Virtualbox 2.1 Problem XP freezes

Here you can post threads/topics about programs like vmware, parallels, qemu, virtualbox, dosbox and all the other virtual machines/emulators that exist. This includes how to setup, suggestions on what works well with MEPIS and what doesn't, etc.
Message
Author
User avatar
richb
Administrator
Posts: 13030
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 2:17 pm

Virtualbox 2.1 Problem XP freezes

#1 Postby richb » Mon Jan 05, 2009 2:33 pm

Upgraded to Vbox 2.10. My install of Win XP now loads and gets to the point of rendering the start bar and freezes. I will wander over to the Vbox forum and see if this has been reported, but anyone here experiencing difficulties?
Forum Rules
Guide - How to Ask for Help

Rich

Laptop: Acer V5-572G: Intel i5, 12 GIG mem, Intel graphics, SanDisk SSD, 256GB
Virtualbox: Win 7
Desktop: MX-15- 64, AMD A8 7600 FM2+ CPU R7 Graphics, fglrx driver, 16 GIG Mem. Samsung EVO SSD 250 GB

User avatar
joany
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 6120
Joined: Mon Feb 12, 2007 1:45 pm

#2 Postby joany » Mon Jan 05, 2009 6:22 pm

Nope.

I did have a slight difficulty in setting up VB 2.1.0 because I had to uninstall the previous version beforehand; I never had to do that before. I also had to reinstall Guest Additions after I got my former WinXP guest up and running. But besides those two minor annoyances, all I had to do is point VB to where my previous WinXP guest .vdi file was, and everything just worked.

I must say how very happy I am with VB 2.1.0. The one thing that never worked for me on previous versions was the Win Hot Key that releases the keyboard/mouse from the guest machine before Guest Additions is installed. This meant that when I was installing a new OS and used the keyboard/mouse to set up the new OS, I couldn't release the keyboard or mouse again in order to install Guest Additions. That meant I had to reboot MEPIS while VM was running in order to get my mouse/keyboard back, and then install Guest Additions -- what a PITA that was. :frustrated: With VB 2.1.0, the Hot Key works as advertised. :linuxlove:
MX-14; 3.12-0.bpo.1-686-pae kernel using 4GB RAM
2.4GHz AMD Athlon 4600+
NVidia GeForce 6150 LE; 304.121 Display Driver
You didn't slow down because you're old; you're old because you slowed down.

User avatar
Adrian
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 6206
Age: 41
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 1:42 am

#3 Postby Adrian » Mon Jan 05, 2009 6:31 pm

no problem here either... sorry I can't help, I wonder if it's VirtualBox only problem or XP has part of the guilt too, knowing Windows I wouldn't rule that out.

User avatar
richb
Administrator
Posts: 13030
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 2:17 pm

#4 Postby richb » Mon Jan 05, 2009 7:31 pm

The Vbox forum has some discussions of freezes but mostly with MACS. I rolled back to 2.06 and had a similar problem, but this time more severe. I fear sometime, somehow the XP vdi file got corrupted. Of course I had a backup that got accidently erased when I was messing with trying to get a USB flash drive bootable. So the only solution is to reinstall XP, arrghh.

Thanks for the comments.
Forum Rules
Guide - How to Ask for Help

Rich

Laptop: Acer V5-572G: Intel i5, 12 GIG mem, Intel graphics, SanDisk SSD, 256GB
Virtualbox: Win 7
Desktop: MX-15- 64, AMD A8 7600 FM2+ CPU R7 Graphics, fglrx driver, 16 GIG Mem. Samsung EVO SSD 250 GB

User avatar
Adrian
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 6206
Age: 41
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 1:42 am

#5 Postby Adrian » Mon Jan 05, 2009 7:41 pm

can you try to press F8 or it doesn't go that far? If it does, try the "safe mode"

User avatar
richb
Administrator
Posts: 13030
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 2:17 pm

#6 Postby richb » Mon Jan 05, 2009 7:43 pm

Adrian wrote:can you try to press F8 or it doesn't go that far? If it does, try the "safe mode"


Yes I can get to the safe mode. What happens is; error messages flash by that are unreadable due to speed, and it ends back at the safe mode menu. The Vbox log file gives no clue.
Forum Rules
Guide - How to Ask for Help

Rich

Laptop: Acer V5-572G: Intel i5, 12 GIG mem, Intel graphics, SanDisk SSD, 256GB
Virtualbox: Win 7
Desktop: MX-15- 64, AMD A8 7600 FM2+ CPU R7 Graphics, fglrx driver, 16 GIG Mem. Samsung EVO SSD 250 GB

User avatar
Adrian
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 6206
Age: 41
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 1:42 am

#7 Postby Adrian » Mon Jan 05, 2009 7:50 pm

If you can't start in safe mode it is messed up seriously. Maybe... but I doubt it would work you could try to downgrade VBox and try again but as far as I know the format of the vdi has changed so you could probably not go back (it's worth a try -- make a backup before)

User avatar
richb
Administrator
Posts: 13030
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 2:17 pm

#8 Postby richb » Mon Jan 05, 2009 7:53 pm

Adrian wrote:If you can't start in safe mode it is messed up seriously. Maybe... but I doubt it would work you could try to downgrade VBox and try again but as far as I know the format of the vdi has changed so you could probably not go back (it's worth a try -- make a backup before)


I did try a downgrade. no help. and bumped back up with same result. I am pretty sure the vdi is toast. lesson learned. multiple backups. One is not enough.
Forum Rules
Guide - How to Ask for Help

Rich

Laptop: Acer V5-572G: Intel i5, 12 GIG mem, Intel graphics, SanDisk SSD, 256GB
Virtualbox: Win 7
Desktop: MX-15- 64, AMD A8 7600 FM2+ CPU R7 Graphics, fglrx driver, 16 GIG Mem. Samsung EVO SSD 250 GB

User avatar
bgrd351
Posts: 29
Joined: Wed Dec 10, 2008 1:33 pm

#9 Postby bgrd351 » Tue Jan 06, 2009 12:21 am

I dont know if it will work in a VM but in a normal windows world you could try a scandisk from a xp cd or if that doesnt work then a windows repair from the cd. It would keep you from having to reload the whole VM and reinstall programs.

User avatar
richb
Administrator
Posts: 13030
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 2:17 pm

#10 Postby richb » Tue Jan 06, 2009 8:41 am

bgrd351 wrote:I dont know if it will work in a VM but in a normal windows world you could try a scandisk from a xp cd or if that doesnt work then a windows repair from the cd. It would keep you from having to reload the whole VM and reinstall programs.


Thanks I will give it a try and report back.
Forum Rules
Guide - How to Ask for Help

Rich

Laptop: Acer V5-572G: Intel i5, 12 GIG mem, Intel graphics, SanDisk SSD, 256GB
Virtualbox: Win 7
Desktop: MX-15- 64, AMD A8 7600 FM2+ CPU R7 Graphics, fglrx driver, 16 GIG Mem. Samsung EVO SSD 250 GB


Return to “VMs/Emulators”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest