MEPIS Community Forum

A Linux operating system based on Debian Stable
View unanswered posts | View unsolved topics | View active topics |



Reply to topic  [ 56 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next
Using activities, upgraded to 4.6.5 and they are gone. 
Author Message
MEPIS Enthusiast
MEPIS Enthusiast
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 2:10 am
Posts: 3367
Location: The Netherlands
Has thanked: 286 times
Have thanks: 321 times
Post # 289344
Post Using activities, upgraded to 4.6.5 and they are gone.  [Solved]
Ok.. been fiddling with this but I cannot get this to work. I open a few applications so that something is going on on the desktop, then right click, unlock widgets, right click again then left click activities, bottom of screen shows two buttons in the top of a large dark area that has a search option on the opposite side; two buttons are create activity and add widgets.

Left click create activity, I get three options: templates, empty and clone.

None of the two last options makes something new in the black area and neither do the templates create anything. What am I missing?

_________________
MX-14.2 (upgraded from 14.1.1) ext4 Xfce4.10 * AMD Asus M4A785TD-V EVO AM3 * ASUS GeForce GT640-1GD5-L * AMD Processor Athlon II X4 635, sAM3 * HDA ATI SB (VT1708S Analog) * 2x4Gb DDR3 1600 Kingston * 22" Samsung SyncMaster P2250 * HP DeskJet F2280


Sun Nov 27, 2011 11:30 am
Profile
Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 2:17 pm
Posts: 10552
Location: Rochester NY
Has thanked: 804 times
Have thanks: 1366 times
Post # 289345
Post Re: Multiple Desktops vs Single Desktop
Not sure what is going on Eadwine, that should put a new activity and icon in the activity bar at the bottom of the screen.

_________________
Forum Rules
Guide - How to Ask for Help
Link to Wiki
Rich

Acer Laptop V5-572G: Intel i5, 12 GIG mem, nVidia GT720M/Intel integrated graphics
Mx-14 Symbiosis
Kubuntu 13.10, KDE 4.11.2


Sun Nov 27, 2011 11:34 am
Profile
MEPIS Enthusiast
MEPIS Enthusiast
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 2:10 am
Posts: 3367
Location: The Netherlands
Has thanked: 286 times
Have thanks: 321 times
Post # 289346
Post Re: Multiple Desktops vs Single Desktop
I added the activity bar widget to the bottom of the screen, however still nada gets added.

I added it loose on the desktop.. nope.

Is it something maybe with desktop settings that I need to alter?

_________________
MX-14.2 (upgraded from 14.1.1) ext4 Xfce4.10 * AMD Asus M4A785TD-V EVO AM3 * ASUS GeForce GT640-1GD5-L * AMD Processor Athlon II X4 635, sAM3 * HDA ATI SB (VT1708S Analog) * 2x4Gb DDR3 1600 Kingston * 22" Samsung SyncMaster P2250 * HP DeskJet F2280


Sun Nov 27, 2011 11:44 am
Profile
Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 2:17 pm
Posts: 10552
Location: Rochester NY
Has thanked: 804 times
Have thanks: 1366 times
Post # 289347
Post Re: Multiple Desktops vs Single Desktop
Eadwine Rose wrote:
I added the activity bar widget to the bottom of the screen, however still nada gets added.

I added it loose on the desktop.. nope.

Is it something maybe with desktop settings that I need to alter?

The activity bar widget is just for changing activities once created. As long as widgets are unlocked right clicking on the desktop and then left clicking on activities brings up the activity panel where activities can be added. Nothing else that I know of needs to be done with desktop settings.

_________________
Forum Rules
Guide - How to Ask for Help
Link to Wiki
Rich

Acer Laptop V5-572G: Intel i5, 12 GIG mem, nVidia GT720M/Intel integrated graphics
Mx-14 Symbiosis
Kubuntu 13.10, KDE 4.11.2


Sun Nov 27, 2011 11:53 am
Profile
MEPIS Enthusiast
MEPIS Enthusiast
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 2:10 am
Posts: 3367
Location: The Netherlands
Has thanked: 286 times
Have thanks: 321 times
Post # 289348
Post Re: Multiple Desktops vs Single Desktop
richb wrote:
As long as widgets are unlocked right clicking on the desktop and then left clicking on activities brings up the activity panel where activities can be added.

What you describe here is exactly what I did, but nothing happens when I hit create activity. *shrug*


Should I maybe split my question of creating an activity off from the rest of the thread, or?

_________________
MX-14.2 (upgraded from 14.1.1) ext4 Xfce4.10 * AMD Asus M4A785TD-V EVO AM3 * ASUS GeForce GT640-1GD5-L * AMD Processor Athlon II X4 635, sAM3 * HDA ATI SB (VT1708S Analog) * 2x4Gb DDR3 1600 Kingston * 22" Samsung SyncMaster P2250 * HP DeskJet F2280


Sun Nov 27, 2011 12:01 pm
Profile
Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 2:17 pm
Posts: 10552
Location: Rochester NY
Has thanked: 804 times
Have thanks: 1366 times
Post # 289349
Post Re: Multiple Desktops vs Single Desktop
Eadwine Rose wrote:
richb wrote:
As long as widgets are unlocked right clicking on the desktop and then left clicking on activities brings up the activity panel where activities can be added.

What you describe here is exactly what I did, but nothing happens when I hit create activity. *shrug*


Should I maybe split my question of creating an activity off from the rest of the thread, or?

Good idea to split it off. When you do that I will post some images that may help.

_________________
Forum Rules
Guide - How to Ask for Help
Link to Wiki
Rich

Acer Laptop V5-572G: Intel i5, 12 GIG mem, nVidia GT720M/Intel integrated graphics
Mx-14 Symbiosis
Kubuntu 13.10, KDE 4.11.2


Sun Nov 27, 2011 12:08 pm

richb thanked by: Eadwine Rose
Profile
MEPIS Guide
MEPIS Guide
User avatar

Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2007 5:49 pm
Posts: 2656
Location: Doncaster UK
Has thanked: 110 times
Have thanks: 733 times
Post # 289350
Post Re: Multiple Desktops vs Single Desktop
Eadwine, I will do my best to walk you through this the easy way,
First, enable a Keyboard shortcut, to get into activities easily,
Keyboard Shortcut to Activities.
The default KDE4 shortcut to open activities is Meta + Q
So enable the Meta key,
System Settings > Input Devices > Keyboard (Advanced Tab)
check, Configure keyboard options > expand Alt/Win key behavior > check, Meta is mapped to Left Win > Apply
You can now open and close activities using the keyboard shortcut Meta +Q
Note in KDE 4.5 you will have to close activities manually.

Question before we go any further are you using the default Mepis or is it upgraded to KDE 4.6

_________________
*Never be afraid to try something new. Remember that a lone amateur built the Ark. A large group of professionals built the Titanic(Windoze)*

Kubuntu KDE 4.11.00 / KDE 4.11.60 / Debian Wheezy KDE 4.10.4 / Plasma Active 3 Tablet


Sun Nov 27, 2011 12:11 pm
Profile
MEPIS Enthusiast
MEPIS Enthusiast
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 2:10 am
Posts: 3367
Location: The Netherlands
Has thanked: 286 times
Have thanks: 321 times
Post # 289352
Post Re: Using activities, how do I get this to work?
The version I am using of KDE is in my siggie :)

Had the meta key thing already happening. When I unlock the widgets first the meta q makes the same window appear as "As long as widgets are unlocked right clicking on the desktop and then left clicking on activities brings up the activity panel where activities can be added."

So.. all set (I might be slow in answering as I am cooking at the same time.. can I add an activity for that too? *grin*)

_________________
MX-14.2 (upgraded from 14.1.1) ext4 Xfce4.10 * AMD Asus M4A785TD-V EVO AM3 * ASUS GeForce GT640-1GD5-L * AMD Processor Athlon II X4 635, sAM3 * HDA ATI SB (VT1708S Analog) * 2x4Gb DDR3 1600 Kingston * 22" Samsung SyncMaster P2250 * HP DeskJet F2280


Sun Nov 27, 2011 12:20 pm
Profile
Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 2:17 pm
Posts: 10552
Location: Rochester NY
Has thanked: 804 times
Have thanks: 1366 times
Post # 289354
Post Re: Using activities, how do I get this to work?
I will let John walk you through it as he has offered.

I do have some helpful images but best one person guide you so as to avoid confusion.

_________________
Forum Rules
Guide - How to Ask for Help
Link to Wiki
Rich

Acer Laptop V5-572G: Intel i5, 12 GIG mem, nVidia GT720M/Intel integrated graphics
Mx-14 Symbiosis
Kubuntu 13.10, KDE 4.11.2


Sun Nov 27, 2011 12:23 pm
Profile
MEPIS Enthusiast
MEPIS Enthusiast
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 2:10 am
Posts: 3367
Location: The Netherlands
Has thanked: 286 times
Have thanks: 321 times
Post # 289355
Post Re: Using activities, how do I get this to work?
Perfect.. who knows.. when we get this sorted for me, someone else might benefit from a thread like this as well. I found the explanations on the web of how to set it up a tad confusing (to say the least).

_________________
MX-14.2 (upgraded from 14.1.1) ext4 Xfce4.10 * AMD Asus M4A785TD-V EVO AM3 * ASUS GeForce GT640-1GD5-L * AMD Processor Athlon II X4 635, sAM3 * HDA ATI SB (VT1708S Analog) * 2x4Gb DDR3 1600 Kingston * 22" Samsung SyncMaster P2250 * HP DeskJet F2280


Sun Nov 27, 2011 12:24 pm
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 56 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

Protected by Anti-Spam ACP Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by STSoftware for PTF.