Multiple Desktops vs Single Desktop

Topics/Questions/Guides about Windows Managers and Desktop Environments (other than KDE) should go here.
Message
Author
User avatar
Jerry3904
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 15636
Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2006 6:13 am

Re: Multiple Desktops vs Single Desktop

#51 Postby Jerry3904 » Sun Nov 27, 2011 2:04 pm

Can't agree. We just finished establishing that activities are virtual desktops, on steroids. And their effect is to create multiple workspaces. Ditto the cube. All methods of accomplishing the same goal, with different visual effects.

BTW: do we have a howto for the cube? Just Pager Settings > Virtual Desktops > Switching > Animation: cube?
Production: 4.7.0-0.bpo.1-amd64, MX-15 RC1, AMD FX-4130 Quad-Core, GeForce GT 630/PCIe/SSE2, 8 GB, Kingston SSD 120 GB and WesternDigital 1TB
Testing: AAO 722: 3.16-0-4-686-pae. MX-15, AMD C-60 APU, 4 GB

User avatar
richb
Administrator
Posts: 13124
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 2:17 pm

Re: Multiple Desktops vs Single Desktop

#52 Postby richb » Sun Nov 27, 2011 4:46 pm

Jerry3904 wrote:Can't agree. We just finished establishing that activities are virtual desktops, on steroids. And their effect is to create multiple workspaces. Ditto the cube. All methods of accomplishing the same goal, with different visual effects.

BTW: do we have a howto for the cube? Just Pager Settings > Virtual Desktops > Switching > Animation: cube?

I guess we will agree to disagree.
Forum Rules
Guide - How to Ask for Help

Rich

Laptop: Acer V5-572G: Intel i5, 12 GIG mem, Intel graphics, SanDisk SSD, 256GB
Virtualbox: Win 7
Desktop: MX-15- 64, AMD A8 7600 FM2+ CPU R7 Graphics, fglrx driver, 16 GIG Mem. Samsung EVO SSD 250 GB

User avatar
Eadwine Rose
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 4226
Age: 43
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 2:10 am

Re: Multiple Desktops vs Single Desktop

#53 Postby Eadwine Rose » Sun Nov 27, 2011 5:44 pm

Thus far from what I have fiddled now with activities it does seem to act the same, but when you set your mouse scroll wheel to switch activities when rolling on the desktop it is a much faster switcher.

The downside is that every window open from all the activies is still in the task bar, no matter which activity you are looking at. I cannot seem to set it up exactly so it will ONLY show things from current activity.

Same thing with panels. I have a panel added up top, that one cycles right along in the activities, including those where I wouldn't want it.

Lots to be developed and customized still in any case, but I find it easier on the resources than .. say.. the cube (though that thing IS nifty *grin*).
MX-15_x64 Fusion 24 Dec 2015 ext4 Xfce 4.12.2 * AMD Asus M4A785TD-V EVO AM3 * ASUS GeForce GT640-1GD5-L * AMD Processor Athlon II X4 635, sAM3 * HDA ATI SB (VT1708S Analog) * 2x4Gb DDR3 1600 Kingston * 22" Samsung SyncMaster P2250 * HP DeskJet F2280

User avatar
richb
Administrator
Posts: 13124
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 2:17 pm

Re: Multiple Desktops vs Single Desktop

#54 Postby richb » Sun Nov 27, 2011 5:53 pm

Eadwine Rose wrote:Thus far from what I have fiddled now with activities it does seem to act the same, but when you set your mouse scroll wheel to switch activities when rolling on the desktop it is a much faster switcher.

The downside is that every window open from all the activies is still in the task bar, no matter which activity you are looking at. I cannot seem to set it up exactly so it will ONLY show things from current activity.

Same thing with panels. I have a panel added up top, that one cycles right along in the activities, including those where I wouldn't want it.

Lots to be developed and customized still in any case, but I find it easier on the resources than .. say.. the cube (though that thing IS nifty *grin*).

Panels are universal and not segregated by activity in 4.6.5. But apps running in one activity should be completely gone, including in the task manager panel in another activity provided they are set to only show in that one activity, which is the default. The image below shows Google Chrome set to only show in the Desktop activity and not the Music activity
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Forum Rules
Guide - How to Ask for Help

Rich

Laptop: Acer V5-572G: Intel i5, 12 GIG mem, Intel graphics, SanDisk SSD, 256GB
Virtualbox: Win 7
Desktop: MX-15- 64, AMD A8 7600 FM2+ CPU R7 Graphics, fglrx driver, 16 GIG Mem. Samsung EVO SSD 250 GB

User avatar
smilliken
Forum Guide
Forum Guide
Posts: 2020
Age: 57
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 11:47 pm

Re: Multiple Desktops vs Single Desktop

#55 Postby smilliken » Sun Nov 27, 2011 6:02 pm

Jerry3904 wrote:Can't agree. We just finished establishing that activities are virtual desktops, on steroids. And their effect is to create multiple workspaces. Ditto the cube. All methods of accomplishing the same goal, with different visual effects.

BTW: do we have a how to for the cube? Just Pager Settings > Virtual Desktops > Switching > Animation: cube?


