overview of different windows managers?

Topics/Questions/Guides about Windows Managers and Desktop Environments (other than KDE) should go here.
csolomon
Forum Novice
Forum  Novice

overview of different windows managers?

#1 Postby csolomon » Sun Mar 07, 2010 6:19 pm

I'm pretty new to linux and trying to figure out how I want the look and feel to be. I'm having difficulty understanding the difference between the options available to me and what they all look like.

Is there any site or guide that has screenshots and descriptions of the current windows managers? (not even sure if I"m using the correct term).

And what it is that makes a composite windows manager different than the alternative? Why "composite"? (I gather that stock KDE/Gnome is not "composite", but have no clear understanding why)

cookdav
Forum Guide
Forum Guide

#2 Postby cookdav » Sun Mar 07, 2010 7:08 pm

To me, screenshots/descriptions aren't gonna do it...seeing is believing.

Just install them all and try them. [A perfect exercise as we wait for RC3...
then you can do a fresh install for final, once you've decided.]

This should help:
http://www.mepislovers.org/forums/user_manual8/index.html#section09-5

EDIT: Hint: To get gnome, install package 'gnome-core', not 'gnome', under 8.5.
Compositing: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Compositing_window_manager
Lenovo-core-i7-laptop: Mepis-12 / Win-7 / Aptosid
Lenovo-laptop(wife's): Win-7 / M11
"Every day you look in the mirror now, you are looking at an endangered species." - Rob Watson

Brooko
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran

#3 Postby Brooko » Sun Mar 07, 2010 7:59 pm

Hi CS

While Dave is right - you'll get a better idea from seeing the desktop in action - I understand you're pretty new to this, so I wouldn't be advising you to do this.

Easiest way to get a look at generic desktops and features would be to go their respective websites - I've listed a few of the more popular ones:
KDE4
Gnome
LXDE