MEPIS Community Forum

A Linux operating system based on Debian Stable
View unanswered posts | View unsolved topics | View active topics |



Reply to topic  [ 30 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next
cube rotate with mousewheel? how to set up? (solved) 
Author Message
MEPIS Rules!
MEPIS Rules!
User avatar

Joined: Mon Feb 23, 2009 9:13 pm
Posts: 341
Location: Universe > Sol-3 > Europe > Germany
Has thanked: 7 times
Have thanks: 3 times
Post # 166540
Post cube rotate with mousewheel? how to set up? (solved)
Hi,
using an older version of Mepis, I could rotate the cube (compiz) with the mouse wheel (middle button) when I used it while the mouse pointer is not over a window, but on the desktop.

In Mepis 8 (using repo of shame compiz) this is turned off by default. I am sure I can turn it on, but I can't find it in all these compiz settings.

Does anyone know how to do this?


Wed Feb 25, 2009 4:42 pm
Profile
MEPIS Rules!
MEPIS Rules!

Joined: Fri Nov 02, 2007 4:39 pm
Posts: 252
Has thanked: 4 times
Have thanks: 0 time
Post # 166541
Post 
Actually I think you find it under the extra desktop settings in KDE....mouse wheellchanges desktop


Wed Feb 25, 2009 4:44 pm
Profile
MEPIS Rules!
MEPIS Rules!

Joined: Fri Nov 02, 2007 4:39 pm
Posts: 252
Has thanked: 4 times
Have thanks: 0 time
Post # 166545
Post 
control center----
desktop-----
multiple desktops----
check the box at the bottom on the left


Wed Feb 25, 2009 4:46 pm
Profile
MEPIS Rules!
MEPIS Rules!
User avatar

Joined: Mon Feb 23, 2009 9:13 pm
Posts: 341
Location: Universe > Sol-3 > Europe > Germany
Has thanked: 7 times
Have thanks: 3 times
Post # 166548
Post 
GDixon wrote:
Actually I think you find it under the extra desktop settings in KDE....mouse wheellchanges desktop


No, sorry, it isn't, just tried it. This works for kde (changes instantly between desktops, not rotationg to another cube face on same desktop). I know it's in the compiz settings somewhere, because a few months ago I set it up for a friend - I just can't find it anymore.


Wed Feb 25, 2009 4:51 pm
Profile
MEPIS is cool!
MEPIS is cool!
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2008 2:00 am
Posts: 583
Location: w/coast 5555 ;) high5
Has thanked: 81 times
Have thanks: 121 times
Post # 166553
 :island: :beach:
hey guys,

there is also in ccsm -> desktop - viewport swither and rotate cube that might be worth a look...

-->easy<--

_________________
.
.

speedtest.net
:happy: >>> :spoon-fed: ;-)

Wed Feb 25, 2009 5:00 pm
Profile WWW
MEPIS Rules!
MEPIS Rules!
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 31, 2007 4:07 am
Posts: 208
Location: The Jurassic Coast, Dorchester, Dorset.UK
Has thanked: 10 times
Have thanks: 15 times
Post # 166558
Post 
compiz settings, rotate cube, bindings/rotate cube, (the 1st line for mouse) select and choose button 2. DONE

_________________
Asus AM3(M4A79XTD)M/brd,Phenom IIx4 965 3.40 ghz Processor,Crucial 4 GB DDR3 1333mhz ram,Nvidia 9800GT (GV-N98TSL-1Gl),Dell Digital LCD 1600x1200, 3nr.Samsung SATA 200gb HD,1 Hitachi 750gb HD, Mepis 8.12 (32bit),Canteras KDE 4.3.4, Mepis 8.5 final 64bit,


Wed Feb 25, 2009 5:08 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2008 10:31 am
Posts: 62
Location: Louisiana en Venezuela
Has thanked: 12 times
Have thanks: 11 times
Post # 166566
Post 
Still doesn't help my desktop.
Also added the lines into /etc/X11/xorg.conf
for my nVidia G72 [GeForce 7300 SE] X.Org 1.4.2
Res 1440x900@52.0hz, GLX Renderer GeForce 7300 SE/7200
GS/PCI/SSE2 GLX Version 2.1.2 NVIDIA 180.29

I'm glad I like plain old Kde3.5. :) Looks like I'll get to keep using it for a while. But the cube is nice just for the Wow factor.

One of these days I will discover how to make it work. Guess I could try to go back to the built-in Intel card but it's a pain to take it out. Desktop machines have too many cables & too short cables so it's not really worth the effort to pull the box out of it's hidden corner.

Wait for a slow day to take it apart.


Wed Feb 25, 2009 5:34 pm
Profile
MEPIS Rules!
MEPIS Rules!
User avatar

Joined: Mon Feb 23, 2009 9:13 pm
Posts: 341
Location: Universe > Sol-3 > Europe > Germany
Has thanked: 7 times
Have thanks: 3 times
Post # 166579
Post 
NoSavvy wrote:
compiz settings, rotate cube, bindings/rotate cube, (the 1st line for mouse) select and choose button 2. DONE


Sorry, that's not what I was looking for. This gives me the ability to initiate cube mouse movement when I press down the wheel (and taking away the copy text option I always use).

I want the cube to rotate to the prievious face when I move the scrollwheel up and to the next face when I move it down (or vice versa, doesn't matter), but only when the mouse pointer is not over a window, but on the desktop. I'm pretty sure there was some setting like rotate cube on desktop mousewheel or something.

I could set next face to wheel up and a prievious face to wheel down, but that would not help, because I could no longer use the wheel to scroll websites then.

I know the right setting is somewhere... or was it removed from this newer compiz version?


Wed Feb 25, 2009 6:03 pm
Profile
MEPIS Rules!
MEPIS Rules!
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 31, 2007 4:07 am
Posts: 208
Location: The Jurassic Coast, Dorchester, Dorset.UK
Has thanked: 10 times
Have thanks: 15 times
Post # 166582
Post 
Well if I place the mouse on the desktop and rotate the wheel, the desktops change to the cube faces. If the cursor is on a web page in a browser, pressing the wheel and moving the mouse forward,back or sideways rotates the cube. Can't see what more you're after.
NS

_________________
Asus AM3(M4A79XTD)M/brd,Phenom IIx4 965 3.40 ghz Processor,Crucial 4 GB DDR3 1333mhz ram,Nvidia 9800GT (GV-N98TSL-1Gl),Dell Digital LCD 1600x1200, 3nr.Samsung SATA 200gb HD,1 Hitachi 750gb HD, Mepis 8.12 (32bit),Canteras KDE 4.3.4, Mepis 8.5 final 64bit,


Wed Feb 25, 2009 6:18 pm
Profile
MEPIS Rules!
MEPIS Rules!
User avatar

Joined: Mon Feb 23, 2009 9:13 pm
Posts: 341
Location: Universe > Sol-3 > Europe > Germany
Has thanked: 7 times
Have thanks: 3 times
Post # 166585
Post 
NoSavvy, did I get it right you wanted me to change initiate (cube rotation) from Ctrl+Alt+Button1 to just button2?

Because this is what I tried and it does not make the cube spinning when turning the scrollwheel, it only activates mouse rotate when PRESSING down the wheel.

or did I get something wrong?


Wed Feb 25, 2009 6:30 pm
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 30 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

Protected by Anti-Spam ACP Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by STSoftware for PTF.