Compiz - window title bar disappears

Topics/Questions/Guides about Windows Managers and Desktop Environments (other than KDE) should go here.
Message
Author
User avatar
frisil
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 341
Age: 43
Joined: Mon Feb 23, 2009 9:13 pm

#11 Postby frisil » Thu Apr 23, 2009 8:35 am

Buildereen wrote:I'm sure just about everyone here loses the title bars on Windows at some time when using Compiz.


No, that's not true, I use Emerald and it never happens, but fusion-icon seems unstable, so I never use it. As I wrote in another post, allow me to repeat myself:

Install compiz from the Shame repo and add the following script to .kde/Autostart instead of using fusion-icon:

Code: Select all

#!/bin/sh
sleep 6s
LOOPING=true
while [ $LOOPING = true ] ; do
  compiz-manager
done


This way, I never experienced any trouble and if compiz ever crashes, it is automatically restarted.

PS: if it takes more than 6 seconds for your kde to start up until all kicker-apps are in place, use a higher delay (eg. 10s or 15s). The delay makes sure nothing will be messed up which could happen if compiz is started before all kde-programs are loaded.

User avatar
The Garage
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 335
Joined: Tue Jan 15, 2008 7:32 am

#12 Postby The Garage » Thu Apr 23, 2009 10:50 am

Have you read this thread? It shows how I solved this problem on my machine, although it was a while ago. Maybe it still applies.

http://mepislovers.org/forums/showthread.php?t=15539
Image

User avatar
Buildereen
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 196
Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2009 5:30 pm

#13 Postby Buildereen » Thu Apr 23, 2009 7:39 pm

Hmm..Yep ok Frisil . I've tried adding Shames repo in Synaptic manager and can't get the settings to stick. Everytime I enter them they just don't show in the selection. Don't know what I'm doing wrong there,,I'm Root etc. Anyway I'm using the standard Compiz that came with 8.0 till I figure out the problem with Synaptic. Tried entering it manually in the correct file by editing it but then Synaptic comes up with an error when I reload it to attempt the operation.. I'm not that concerned apart from the fact that I have no mention of any Emerald in the standard ccsm.This command .."nvidia-xconfig -add-argb-glx-visuals -d 24 -composite -allow-glx-with-composite" also has no effect..Command not found..I'm using the legacy Nvidia driver on an MX460 card so maybe Xconfig isn't added to that particular package.

RichB,,,Nope. Just tried adding what you stated below into Synaptic..No go. No entry.Don't know what I'm doing wrong there..I'm Root, copied it to the correct place, clicked OK, then reload and still nothing shows in the list. Maybe I'm just a bit dense and aren't clicking the correct buttons. I'll try adding it direct to the sources.list file some time later as I'm happy enough with Compiz apart from the odd glitch.Dunno if I can be bothered with the hassle of removing the current version and then reconfiguring Ccsm to the way I like it just for a minor problem.

User avatar
richb
Administrator
Posts: 13054
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 2:17 pm

#14 Postby richb » Thu Apr 23, 2009 7:43 pm

THis is the correct entry in /etc/apt/sources.list for Shames. I suggest cutting and pasting to avoid errors.

[html]deb http://download.tuxfamily.org/shames/de ... /unstable/ ./[/html]
Forum Rules
Guide - How to Ask for Help

Rich

Laptop: Acer V5-572G: Intel i5, 12 GIG mem, Intel graphics, SanDisk SSD, 256GB
Virtualbox: Win 7
Desktop: MX-15- 64, AMD A8 7600 FM2+ CPU R7 Graphics, fglrx driver, 16 GIG Mem. Samsung EVO SSD 250 GB

User avatar
Brooko
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 3259
Age: 49
Joined: Sat Apr 21, 2007 11:59 pm

#15 Postby Brooko » Thu Apr 23, 2009 8:25 pm

MHL - check in xorg.conf and see if your screen is set to 16b colour or 24b.

Am pretty sure you need 24b to have the borders displaying correctly.
Desktop - Win 8-64 : Corsair 520HX, P5Q Pro, Q6600 G0 @ 3Ghz, 4Gb DDR2 1066, Asus GTX560 OC, 3xWD 500Gb Sata2, Asus CD/DVD, Logitech Wave Kb, G5, C300 Cam, Audio-gd NFB-12 + LD MKIV + GigaWorks T20.
Netbook - Ubuntu 12.04 64b, Asus 1015PED 2Gb Ram

User avatar
Buildereen
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 196
Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2009 5:30 pm

#16 Postby Buildereen » Thu Apr 23, 2009 8:35 pm

The relevant bits of Xorg.conf for your perusal. I'm running the Desktop at 1024x768

Section "Monitor"
Identifier "Monitor0"
VendorName "unknown"
ModelName "unknown"
Option "DPMS" "true"
HorizSync 30-82
VertRefresh 55-70

EndSection

Section "Monitor"
Identifier "Monitor1"
VendorName "unknown"
ModelName "unknown"
Option "DPMS" "true"
HorizSync 30-82
VertRefresh 55-70
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
Identifier "ATIMonitor"
VendorName "unknown"
ModelName "unknown"
Option "DPMS" "true"
HorizSync 30-82
VertRefresh 55-70
EndSection

Section "Device"
Identifier "Card0"
Driver "nvidia"
BoardName "unknown"

Screen 0
#Option "UseDisplayDevice" "dfp"
#Option "MonitorLayout" "crt,crt"
#BusID "PCI:1:0:0"
#Option "sw_cursor" # needed for some ati cards
#Option "hw_cursor"
#Option "NoAccel"
#Option "ShowCache"
#Option "ShadowFB"
#Option "UseFBDev"
#Option "Rotate"
Option "UseInternalAGPGART" "no"

Option "XAANoOffscreenPixmaps" "true"

# savage special options, use with care
#Option "NoUseBios"
#Option "BusType" "PCI"
Option "DmaMode" "None"

# nvidia special options, use with care
Option "CursorShadow" "1"
Option "CursorShadowAlpha" "63"
Option "CursorShadowYOffset" "2"
Option "CursorShadowXOffset" "4"
Option "FlatPanelProperties" "Scaling = native"
Option "NoLogo" "false"
Option "UseEDID" "true"
Option "AddARGBGLXVisuals" "true"
Option "RenderAccel" "true"
#Option "AllowGLXWithComposite" "true"
EndSection

Section "Device"
Identifier "Card1"
Driver "nvidia"
BoardName "unknown"

Screen 1
#Option "MonitorLayout" "crt,crt"
#BusID "PCI:1:0:0"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
Identifier "Screen0"
Device "Card0"
Monitor "Monitor0"
DefaultColorDepth 24

SubSection "Display"
Depth 8
Modes "1280x1024" "1024x768" "800x600"
EndSubSection
SubSection "Display"
Depth 15
Modes "1280x1024" "1024x768" "800x600"
EndSubSection
SubSection "Display"
Depth 16
Modes "1280x1024" "1024x768" "800x600"
EndSubSection
SubSection "Display"
Depth 24
Modes "1280x1024" "1024x768" "800x600"
EndSubSection
SubSection "Display"
Depth 32
Modes "1280x1024" "1024x768" "800x600"
EndSubSection

# Only the official NVIDIA driver supports twinview
# these setting are an example
Option "TwinView" "false"
Option "SecondMonitorVendorName" "unknown"
Option "SecondMonitorModelName" "unknown"
Option "SecondMonitorHorizSync" "30-75"
Option "SecondMonitorVertRefresh" "55-70"
#Option "MetaModes" "1024x768, 1024x768"
Option "TwinViewOrientation" "RightOf"
Option "ConnectedMonitor" "dfp,dfp"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
Identifier "Screen1"
Device "Card1"
Monitor "Monitor1"
DefaultColorDepth 24

SubSection "Display"
Depth 8
Modes "1280x1024" "1024x768" "800x600"
EndSubSection
SubSection "Display"
Depth 15
Modes "1280x1024" "1024x768" "800x600"
EndSubSection
SubSection "Display"
Depth 16
Modes "1280x1024" "1024x768" "800x600"
EndSubSection
SubSection "Display"
Depth 24
Modes "1280x1024" "1024x768" "800x600"
EndSubSection
SubSection "Display"
Depth 32
Modes "1280x1024" "1024x768" "800x600"
EndSubSection
EndSection

Section "Screen"
Identifier "ATIScreen"
Device "Card0"
Monitor "ATIMonitor"
DefaultColorDepth 24

SubSection "Display"
Depth 24
Modes "1280x1024" "1024x768" "800x600"
EndSubSection
EndSection

Section "DRI"
Mode 0666
EndSection

Section "Extensions"
Option "Composite" "Enable"
EndSection

User avatar
Brooko
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 3259
Age: 49
Joined: Sat Apr 21, 2007 11:59 pm

#17 Postby Brooko » Thu Apr 23, 2009 9:28 pm

[color="Red"]DefaultColorDepth 24[/color]

Nope - that looks OK ....
Desktop - Win 8-64 : Corsair 520HX, P5Q Pro, Q6600 G0 @ 3Ghz, 4Gb DDR2 1066, Asus GTX560 OC, 3xWD 500Gb Sata2, Asus CD/DVD, Logitech Wave Kb, G5, C300 Cam, Audio-gd NFB-12 + LD MKIV + GigaWorks T20.
Netbook - Ubuntu 12.04 64b, Asus 1015PED 2Gb Ram

User avatar
Stevo
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 11359
Age: 58
Joined: Fri Dec 15, 2006 8:07 pm

#18 Postby Stevo » Thu Apr 23, 2009 11:20 pm

It's actually rather easy to install the compiz-fusion from Shame's repo, but it requires Aptitude to overcome some dependency conflicts that confound Synaptic. (Hoping that Compiz isn't messed up, and Shame's repo is added)

Run Konsole, and execute:

Code: Select all

su
apt-get install aptitude
aptitude update
aptitude install compiz-fusion-kde


Compiz-fusion-kde is a metapackage in Shame's repo that will pull in whatever's needed to run compiz-fusion in KDE. Aptitude will tell you there are some dependency problems, accept its first solution to resolve them.

If you have fusion-icon installed, you can use it to switch between the Emerald and KDE type window decorations in compiz.
The optimist proclaims that we live in the best of all possible worlds, and the pessimist fears this is true.

James Branch Cabell

User avatar
loco
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 588
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2008 2:00 am

more typi...

#19 Postby loco » Fri Apr 24, 2009 2:36 pm

hi, seem to have lost the op, hope it wasn't something i said? ;)

that xorg looks pretty good? personally i have to use “the-mastaâ€Â

User avatar
Buildereen
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 196
Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2009 5:30 pm

#20 Postby Buildereen » Fri Apr 24, 2009 3:21 pm

Slight ranting but acceptable :~) As to whats going on with Synaptic I have no idea. I have attempted to add Shames repo maybe 20 times now through the gui interface of it and it simply will not enter..Given up on that. I then go into sources.list and add it there manually however when I then return to Synaptic and open it I get the "malformed whatsisname here" or some such guff so thats also a no go. Until someone can explain whats going on with adding repo's through Synaptic and having it just not accept the entry I'm kinda stumpted. I've followed the instructions I can find on the web about adding entries through Synaptics interface to make sure I've got the method correct and as far as I can see am totally doing it by the book,,it however still won't work. (


Return to “Other WMs / DEs”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest