MEPIS Community Forum

A Linux operating system based on Debian Stable
View unanswered posts | View unsolved topics | View active topics |



Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Virtualbox 2.1 Problem XP freezes 
Author Message
Online
Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 2:17 pm
Posts: 10608
Location: Rochester NY
Has thanked: 816 times
Have thanks: 1410 times
Post # 157508
Post Virtualbox 2.1 Problem XP freezes
Upgraded to Vbox 2.10. My install of Win XP now loads and gets to the point of rendering the start bar and freezes. I will wander over to the Vbox forum and see if this has been reported, but anyone here experiencing difficulties?

_________________
Forum Rules
Guide - How to Ask for Help
Link to Wiki
Rich

Acer Laptop V5-572G: Intel i5, 12 GIG mem, nVidia GT720M/Intel integrated graphics
Mx-14 Symbiosis
Kubuntu 13.10, KDE 4.11.2


Mon Jan 05, 2009 2:33 pm
Profile
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
User avatar

Joined: Mon Feb 12, 2007 1:45 pm
Posts: 5653
Location: Penn's Woods
Has thanked: 801 times
Have thanks: 655 times
Post # 157536
Post 
Nope.

I did have a slight difficulty in setting up VB 2.1.0 because I had to uninstall the previous version beforehand; I never had to do that before. I also had to reinstall Guest Additions after I got my former WinXP guest up and running. But besides those two minor annoyances, all I had to do is point VB to where my previous WinXP guest .vdi file was, and everything just worked.

I must say how very happy I am with VB 2.1.0. The one thing that never worked for me on previous versions was the Win Hot Key that releases the keyboard/mouse from the guest machine before Guest Additions is installed. This meant that when I was installing a new OS and used the keyboard/mouse to set up the new OS, I couldn't release the keyboard or mouse again in order to install Guest Additions. That meant I had to reboot MEPIS while VM was running in order to get my mouse/keyboard back, and then install Guest Additions -- what a PITA that was. :frustrated: With VB 2.1.0, the Hot Key works as advertised. :linuxlove:

_________________
MX-14; 3.12-0.bpo.1-686-pae kernel using 4GB RAM
2.4GHz AMD Athlon 4600+
NVidia GeForce 6150 LE; 304.121 Display Driver


Mon Jan 05, 2009 6:22 pm
Profile
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 1:42 am
Posts: 4450
Has thanked: 437 times
Have thanks: 590 times
Post # 157539
Post 
no problem here either... sorry I can't help, I wonder if it's VirtualBox only problem or XP has part of the guilt too, knowing Windows I wouldn't rule that out.


Mon Jan 05, 2009 6:31 pm
Profile
Online
Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 2:17 pm
Posts: 10608
Location: Rochester NY
Has thanked: 816 times
Have thanks: 1410 times
Post # 157555
Post 
The Vbox forum has some discussions of freezes but mostly with MACS. I rolled back to 2.06 and had a similar problem, but this time more severe. I fear sometime, somehow the XP vdi file got corrupted. Of course I had a backup that got accidently erased when I was messing with trying to get a USB flash drive bootable. So the only solution is to reinstall XP, arrghh.

Thanks for the comments.

_________________
Forum Rules
Guide - How to Ask for Help
Link to Wiki
Rich

Acer Laptop V5-572G: Intel i5, 12 GIG mem, nVidia GT720M/Intel integrated graphics
Mx-14 Symbiosis
Kubuntu 13.10, KDE 4.11.2


Mon Jan 05, 2009 7:31 pm
Profile
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 1:42 am
Posts: 4450
Has thanked: 437 times
Have thanks: 590 times
Post # 157561
Post 
can you try to press F8 or it doesn't go that far? If it does, try the "safe mode"


Mon Jan 05, 2009 7:41 pm
Profile
Online
Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 2:17 pm
Posts: 10608
Location: Rochester NY
Has thanked: 816 times
Have thanks: 1410 times
Post # 157562
Post 
Adrian wrote:
can you try to press F8 or it doesn't go that far? If it does, try the "safe mode"


Yes I can get to the safe mode. What happens is; error messages flash by that are unreadable due to speed, and it ends back at the safe mode menu. The Vbox log file gives no clue.

_________________
Forum Rules
Guide - How to Ask for Help
Link to Wiki
Rich

Acer Laptop V5-572G: Intel i5, 12 GIG mem, nVidia GT720M/Intel integrated graphics
Mx-14 Symbiosis
Kubuntu 13.10, KDE 4.11.2


Mon Jan 05, 2009 7:43 pm
Profile
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 1:42 am
Posts: 4450
Has thanked: 437 times
Have thanks: 590 times
Post # 157566
Post 
If you can't start in safe mode it is messed up seriously. Maybe... but I doubt it would work you could try to downgrade VBox and try again but as far as I know the format of the vdi has changed so you could probably not go back (it's worth a try -- make a backup before)


Mon Jan 05, 2009 7:50 pm
Profile
Online
Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 2:17 pm
Posts: 10608
Location: Rochester NY
Has thanked: 816 times
Have thanks: 1410 times
Post # 157567
Post 
Adrian wrote:
If you can't start in safe mode it is messed up seriously. Maybe... but I doubt it would work you could try to downgrade VBox and try again but as far as I know the format of the vdi has changed so you could probably not go back (it's worth a try -- make a backup before)


I did try a downgrade. no help. and bumped back up with same result. I am pretty sure the vdi is toast. lesson learned. multiple backups. One is not enough.

_________________
Forum Rules
Guide - How to Ask for Help
Link to Wiki
Rich

Acer Laptop V5-572G: Intel i5, 12 GIG mem, nVidia GT720M/Intel integrated graphics
Mx-14 Symbiosis
Kubuntu 13.10, KDE 4.11.2


Mon Jan 05, 2009 7:53 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Wed Dec 10, 2008 1:33 pm
Posts: 29
Location: Jax, Fl
Has thanked: 0 time
Have thanks: 0 time
Post # 157598
Post 
I dont know if it will work in a VM but in a normal windows world you could try a scandisk from a xp cd or if that doesnt work then a windows repair from the cd. It would keep you from having to reload the whole VM and reinstall programs.


Tue Jan 06, 2009 12:21 am
Profile
Online
Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 2:17 pm
Posts: 10608
Location: Rochester NY
Has thanked: 816 times
Have thanks: 1410 times
Post # 157646
Post 
bgrd351 wrote:
I dont know if it will work in a VM but in a normal windows world you could try a scandisk from a xp cd or if that doesnt work then a windows repair from the cd. It would keep you from having to reload the whole VM and reinstall programs.


Thanks I will give it a try and report back.

_________________
Forum Rules
Guide - How to Ask for Help
Link to Wiki
Rich

Acer Laptop V5-572G: Intel i5, 12 GIG mem, nVidia GT720M/Intel integrated graphics
Mx-14 Symbiosis
Kubuntu 13.10, KDE 4.11.2


Tue Jan 06, 2009 8:41 am
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 14 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

Protected by Anti-Spam ACP Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by STSoftware for PTF.