If upgrading a Beta or Release Candidate Post problems here

Message
Author
User avatar
lucky9
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 12222
Age: 70
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 5:54 am

If upgrading a Beta or Release Candidate Post problems here

#1 Postby lucky9 » Sat Apr 09, 2011 4:09 am

If not testing a clean install of an RC (or Beta) please post here. Do not clutter up the thread that is for those testing.
Yes, even I am dishonest. Not in many ways, but in some. Forty-one, I think it is.
--Mark Twain

User avatar
Jimmy Johnson
Forum Guide
Forum Guide
Posts: 2037
Age: 69
Joined: Thu Jul 26, 2007 2:40 am

Re: If upgrading a Beta or Release Candidate Post problems h

#2 Postby Jimmy Johnson » Sat Apr 09, 2011 1:16 pm

lucky9 wrote:If not testing a clean install of an RC (or Beta) please post here. Do not clutter up the thread that is for those testing.

If you count saving home, I wound up with two panels, mine and Warrens and Warrens was under mine and caused problems because I could not see it and did not know that it was there until I made my panel translucent.
Registered Linux User #380263
Registered Linux Computer #279395
Linux, working hard to save you $$$ - Get a clue, get Linux!
Intel Pentium D 2.80GHz
Intel Desktop Board D945GTP
Intel ICH7 Ethernet Controller
Intel ICH7 Audio
nVidia GeForce 6200 Video

User avatar
lucky9
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 12222
Age: 70
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 5:54 am

Re: If upgrading a Beta or Release Candidate Post problems h

#3 Postby lucky9 » Sat Apr 09, 2011 5:23 pm

I would count anything that is not a 'clean install without saving home' as needing to be in this thread.
Anything else belongs here.

I will note that saving home is a feature of Mepis and troubles should be noted. But they need to be here. Testing an OS is pretty one-dimensional. It's that way to lessen the complicity of extraneous causes being reported as problems when they aren't.

So please, please put such here. They are evidently need to be addressed and they are real problems. They just don't need to be included in a testing thread.
Yes, even I am dishonest. Not in many ways, but in some. Forty-one, I think it is.
--Mark Twain

User avatar
richb
Administrator
Posts: 12927
Age: 71
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 2:17 pm

Re: If upgrading a Beta or Release Candidate Post problems h

#4 Postby richb » Sun Apr 10, 2011 6:06 pm

I have never seen this before. With a fresh install of M11 RC2, booted the first time. Upgraded what was available, mepis.init, .config, .system, and installed the PAE kernel. Upon next reboot could not get to the desktop, with an error at kdm login of, paraphrasing, cannot get to home from /.

I booted with root and saw the /home in the root directory did not contain my home. So I created another user and transferred the previous config files from the fresh install, they were still on the drive, to the new home. But had numerous errors. So just reinstalled.

It was not the Mepis upgrades because upgrading again did not reproduce the problem. I can only point to the PAE kernel install, although I cannot see how that could cause a problem and I installed it successfully on an earlier Mepis install.

Comments?
Forum Rules
Guide - How to Ask for Help

Rich

Laptop: Acer V5-572G: Intel i5, 12 GIG mem, Intel graphics, SanDisk SSD, 256GB
Virtualbox: Win 7
Desktop: MX-15- 64, AMD A8 7600 FM2+ CPU R7 Graphics, fglrx driver, 16 GIG Mem. Samsung EVO SSD 250 GB

User avatar
lucky9
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 12222
Age: 70
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 5:54 am

Re: If upgrading a Beta or Release Candidate Post problems h

#5 Postby lucky9 » Sun Apr 10, 2011 7:02 pm

You reinstalled the video driver?
Yes, even I am dishonest. Not in many ways, but in some. Forty-one, I think it is.
--Mark Twain

User avatar
richb
Administrator
Posts: 12927
Age: 71
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 2:17 pm

Re: If upgrading a Beta or Release Candidate Post problems h

#6 Postby richb » Sun Apr 10, 2011 7:04 pm

lucky9 wrote:You reinstalled the video driver?

No. But I installed three PAE packages, the kernel image, kernel headers and nVidia kernel module. That was all that was necessary when I previously successfully installed the PAE kernel. The install took care of grub, initrd and the video driver module,
Forum Rules
Guide - How to Ask for Help

Rich

Laptop: Acer V5-572G: Intel i5, 12 GIG mem, Intel graphics, SanDisk SSD, 256GB
Virtualbox: Win 7
Desktop: MX-15- 64, AMD A8 7600 FM2+ CPU R7 Graphics, fglrx driver, 16 GIG Mem. Samsung EVO SSD 250 GB

User avatar
kmathern
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 8913
Age: 57
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 2:26 pm

Re: If upgrading a Beta or Release Candidate Post problems h

#7 Postby kmathern » Sun Apr 10, 2011 7:19 pm

richb wrote:
lucky9 wrote:You reinstalled the video driver?

No.
Had you used dropbox on that install? I've seen where dropbox alters fstab. viewtopic.php?f=8&t=29750&p=267263 In my case /home was on the root partition and I was able to login (though I did get some erratic behaviour afterwards). Other people in that thread I think had a separate partition for /home and weren't able to login at all.

User avatar
richb
Administrator
Posts: 12927
Age: 71
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 2:17 pm

Re: If upgrading a Beta or Release Candidate Post problems h

#8 Postby richb » Sun Apr 10, 2011 8:30 pm

kmathern wrote:
richb wrote:
lucky9 wrote:You reinstalled the video driver?

No.
Had you used dropbox on that install? I've seen where dropbox alters fstab. viewtopic.php?f=8&t=29750&p=267263 In my case /home was on the root partition and I was able to login (though I did get some erratic behaviour afterwards). Other people in that thread I think had a separate partition for /home and weren't able to login at all.

Yes I had installed dropbox, forgot about that, and I had a separate home partition. I did not look at fstab, however. So the solution with a dropbox install would be to uncomment that partition in fstab I would presume.
Forum Rules
Guide - How to Ask for Help

Rich

Laptop: Acer V5-572G: Intel i5, 12 GIG mem, Intel graphics, SanDisk SSD, 256GB
Virtualbox: Win 7
Desktop: MX-15- 64, AMD A8 7600 FM2+ CPU R7 Graphics, fglrx driver, 16 GIG Mem. Samsung EVO SSD 250 GB

User avatar
DBeckett
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 3064
Joined: Sat May 16, 2009 3:59 pm

Re: If upgrading a Beta or Release Candidate Post problems h

#9 Postby DBeckett » Sun Apr 10, 2011 9:09 pm

richb wrote:error at kdm login of, paraphrasing, cannot get to home from /.


The last one of those I saw was due to errors in fstab.
Gigabyte 990FXA-UD3, AMD FX-6100 hex-core, 3.3GHz, 8G, Radeon HD6570

User avatar
richb
Administrator
Posts: 12927
Age: 71
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 2:17 pm

Re: If upgrading a Beta or Release Candidate Post problems h

#10 Postby richb » Sun Apr 10, 2011 9:12 pm

DBeckett wrote:
richb wrote:error at kdm login of, paraphrasing, cannot get to home from /.


The last one of those I saw was due to errors in fstab.

Yes, I just installed dropbox and it comments out the home partition, I have no idea why. Not a good idea to have a package render your system unusable. Uncommenting it corrects the problem.
Forum Rules
Guide - How to Ask for Help

Rich

Laptop: Acer V5-572G: Intel i5, 12 GIG mem, Intel graphics, SanDisk SSD, 256GB
Virtualbox: Win 7
Desktop: MX-15- 64, AMD A8 7600 FM2+ CPU R7 Graphics, fglrx driver, 16 GIG Mem. Samsung EVO SSD 250 GB


Return to “Betas-RC's only”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 3 guests