Upgrade of qt to 4.6.3 now in the main test community repository

Message
Author
User avatar
Stevo
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 11031
Age: 57
Joined: Fri Dec 15, 2006 8:07 pm

Upgrade of qt to 4.6.3 now in the main test community repository

#1 Postby Stevo » Tue Sep 28, 2010 1:42 am

This is an update to the core libraries underlying the KDE 4 desktop, so I thought it warrants an announcement, and would really like some feedback if anyone has trouble with it.

It will allow us to keep updating many QT based applications for the community repo. I have noticed that openGL desktop compositing is much more fluid on my Intel GMA 4500 graphics card now, at least until I stop and restart compositing, when it seems to regress for some odd reason.

One issue I can think of, if you have created symlinks to the system QT 4.5.3 libraries for Google Earth, they will have to be redone to point to the 4.6 equivalents.
The optimist proclaims that we live in the best of all possible worlds, and the pessimist fears this is true.

James Branch Cabell

User avatar
Jerry3904
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 15031
Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2006 6:13 am

#2 Postby Jerry3904 » Tue Sep 28, 2010 8:10 am

Great work, Stevo! All installed here on 32bit without any apparent problem.
Production: 4.2.0-0.bpo.1-amd64, MX-15 RC1, AMD FX-4130 Quad-Core, GeForce GT 630/PCIe/SSE2, 8 GB, Kingston SSD 120 GB and WesternDigital 1TB
Testing: AAO 722: 3.16-0-4-686-pae. MX-15, AMD C-60 APU, 4 GB

User avatar
Stevo
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 11031
Age: 57
Joined: Fri Dec 15, 2006 8:07 pm

#3 Postby Stevo » Tue Sep 28, 2010 10:49 am

I've already got the latest Stellarium built with it--and I think now we can keep up with Scribus-ng releases, too.
The optimist proclaims that we live in the best of all possible worlds, and the pessimist fears this is true.

James Branch Cabell

User avatar
wcc1776
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 544
Age: 63
Joined: Sat Jan 13, 2007 3:15 am

#4 Postby wcc1776 » Tue Sep 28, 2010 1:10 pm

Installed 32 bit here, no problems.

Wayne
32bit Desktop
Celeron 2.3 Ghz
MB from old emachine
Intel 845 Graphics
512M RAM
Maxtor 160G
Western Digital 40G

I have windows,just not on my computer.
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Image

User avatar
sdbingm
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 276
Age: 55
Joined: Sun Mar 02, 2008 11:50 am

#5 Postby sdbingm » Tue Sep 28, 2010 1:20 pm

installed on 64-bit with no problems
AMD Phenom II X6 1055T Processor, Nvidia GTS 450, LG W2042TQ (1680x1050)/ViewSonic VP191b(1280x1024), Broadcom BCM4306 Wireless, 8GB RAM
M11-64, +sid, +KDE SC 4.11.3, liquorix 3.12-4 , Nvidia 331.20
Image

User avatar
timkb4cq
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 3364
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 4:05 pm

#6 Postby timkb4cq » Tue Sep 28, 2010 2:56 pm

Just one minor temporary issue here.

The system requires a logout/login or reboot after installing. The symptom is that clicking on a text file gives a missing KDE text element error while trying to open Kwrite. Kwrite runs fine opened from the menu or cli.

Reooting, Logging Out & In, or the equivalent via <ctrl><alt><bkspc> repairs the problem.

User avatar
ko
Forum Guide
Forum Guide
Posts: 2485
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 4:43 am

#7 Postby ko » Tue Sep 28, 2010 3:09 pm

timkb4cq wrote:Just one minor temporary issue here.

The system requires a logout/login or reboot after installing. The symptom is that clicking on a text file gives a missing KDE text element error while trying to open Kwrite. Kwrite runs fine opened from the menu or cli.

Rebooting, Logging Out & In, or the equivalent via <ctrl><alt><bkspc> repairs the problem.

I noticed the same problem (M8.5 32bit).

Ko
Ko Bros Linux User #312596.  MX14.4, MX14.3, Mepis 12, Debian 7, antiX 15, Peppermint 5...and sometimes Win7

User avatar
benny_fletch
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 677
Joined: Sat Jun 09, 2007 4:22 pm

#8 Postby benny_fletch » Thu Sep 30, 2010 10:53 am

Installed on my desktop without issue (other than the logoff/login step already mentioned in this thread). Thanks!
II: Kubuntu 14.04 & Windows 7 | 3.4GHz AMD Phenom II X4 | ASUS M4A785TD-V | 8GB DDR3 | nVidia GeForce GTX550
KAVAR: Kubuntu 14.04 | Dell Vostro 1000 | 1.8GHz AMD Athlon 64 X2 | 4GB DDR2 | ATI Radeon Xpress 1150

User avatar
Stevo
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 11031
Age: 57
Joined: Fri Dec 15, 2006 8:07 pm

#9 Postby Stevo » Thu Sep 30, 2010 9:41 pm

OK, looks good. Anyone want to package KDE 4.5?
The optimist proclaims that we live in the best of all possible worlds, and the pessimist fears this is true.

James Branch Cabell

User avatar
smilliken
Forum Guide
Forum Guide
Posts: 1981
Age: 57
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 11:47 pm

#10 Postby smilliken » Thu Sep 30, 2010 9:59 pm

Steve, do these packages have any bearing on korganizer? Can't get it to start now. Worked just fine prior to the upgrade, Have another post http://www.mepislovers.org/showthread.php?t=28295
There is no "Ctrl+Z" in life!
Acer 7551G MX-15
Dell 1525, MX15 XFCE4 & Win 10
HP DV4-1118 Mepis 12 4.14 & Win 10
HP CP1215/Brother DCP-7065DN
Linux User# 4523410


Return to “Old Announcements”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests