MX & MEPIS Community Forum

Linux operating systems based on Debian Stable
View unanswered posts | View unsolved topics | View active topics |



Reply to topic  [ 73 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 4, 5, 6, 7, 8  Next
Multiple Desktops vs Single Desktop 
Author Message
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 2:10 am
Posts: 3456
Location: The Netherlands
Has thanked: 315 times
Have thanks: 343 times
Post # 289465
Post Re: Multiple Desktops vs Single Desktop
Eadwine Rose wrote:
chippy52 wrote:
>> I am unable to lock applications to show in just one activity as shown by richb. They show in the task bar on all activities.

Same here, and that is on a basic clean install.

Upgrading PROPER to 4.6.5 helped, I have an option now when I right click on the taskbar, task manager settings, general, and in the bottom under filters check "only show tasks from the current activity".

Sorted, in my case.

_________________
MX-14.3 ext4 Xfce4.10 * AMD Asus M4A785TD-V EVO AM3 * ASUS GeForce GT640-1GD5-L * AMD Processor Athlon II X4 635, sAM3 * HDA ATI SB (VT1708S Analog) * 2x4Gb DDR3 1600 Kingston * 22" Samsung SyncMaster P2250 * HP DeskJet F2280


Mon Nov 28, 2011 10:32 am

Eadwine Rose thanked by: lucky9, richb
Profile
Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 2:17 pm
Posts: 10954
Location: Rochester NY
Has thanked: 897 times
Have thanks: 1560 times
Post # 289470
Post Re: Multiple Desktops vs Single Desktop
Eadwine Rose wrote:
Eadwine Rose wrote:
chippy52 wrote:
>> I am unable to lock applications to show in just one activity as shown by richb. They show in the task bar on all activities.

Same here, and that is on a basic clean install.

Upgrading PROPER to 4.6.5 helped, I have an option now when I right click on the taskbar, task manager settings, general, and in the bottom under filters check "only show tasks from the current activity".

Sorted, in my case.

Ahh that must be the setting that gives that functionality. I never looked there.

_________________
Forum Rules
Guide - How to Ask for Help
Link to Wiki
Rich

Acer Laptop V5-572G: Intel i5, 12 GIG mem, nVidia GT720M/Intel integrated graphics
MX-14.3
Kubuntu 14.10, KDE 4.14.1
Virtualbox: Windows 7


Mon Nov 28, 2011 11:53 am
Profile
Forum Regular
Forum Regular

Joined: Wed Jul 29, 2009 6:05 pm
Posts: 354
Location: New Zealand
Has thanked: 25 times
Have thanks: 76 times
Post # 289495
Post Re: Multiple Desktops vs Single Desktop
Eadwine Rose wrote:
Eadwine Rose wrote:
chippy52 wrote:
>> I am unable to lock applications to show in just one activity as shown by richb. They show in the task bar on all activities.

Same here, and that is on a basic clean install.

Upgrading PROPER to 4.6.5 helped, I have an option now when I right click on the taskbar, task manager settings, general, and in the bottom under filters check "only show tasks from the current activity".

Sorted, in my case.


Thanks for the info. After posting I did some poking around & happened to find those settings. Will keep working on it. I installed the desktop icon that Danum posted, but now every time I reboot extra activities have been added to the activities tray. Will remove the executable to see if it fixes that problem.

_________________
Mepis 11 64bit Linux 3.2.0-0.bpo.4-amd64, KDE 4.5.1
Intel i5 2400, Asus P8H67-M-EVO, G-Skill Ripjaws 2x4GB DDR3-1333, nVidia GeForce GT430, Seagate 500GB sata3 HDD


Mon Nov 28, 2011 2:19 pm
Profile
Forum Regular
Forum Regular

Joined: Wed Jul 29, 2009 6:05 pm
Posts: 354
Location: New Zealand
Has thanked: 25 times
Have thanks: 76 times
Post # 289534
Post Re: Multiple Desktops vs Single Desktop
Attachment:
activity-taskbar.png


I have since taken a snapshot of the problem I mentioned in my last post. I also looked in my .kde/share/apps folder and there is a plasma-desktop folder ( which does not exist in other installs ) and see an activities folder. There are 55 entries in this folder. I only set up 2 activities. Can this be deleted or reset?


You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

_________________
Mepis 11 64bit Linux 3.2.0-0.bpo.4-amd64, KDE 4.5.1
Intel i5 2400, Asus P8H67-M-EVO, G-Skill Ripjaws 2x4GB DDR3-1333, nVidia GeForce GT430, Seagate 500GB sata3 HDD


Mon Nov 28, 2011 9:04 pm
Profile
Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 2:17 pm
Posts: 10954
Location: Rochester NY
Has thanked: 897 times
Have thanks: 1560 times
Post # 289536
Post Re: Multiple Desktops vs Single Desktop
chippy52 wrote:
Attachment:
activity-taskbar.png


I have since taken a snapshot of the problem I mentioned in my last post. I also looked in my .kde/share/apps folder and there is a plasma-desktop folder ( which does not exist in other installs ) and see an activities folder. There are 55 entries in this folder. I only set up 2 activities. Can this be deleted or reset?

I had the same problem with Mepis 8.5 but not Mepis 11.0. That is multiple activities would appear with each boot. Never ddid solve the problem. You can delete the activities individually, but they will probably just keep multiplying.

_________________
Forum Rules
Guide - How to Ask for Help
Link to Wiki
Rich

Acer Laptop V5-572G: Intel i5, 12 GIG mem, nVidia GT720M/Intel integrated graphics
MX-14.3
Kubuntu 14.10, KDE 4.14.1
Virtualbox: Windows 7


Mon Nov 28, 2011 9:37 pm
Profile
Forum Regular
Forum Regular

Joined: Wed Jul 29, 2009 6:05 pm
Posts: 354
Location: New Zealand
Has thanked: 25 times
Have thanks: 76 times
Post # 289537
Post Re: Multiple Desktops vs Single Desktop
Thats exactly what I found. I have now renamed the activities folder >>rebooted >>opened activities task bar >> deleted all entries apart from my desktop >> rebooted >>went to the plasma-desktop folder >>a new activities folder had been created which I then deleted >>rebooted >> checked that the folder had not reappeared. We now have an empty activities folder & task bar. Time to start over again.

_________________
Mepis 11 64bit Linux 3.2.0-0.bpo.4-amd64, KDE 4.5.1
Intel i5 2400, Asus P8H67-M-EVO, G-Skill Ripjaws 2x4GB DDR3-1333, nVidia GeForce GT430, Seagate 500GB sata3 HDD


Mon Nov 28, 2011 10:29 pm
Profile
Forum Guide
Forum Guide
User avatar

Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2007 5:49 pm
Posts: 2664
Location: Doncaster UK
Has thanked: 110 times
Have thanks: 738 times
Post # 289541
Post Re: Multiple Desktops vs Single Desktop
Following from your post chippy52, I did a clean install Mepis 11 32 bit and added 3 activities, ran then rebooted shutdown and restarted no problems,
upgraded the system, rebooted and an extra activity had been added, making 4, deleted the one that had been added, rebooted etc etc no problems still have 3, so it looks like something is changed with the upgrade,
will look further later today, it is 2.45 am here and time for some bed.


You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

_________________
*Never be afraid to try something new. Remember that a lone amateur built the Ark. A large group of professionals built the Titanic(Windoze)*

Kubuntu KDE 4.11.00 / KDE 4.11.60 / Debian Wheezy KDE 4.10.4 / Plasma Active 3 Tablet


Mon Nov 28, 2011 10:49 pm
Profile
Forum Guide
Forum Guide
User avatar

Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2007 5:49 pm
Posts: 2664
Location: Doncaster UK
Has thanked: 110 times
Have thanks: 738 times
Post # 289572
 Re: Multiple Desktops vs Single Desktop
A warning, do NOT try to run Activities in Mepis 8.5 or a default Mepis 11.0 install, or you will end up with irreversible problems,
If you want to use activities upgrade to KDE 4.6, and then there are no problems.

_________________
*Never be afraid to try something new. Remember that a lone amateur built the Ark. A large group of professionals built the Titanic(Windoze)*

Kubuntu KDE 4.11.00 / KDE 4.11.60 / Debian Wheezy KDE 4.10.4 / Plasma Active 3 Tablet


Tue Nov 29, 2011 1:23 pm

Danum thanked by: Jerry3904, lucky9, richb
Profile
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2006 6:13 am
Posts: 10852
Location: Geneva NY
Has thanked: 3280 times
Have thanks: 2087 times
Post # 289574
Post Re: Multiple Desktops vs Single Desktop
You feel confident enough about that so I can put the warning into the Manual?

_________________
Production: 32 bit, 3.14-0.bpo.1-686-pae. MX-14.2, AMD FX-4130 Quad-Core, GeForce GT 630/PCIe/SSE2, 8 GB DDR3, / and /home on Kingston SSD 120 GB, data on WesternDigital 1TB, Dell SP2309W monitor.


Tue Nov 29, 2011 1:34 pm
Profile
Forum Guide
Forum Guide
User avatar

Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2007 5:49 pm
Posts: 2664
Location: Doncaster UK
Has thanked: 110 times
Have thanks: 738 times
Post # 289578
Post Re: Multiple Desktops vs Single Desktop
Jerry3904 wrote:
You feel confident enough about that so I can put the warning into the Manual?

If I did not feel confident about it I would not have posted the warning in the first place, activities in Mepis 4.5 is the same as it in KDE4.3 all they have done is bumped the version number up to make it compatible with 4.5.

_________________
*Never be afraid to try something new. Remember that a lone amateur built the Ark. A large group of professionals built the Titanic(Windoze)*

Kubuntu KDE 4.11.00 / KDE 4.11.60 / Debian Wheezy KDE 4.10.4 / Plasma Active 3 Tablet


Tue Nov 29, 2011 2:12 pm
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 73 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 4, 5, 6, 7, 8  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

Protected by Anti-Spam ACP Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by STSoftware for PTF.