aren't.

So please, please put such here. They are evidently need to be addressed and they are real problems. They just don't need to be included in a testing thread.

_________________
Yes, even I am dishonest. Not in many ways, but in some. Forty-one, I think it is.
--Mark Twain


Sat Apr 09, 2011 5:23 pm
Profile
Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 2:17 pm
Posts: 10705
Location: Rochester NY
Has thanked: 839 times
Have thanks: 1442 times
Post # 268762
Post Re: If upgrading a Beta or Release Candidate Post problems h
I have never seen this before. With a fresh install of M11 RC2, booted the first time. Upgraded what was available, mepis.init, .config, .system, and installed the PAE kernel. Upon next reboot could not get to the desktop, with an error at kdm login of, paraphrasing, cannot get to home from /.

I booted with root and saw the /home in the root directory did not contain my home. So I created another user and transferred the previous config files from the fresh install, they were still on the drive, to the new home. But had numerous errors. So just reinstalled.

It was not the Mepis upgrades because upgrading again did not reproduce the problem. I can only point to the PAE kernel install, although I cannot see how that could cause a problem and I installed it successfully on an earlier Mepis install.

Comments?

_________________
Forum Rules
Guide - How to Ask for Help
Link to Wiki
Rich

Acer Laptop V5-572G: Intel i5, 12 GIG mem, nVidia GT720M/Intel integrated graphics
Mx-14 Symbiosis
Kubuntu 13.10, KDE 4.11.2


Sun Apr 10, 2011 6:06 pm
Profile
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 5:54 am
Posts: 10968
Location: Tulsa, Oklahoma U.S.A.
Has thanked: 3727 times
Have thanks: 892 times
Post # 268769
Post Re: If upgrading a Beta or Release Candidate Post problems h
You reinstalled the video driver?

_________________
Yes, even I am dishonest. Not in many ways, but in some. Forty-one, I think it is.
--Mark Twain


Sun Apr 10, 2011 7:02 pm
Profile
Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 2:17 pm
Posts: 10705
Location: Rochester NY
Has thanked: 839 times
Have thanks: 1442 times
Post # 268770
Post Re: If upgrading a Beta or Release Candidate Post problems h
lucky9 wrote:
You reinstalled the video driver?

No. But I installed three PAE packages, the kernel image, kernel headers and nVidia kernel module. That was all that was necessary when I previously successfully installed the PAE kernel. The install took care of grub, initrd and the video driver module,

_________________
Forum Rules
Guide - How to Ask for Help
Link to Wiki
Rich

Acer Laptop V5-572G: Intel i5, 12 GIG mem, nVidia GT720M/Intel integrated graphics
Mx-14 Symbiosis
Kubuntu 13.10, KDE 4.11.2


Sun Apr 10, 2011 7:04 pm

richb thanked by: lucky9
Profile
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 2:26 pm
Posts: 7115
Has thanked: 390 times
Have thanks: 2317 times
Post # 268772
Post Re: If upgrading a Beta or Release Candidate Post problems h
richb wrote:
lucky9 wrote:
You reinstalled the video driver?

No.
Had you used dropbox on that install? I've seen where dropbox alters fstab. viewtopic.php?f=8&t=29750&p=267263 In my case /home was on the root partition and I was able to login (though I did get some erratic behaviour afterwards). Other people in that thread I think had a separate partition for /home and weren't able to login at all.


Sun Apr 10, 2011 7:19 pm

kmathern thanked by: lucky9, richb
Profile
Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 2:17 pm
Posts: 10705
Location: Rochester NY
Has thanked: 839 times
Have thanks: 1442 times
Post # 268785
Post Re: If upgrading a Beta or Release Candidate Post problems h
kmathern wrote:
richb wrote:
lucky9 wrote:
You reinstalled the video driver?

No.
Had you used dropbox on that install? I've seen where dropbox alters fstab. viewtopic.php?f=8&t=29750&p=267263 In my case /home was on the root partition and I was able to login (though I did get some erratic behaviour afterwards). Other people in that thread I think had a separate partition for /home and weren't able to login at all.

Yes I had installed dropbox, forgot about that, and I had a separate home partition. I did not look at fstab, however. So the solution with a dropbox install would be to uncomment that partition in fstab I would presume.

_________________
Forum Rules
Guide - How to Ask for Help
Link to Wiki
Rich

Acer Laptop V5-572G: Intel i5, 12 GIG mem, nVidia GT720M/Intel integrated graphics
Mx-14 Symbiosis
Kubuntu 13.10, KDE 4.11.2


Sun Apr 10, 2011 8:30 pm
Profile
Forum Guide
Forum Guide
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 16, 2009 3:59 pm
Posts: 2902
Has thanked: 420 times
Have thanks: 446 times
Post # 268794
Post Re: If upgrading a Beta or Release Candidate Post problems h
richb wrote:
error at kdm login of, paraphrasing, cannot get to home from /.


The last one of those I saw was due to errors in fstab.

_________________
Gigabyte 990FXA-UD3, AMD FX-6100 hex-core, 3.3GHz, Radeon HD6570
Gigabyte A55M-DS2, AMD A4-3400 dual-core APU (llano), 2.7 GHz, Radeon HD graphics
IBM ThinkPad T43, Intel Pentium M, 1.73GHz, Intel chipset


Sun Apr 10, 2011 9:09 pm
Profile
Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 2:17 pm
Posts: 10705
Location: Rochester NY
Has thanked: 839 times
Have thanks: 1442 times
Post # 268795
Post Re: If upgrading a Beta or Release Candidate Post problems h
DBeckett wrote:
richb wrote:
error at kdm login of, paraphrasing, cannot get to home from /.


The last one of those I saw was due to errors in fstab.

Yes, I just installed dropbox and it comments out the home partition, I have no idea why. Not a good idea to have a package render your system unusable. Uncommenting it corrects the problem.

_________________
Forum Rules
Guide - How to Ask for Help
Link to Wiki
Rich

Acer Laptop V5-572G: Intel i5, 12 GIG mem, nVidia GT720M/Intel integrated graphics
Mx-14 Symbiosis
Kubuntu 13.10, KDE 4.11.2


Sun Apr 10, 2011 9:12 pm
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 25 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

Protected by Anti-Spam ACP Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by STSoftware for PTF.