KDE 4.6.2 now on qt-kde.debian.net

Message
Author
User avatar
benny_fletch
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 677
Joined: Sat Jun 09, 2007 4:22 pm

KDE 4.6.2 now on qt-kde.debian.net

#1 Postby benny_fletch » Tue Apr 26, 2011 6:23 pm

2011-04-26: KDE SC 4.6.2 (excluding kdebindings) has been uploaded. To upgrade from 4.6.1, simply do dist-upgrade (apt-get) or full-upgrade (aptitude).


Has anyone upgraded yet? Does the procedure kmathern outlined in the following thread still work?
viewtopic.php?p=267651

I simply want to go from 4.6.1 to 4.6.2. Thanks.
II: Kubuntu 14.04 & Windows 7 | 3.4GHz AMD Phenom II X4 | ASUS M4A785TD-V | 8GB DDR3 | nVidia GeForce GTX550
KAVAR: Kubuntu 14.04 | Dell Vostro 1000 | 1.8GHz AMD Athlon 64 X2 | 4GB DDR2 | ATI Radeon Xpress 1150

User avatar
kmathern
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 8897
Age: 57
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 2:26 pm

Re: KDE 4.6.2 now on qt-kde.debian.net

#2 Postby kmathern » Tue Apr 26, 2011 6:35 pm

benny_fletch wrote:
2011-04-26: KDE SC 4.6.2 (excluding kdebindings) has been uploaded. To upgrade from 4.6.1, simply do dist-upgrade (apt-get) or full-upgrade (aptitude).


Has anyone upgraded yet? Does the procedure kmathern outlined in the following thread still work?
viewtopic.php?p=267651

I simply want to go from 4.6.1 to 4.6.2. Thanks.

Since you're already at 4.6.1 you shouldn't need to go back to the procedure you mention. A couple hours ago I dist-upgraded my install that was already at 4.6.1 to 4.6.2 with no problem. About the only thing special I did was logout of KDE and login in at the level 3 console (also killed X with a service kdm stop) and did the dist-upgrade from there. That may not have been necessary but it's what I usually do with that size& type of upgrade.

User avatar
dsptech
Forum Novice
Forum  Novice
Posts: 96
Age: 46
Joined: Sat Jul 15, 2006 4:56 am

Re: KDE 4.6.2 now on qt-kde.debian.net

#3 Postby dsptech » Wed Apr 27, 2011 1:00 am

I did the same from konsole.
Was an uneventful upgrade.
The only thing I saw that had an issue was kopete.
It wasn't upgradeable due to needing a newer version of libssl 1.0.0 that I was unable to find even in the sid repos.
I just locked it to the current version in synaptic.

User avatar
loco
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 588
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2008 2:00 am

Re: KDE 4.6.2 now on qt-kde.debian.net

#4 Postby loco » Wed Apr 27, 2011 11:29 am

.
thatss what i'm talking about :thumbup:!!! yeah :)

they must have uploaded it during the day??? wasn't there when i did my full-upgrade earlier yesterday morning with the 32bit sid. picked it up this morning, pretty uneventful, seems to be running fine.
yesterday evening for the M11 wheezy 64... went well :popcorn:.

i would try the >-> -t experimental-snapshots install <-< approach.

yea team ;-)

'stand up... sit down... clap, clap, clap...'

User avatar
wcc1776
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 544
Age: 63
Joined: Sat Jan 13, 2007 3:15 am

Re: KDE 4.6.2 now on qt-kde.debian.net

#5 Postby wcc1776 » Wed Apr 27, 2011 4:25 pm

Upgraded my M8.5-Sid install from 4.6.1, with Synaptic.
Upgrade went fine no dependency issues here.

Wayne
32bit Desktop
Celeron 2.3 Ghz
MB from old emachine
Intel 845 Graphics
512M RAM
Maxtor 160G
Western Digital 40G

I have windows,just not on my computer.
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Image

User avatar
benny_fletch
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 677
Joined: Sat Jun 09, 2007 4:22 pm

Re: KDE 4.6.2 now on qt-kde.debian.net

#6 Postby benny_fletch » Wed Apr 27, 2011 11:01 pm

Both my systems upgraded without issue, although I forgot to stop kdm on my laptop. I too had the kopete dependency issue, but I do not use it, so I had it removed. Time will tell if the upgrade was worth it. Thanks for the tips.

Enjoy the new release :number1:
II: Kubuntu 14.04 & Windows 7 | 3.4GHz AMD Phenom II X4 | ASUS M4A785TD-V | 8GB DDR3 | nVidia GeForce GTX550
KAVAR: Kubuntu 14.04 | Dell Vostro 1000 | 1.8GHz AMD Athlon 64 X2 | 4GB DDR2 | ATI Radeon Xpress 1150

User avatar
Jimmy Johnson
Forum Guide
Forum Guide
Posts: 2037
Age: 69
Joined: Thu Jul 26, 2007 2:40 am

Re: KDE 4.6.2 now on qt-kde.debian.net

#7 Postby Jimmy Johnson » Wed Apr 27, 2011 11:50 pm

Mepis 11.0, Debian Stable, 4.6.2, no problems, fixed a bug I had in the desktop.
Registered Linux User #380263
Registered Linux Computer #279395
Linux, working hard to save you $$$ - Get a clue, get Linux!
Intel Pentium D 2.80GHz
Intel Desktop Board D945GTP
Intel ICH7 Ethernet Controller
Intel ICH7 Audio
nVidia GeForce 6200 Video

User avatar
smilliken
Forum Guide
Forum Guide
Posts: 1969
Age: 57
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 11:47 pm

Re: KDE 4.6.2 now on qt-kde.debian.net

#8 Postby smilliken » Thu Apr 28, 2011 12:54 am

Installing right now, 311 upgrades. SM8.5 upgraded to 4.6.2 :number1:
There is no "Ctrl+Z" in life!
Dell 1525, MX15 XFCE4 & Win 10
HP DV4-1118 Mepis 12 4.14 & Win 10
HP CP1215/Brother DCP-7065DN
Linux User# 4523410

User avatar
Danum
Forum Guide
Forum Guide
Posts: 2687
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2007 5:49 pm

Re: KDE 4.6.2 now on qt-kde.debian.net

#9 Postby Danum » Thu Apr 28, 2011 5:46 am

Use the experimental repo, for 64 bit Not gt-kde.debian.net, as that is where any upgrades will be posted. now at 4.6.2-1
32 bit will be in experimental over the next day or so.
add to preferences

Package: *
Pin: release debian,a=experimental
Pin-Priority: 100
Desktop.
Zalman Z11 Plus ATX PC Tower, AMD FX 8350 Black Edition Vishera, 8 Core 4.4 GHz, Kingston HyperX FURY Red 16GB, Nvidia GT740 Graphics, Pioneer BDR-209EBK Writer, 2 x Seagate 1TB SSHD SATA Hybrid Hard Drives. ASUS VS278Q 27 inch HD Monitor

User avatar
loco
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 588
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2008 2:00 am

Re: KDE 4.6.2 now on qt-kde.debian.net

#10 Postby loco » Thu Apr 28, 2011 11:40 am

.
32bit sid :)

moved into experimental this morning, 'ah, the flow,' nice and smoothie here from the terminal while reading, it even asked for a reboot.

thanks :thumbup:

<warning, venting> downloaded the NVIDIA-Linux-x86-270.41.06.run from their site, ran the installer and still can't find the nvidia-settings utility, grr!! seems to work? </ahh that's better>


Return to “Betas-RC's only”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest