MEPIS Community Forum

A Linux operating system based on Debian Stable
View unanswered posts | View unsolved topics | View active topics |



Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
KDE 4.6.2 now on qt-kde.debian.net 
Author Message
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 09, 2007 4:22 pm
Posts: 677
Location: Spokane, WA
Has thanked: 261 times
Have thanks: 96 times
Post # 270970
Post KDE 4.6.2 now on qt-kde.debian.net
Quote:
2011-04-26: KDE SC 4.6.2 (excluding kdebindings) has been uploaded. To upgrade from 4.6.1, simply do dist-upgrade (apt-get) or full-upgrade (aptitude).


Has anyone upgraded yet? Does the procedure kmathern outlined in the following thread still work?
viewtopic.php?p=267651

I simply want to go from 4.6.1 to 4.6.2. Thanks.

_________________
II: Kubuntu 14.04 & Windows 7 | 3.4GHz AMD Phenom II X4 | ASUS M4A785TD-V | 8GB DDR3 | nVidia GeForce GTX550
KAVAR: Kubuntu 14.04 | Dell Vostro 1000 | 1.8GHz AMD Athlon 64 X2 | 4GB DDR2 | ATI Radeon Xpress 1150


Tue Apr 26, 2011 6:23 pm Profile WWW
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 2:26 pm
Posts: 7086
Has thanked: 389 times
Have thanks: 2295 times
Post # 270974
Post Re: KDE 4.6.2 now on qt-kde.debian.net
benny_fletch wrote:
Quote:
2011-04-26: KDE SC 4.6.2 (excluding kdebindings) has been uploaded. To upgrade from 4.6.1, simply do dist-upgrade (apt-get) or full-upgrade (aptitude).


Has anyone upgraded yet? Does the procedure kmathern outlined in the following thread still work?
viewtopic.php?p=267651

I simply want to go from 4.6.1 to 4.6.2. Thanks.

Since you're already at 4.6.1 you shouldn't need to go back to the procedure you mention. A couple hours ago I dist-upgraded my install that was already at 4.6.1 to 4.6.2 with no problem. About the only thing special I did was logout of KDE and login in at the level 3 console (also killed X with a service kdm stop) and did the dist-upgrade from there. That may not have been necessary but it's what I usually do with that size& type of upgrade.


Tue Apr 26, 2011 6:35 pm Profile
Forum Novice
Forum  Novice

Joined: Sat Jul 15, 2006 4:56 am
Posts: 96
Has thanked: 8 times
Have thanks: 14 times
Post # 271020
Post Re: KDE 4.6.2 now on qt-kde.debian.net
I did the same from konsole.
Was an uneventful upgrade.
The only thing I saw that had an issue was kopete.
It wasn't upgradeable due to needing a newer version of libssl 1.0.0 that I was unable to find even in the sid repos.
I just locked it to the current version in synaptic.


Wed Apr 27, 2011 1:00 am

dsptech thanked by: benny_fletch, lucky9
Profile
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2008 2:00 am
Posts: 588
Location: w/coast 5555 ;) high5
Has thanked: 88 times
Have thanks: 122 times
Post # 271058
 Re: KDE 4.6.2 now on qt-kde.debian.net
.
thatss what i'm talking about :thumbup:!!! yeah :)

they must have uploaded it during the day??? wasn't there when i did my full-upgrade earlier yesterday morning with the 32bit sid. picked it up this morning, pretty uneventful, seems to be running fine.
yesterday evening for the M11 wheezy 64... went well :popcorn:.

i would try the >-> -t experimental-snapshots install <-< approach.

yea team ;-)

'stand up... sit down... clap, clap, clap...'

_________________
.
.

speedtest.net
:happy: >>> :spoon-fed: ;-)

Wed Apr 27, 2011 11:29 am

loco thanked by: benny_fletch
Profile WWW
Forum Regular
Forum Regular

Joined: Sat Jan 13, 2007 3:15 am
Posts: 544
Location: SE IN,USA
Has thanked: 51 times
Have thanks: 3 times
Post # 271095
Post Re: KDE 4.6.2 now on qt-kde.debian.net
Upgraded my M8.5-Sid install from 4.6.1, with Synaptic.
Upgrade went fine no dependency issues here.

Wayne

_________________
32bit Desktop
Celeron 2.3 Ghz
MB from old emachine
Intel 845 Graphics
512M RAM
Maxtor 160G
Western Digital 40G

I have windows,just not on my computer.
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Image


Wed Apr 27, 2011 4:25 pm

wcc1776 thanked by: benny_fletch
Profile
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 09, 2007 4:22 pm
Posts: 677
Location: Spokane, WA
Has thanked: 261 times
Have thanks: 96 times
Post # 271135
Post Re: KDE 4.6.2 now on qt-kde.debian.net
Both my systems upgraded without issue, although I forgot to stop kdm on my laptop. I too had the kopete dependency issue, but I do not use it, so I had it removed. Time will tell if the upgrade was worth it. Thanks for the tips.

Enjoy the new release :number1:

_________________
II: Kubuntu 14.04 & Windows 7 | 3.4GHz AMD Phenom II X4 | ASUS M4A785TD-V | 8GB DDR3 | nVidia GeForce GTX550
KAVAR: Kubuntu 14.04 | Dell Vostro 1000 | 1.8GHz AMD Athlon 64 X2 | 4GB DDR2 | ATI Radeon Xpress 1150


Wed Apr 27, 2011 11:01 pm
Profile WWW
Forum Guide
Forum Guide
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 26, 2007 2:40 am
Posts: 2037
Location: Bakersfield, CA
Has thanked: 25 times
Have thanks: 78 times
Post # 271141
Post Re: KDE 4.6.2 now on qt-kde.debian.net
Mepis 11.0, Debian Stable, 4.6.2, no problems, fixed a bug I had in the desktop.

_________________
Registered Linux User #380263
Registered Linux Computer #279395
Linux, working hard to save you $$$ - Get a clue, get Linux!
Intel Pentium D 2.80GHz
Intel Desktop Board D945GTP
Intel ICH7 Ethernet Controller
Intel ICH7 Audio
nVidia GeForce 6200 Video


Wed Apr 27, 2011 11:50 pm Profile WWW
Forum Guide
Forum Guide
User avatar

Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 11:47 pm
Posts: 1810
Location: Cranbrook, BC
Has thanked: 232 times
Have thanks: 97 times
Post # 271144
Post Re: KDE 4.6.2 now on qt-kde.debian.net
Installing right now, 311 upgrades. SM8.5 upgraded to 4.6.2 :number1:

_________________
There is no "Ctrl+Z" in life!
Asus P8Z68-V Pro, Intel i5 2500 Quad, Intel, DWA-552, 2-640 GB, Mepis 11 4.8.4/Win 8.1
HP DV4-1118 Mepis 12 4.8.4 & Win 8.1/Dell 1525 MX14/Win 8.1
HP CP1215/Brother DCP-7065DN
Linux User# 4523410


Thu Apr 28, 2011 12:54 am
Profile
Forum Guide
Forum Guide
User avatar

Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2007 5:49 pm
Posts: 2658
Location: Doncaster UK
Has thanked: 110 times
Have thanks: 733 times
Post # 271158
Post Re: KDE 4.6.2 now on qt-kde.debian.net
Use the experimental repo, for 64 bit Not gt-kde.debian.net, as that is where any upgrades will be posted. now at 4.6.2-1
32 bit will be in experimental over the next day or so.
add to preferences

Package: *
Pin: release debian,a=experimental
Pin-Priority: 100

_________________
*Never be afraid to try something new. Remember that a lone amateur built the Ark. A large group of professionals built the Titanic(Windoze)*

Kubuntu KDE 4.11.00 / KDE 4.11.60 / Debian Wheezy KDE 4.10.4 / Plasma Active 3 Tablet


Thu Apr 28, 2011 5:46 am

Danum thanked by: Utopia
Profile
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2008 2:00 am
Posts: 588
Location: w/coast 5555 ;) high5
Has thanked: 88 times
Have thanks: 122 times
Post # 271187
 Re: KDE 4.6.2 now on qt-kde.debian.net
.
32bit sid :)

moved into experimental this morning, 'ah, the flow,' nice and smoothie here from the terminal while reading, it even asked for a reboot.

thanks :thumbup:

<warning, venting> downloaded the NVIDIA-Linux-x86-270.41.06.run from their site, ran the installer and still can't find the nvidia-settings utility, grr!! seems to work? </ahh that's better>

_________________
.
.

speedtest.net
:happy: >>> :spoon-fed: ;-)

Thu Apr 28, 2011 11:40 am
Profile WWW
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 10 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

Protected by Anti-Spam ACP Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by STSoftware for PTF.