View unanswered posts | View unsolved topics | View active topics |

Reply to topic  [ 42 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next
Mepis feedback 
Forum Regular
Forum Regular

Have thanks: 86 times
Post # 290047
Post Mepis feedback
Mepis 11 was the first ever Linux I installed and used on my computer. This gives me perhaps a somewhat unique perspective months later after having tried most of the major Linux distributions.

The Good: I beat the daylights out of Mepis learning to use Linux and it proved time and again to be Rock Solid. Coming with KDE it gives an ex-Windows user a comfortable desktop environment. Having later tried Kubuntu and finding Kubuntu ran as slow as a turtle on my machine, I appreciate that Mepis comes with KDE and is still quite fast and responsive. The community is very helpful to newbies and that is very important.

The Not-So-Good: I happen to like music and Mepis is not set up for Music out of the box. As a newbie I downloaded nearly everything in the repository that had the word "gstreamer" in it before finally getting all the codecs I needed. This is a huge problem for newbies and can alone turn away potential Mepis users. If Mint can come with all the codecs in its Main and Debian versions, I think Mepis should as well, even if it breaks solemn Debian commandments. Alternately there should be something in huge letters on the desktop explaining how to easily install the needed codecs, perhaps giving information on how to install Banshee or some other music player with codecs attached. At the very least newbies should be offered and made aware of a restricted extras codec package in the repository much as Ubuntu does, perhaps offered during the install process. The font rendering has to be improved. It seems to me there is no reason Lubuntu with LXDE desktop should have better font rendering than Mepis, especially as Mepis prides itself on being a beautiful desktop. Maybe some of the problem is KDE, which I notice has bad font rendering a