I wonder if the cube should be under desktop effects?
There is no "Ctrl+Z" in life!
Acer 7551G MX-15
Dell 1525, MX15 XFCE4 & Win 10
HP DV4-1118 Mepis 12 4.14 & Win 10
HP CP1215/Brother DCP-7065DN
Linux User# 4523410

User avatar
chippy52
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 380
Joined: Wed Jul 29, 2009 6:05 pm

Re: Multiple Desktops vs Single Desktop

#56 Postby chippy52 » Sun Nov 27, 2011 11:44 pm

I have been following this discussion about using activities & have a couple of problems.
>> When I have an application open I am unable to move to another activity unless it's reduced to the task bar or closed.
>> I am unable to lock applications to show in just one activity as shown by richb. They show in the task bar on all activities.
When I try to set for activity "A" it reverts back to all activities when closed. Any pointers welcome.
MX15-x64_KDE_added_June_2016
Intel i5 2400, Asus P8H67-M-EVO, G-Skill Ripjaws 2x4GB DDR3-1333, nVidia GeForce GT430, Seagate 500GB sata3 HDD

User avatar
smilliken
Forum Guide
Forum Guide
Posts: 2020
Age: 57
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 11:47 pm

Re: Multiple Desktops vs Single Desktop

#57 Postby smilliken » Mon Nov 28, 2011 1:32 am

chippy52 wrote:I have been following this discussion about using activities & have a couple of problems.
>> When I have an application open I am unable to move to another activity unless it's reduced to the task bar or closed.
>> I am unable to lock applications to show in just one activity as shown by richb. They show in the task bar on all activities.
When I try to set for activity "A" it reverts back to all activities when closed. Any pointers welcome.


You should not have to close any program or minimize them either. I found you just need a clear :line of sight" to the current desktop. You can click on it and do the Alt+D,Alt+A (or just right click) to get to the Activities panel. Now, I've never played with the default settings and when you go to the new activity, your other programs will no be available in the new activity. Hence the reason for a music one, internet/email one, etc.etc. The programs are just in those environments/activities.
There is no "Ctrl+Z" in life!
Acer 7551G MX-15
Dell 1525, MX15 XFCE4 & Win 10
HP DV4-1118 Mepis 12 4.14 & Win 10
HP CP1215/Brother DCP-7065DN
Linux User# 4523410

User avatar
Eadwine Rose
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 4226
Age: 43
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 2:10 am

Re: Multiple Desktops vs Single Desktop

#58 Postby Eadwine Rose » Mon Nov 28, 2011 2:31 am

chippy52 wrote:>> I am unable to lock applications to show in just one activity as shown by richb. They show in the task bar on all activities.

Same here, and that is on a basic clean install.
MX-15_x64 Fusion 24 Dec 2015 ext4 Xfce 4.12.2 * AMD Asus M4A785TD-V EVO AM3 * ASUS GeForce GT640-1GD5-L * AMD Processor Athlon II X4 635, sAM3 * HDA ATI SB (VT1708S Analog) * 2x4Gb DDR3 1600 Kingston * 22" Samsung SyncMaster P2250 * HP DeskJet F2280

User avatar
m_pav
Forum Guide
Forum Guide
Posts: 2554
Age: 49
Joined: Sun Aug 06, 2006 3:02 pm

Re: Multiple Desktops vs Single Desktop

#59 Postby m_pav » Mon Nov 28, 2011 5:05 am

Jerry3904 wrote:BTW: do we have a howto for the cube? Just Pager Settings > Virtual Desktops > Switching > Animation: cube?

Better to use
SystemSettings > Workspace Appearance and Behavior > Desktop Effects
General Tab - Enable Desktop Effects > Apply, ignore error message if any, switch to Advanced Tab, under Compositing type, change XRender to OpenGL > Apply. If any errors, check your graphics card is capable and driver is correct, maybe refer to smxi, sgfxi etc.
That changes the rendering engine, now to All Effects tab, scroll down about 75% and select Desktop Cube and Desktop Cube Animation, > Apply.

This is all dependent on having sufficient graphics processing power and of course, the right driver in place.

Mike P
Mike P

Regd Linux User #472293
(Mine)Lenovo T550, i7-5600U, 16GB, 128GB SSD + 1.0TB HDD, MX15 64-bit
(Wifes) Asus M4A88TD-M, AMD Phenom II x4 955 CPU, nVidia GF610, 6Gb, 500GB+320GB, MX14 + KDE
(Kids) Intel NUC, J1900, 4GB, 64GB SSD, MX14 + KDE

User avatar
richb
Administrator
Posts: 13124
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 2:17 pm

Re: Multiple Desktops vs Single Desktop

#60 Postby richb » Mon Nov 28, 2011 8:06 am

>> I am unable to lock applications to show in just one activity as shown by richb. They show in the task bar on all activities.
When I try to set for activity "A" it reverts back to all activities when closed. Any pointers welcome.

I am running KDE 4.6.5. I do not remember how the 4.5 version worked in a non upgraded M11. I will try from the DVD and see if I can duplicate what you see. But the main purpose of activities is to segregate applications so if that does not happen it is a system error.

I ran from the DVD and activities do play differently than in an upgraded KDE to 4.6.5. If you define an application to be on a particular activity it does only appear on the screen of that activity, but it still shows in the task manager. In 4.6.5 it also does not show in the task manager.
Apparently this is normal with 4.5 versions. Activities have continually improved with KDE version changes.
Forum Rules
Guide - How to Ask for Help

Rich

Laptop: Acer V5-572G: Intel i5, 12 GIG mem, Intel graphics, SanDisk SSD, 256GB
Virtualbox: Win 7
Desktop: MX-15- 64, AMD A8 7600 FM2+ CPU R7 Graphics, fglrx driver, 16 GIG Mem. Samsung EVO SSD 250 GB


Return to “Other WMs / DEs”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest