View unanswered posts | View unsolved topics | View active topics |

Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
DHCP server? 
Forum Novice
Forum  Novice

Have thanks: 0 time
Post # 229511
Post DHCP server?
Im new to MEPIS, trying to set up a server..

I haven't seen anything regarding setting up MEPIS as a DHCP server.. ive tried to do apt-get install dhcp3-server but it says it cant find the package, I do see that dhcp3 is installed but only with the client files... so is there another way to get DHCP on the server?

my next question

I have two NIC's in my server. One connected to my router the other for my LAN of client computers I've set my NIC's to have static IP's but when I do an ifconfig it shows that my WAN not having the static IP I gave it, instead one from the router, ive set up the static ip via network assistant, also in the /etc/network/interfaces file... either way doesn't seem to change the IP to what I want it to be..am I missing something somewhere?

Thanks in advance for any assistance :)

Mon May 03, 2010 12:52 pm
Forum Regular
Forum Regular

Have thanks: 34 times
Post # 229539
Im new to MEPIS, trying to set up a server..

I haven't seen anything regarding setting up MEPIS as a DHCP server.. ive tried to do apt-get install dhcp3-server but it says it cant find the package, I do see that dhcp3 is installed but only with the client files... so is there another way to get DHCP on the server?

May I ask WHY you want to do that, given that you have a router that can do it? Just curious.

Quote:

my next question

I have two NIC's in my server. One connected to my router the other for my LAN of client computers I've set my NIC's to have static IP's but when I do an ifconfig it shows that my WAN not having the static IP I gave it, instead one from the router, ive set up the static ip via network assistant, also in the /etc/network/interfaces file... either way doesn't seem to change the IP to what I want it to be..am I missing something somewhere?