xdosemu does not work as root....why?

Here you can post threads/topics about programs like vmware, parallels, qemu, virtualbox, dosbox and all the other virtual machines/emulators that exist. This includes how to setup, suggestions on what works well with MEPIS and what doesn't, etc.
Message
Author
raul_comodoro
Forum Novice
Forum  Novice
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2011 2:29 pm

xdosemu does not work as root....why?

#1 Postby raul_comodoro » Tue Feb 22, 2011 12:30 pm

Few days a go I sent a message to somebody in this forum asking for an issue using xdosemu, but I have not got an answer yet.

So, I post it here now, hoping somebody could help me.

The following is the explanation about my problem:
*******************************************************************************************************************************

1) At this address: system:/media/hda2/dos/Aurora

* Executing Aurora by mean of Dosemu do not let me save modified files

* The folder has the following permissions:
Can view content for "owner", "group" and "others"

* The user is root, the group is users

* I'm working as root (acording to Mepis site is the only possibility by now to work with)

* I've tried to change permission for owner to: Can view and modify content, but it is not possible

* Trying to make it but now clicking the box "Only owner can rename and delete folder content"; I get a message "Access denied to
/mnt/hda2/dos/Aurora" (so, working as root do no let change anything).

2) As a second option I've copied Aurora/* to my home folder.

At this address: /home/raul/Aurora

* Executing Aurora by mean of Dosemu let me save modified files

* The folder has the following permissions:
Can view and modify content for "owner"
Can view content for "group" and "others"

* The executable has the following permissions:
Can read and write for "owner"
Can read for "group" and "others"

* The user is raul, the group is users

* In this situation I can eveything, working as root.




2) Third option I've copied Aurora/* to my /root/.dosemu/drives/d
At this address: /root/.dosemu/drives/d/Aurora


* The folder .dosemu has the following permissions:
Can view and modify content for "owner"
Can view content for "group" and "others"

* The user is root, the group is root

* The folders inside of .dosemu have the same permissions (and Aurora folder too, of course)

* The executable aurora.exe has the following permissions:
Can read and write for "owner"
Can read for "group" and "others"

* The user is root, the group is root (as stated above)

* I execute "dosemu" by a terminal (F4 in Konqueror, and from the shell I type in dosemu)

* Changed to z:\Aurora\

* Typed in aurora, and the program runs OK, opened a file, modified a few line, but when I've tried to save it, it is not possible,
does not work, appears a banner saying "Saving...", waiting a long time and nothing happens.

* My idea to copy this and other programs to .dosemu folder was to get a complete control over programs and use freedos and others tools, but it is not working.

*******************************************************************************************************************************

Could somebody help me to work it out anyway?

Thank you everybody

User avatar
timkb4cq
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 3491
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 4:05 pm

Re: xdosemu does not work as root....why?

#2 Postby timkb4cq » Tue Feb 22, 2011 4:21 pm

My best guess is that the problem is with the way /dev/hda2 is mounted.
A change to /etc/fstab might fix this.
If you would post contents of your /etc/fstab file (while hda2 is mounted), I might be able to tell more - but I suspect either the users switch is missing, or it's being mounted with the ro (read only) switch.
MSI 970A-G43 MB, AMD FX-6300 (six core), 16GB RAM, GeForce 730, Samsung 850 EVO 250GB SSD, Seagate Barracuda XT 3TB

User avatar
pastone
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 261
Joined: Mon Sep 15, 2008 10:04 am

Re: xdosemu does not work as root....why?

#3 Postby pastone » Thu Aug 04, 2011 11:59 am

I am not sure how far this addresses the question raised, but the wiki is wrong in saying that you can only run dosemu as root on recent versions of MEPIS.

I admit responsibility for writing that error in the wiki, and not remembering to correct it when a solution subsequently became known to me.

It is true that, to run dosemu as an ordinary user, one file must be patched.

Recently I discovered from the WPDOS site, www.columbia.edu/~em36/wpdos/linux.html ,
that the solution is to add the following line

vm.mmap_min_addr=0

at the end of the /etc/sysctl.conf file.

Then you should be able to run dosemu as an ordinary user.

Possibly you should reboot after patching the /etc/sysctl.conf file, before attempting to run dosemu as an ordinary user.

Best wishes,
Peter Stone

User avatar
Jerry3904
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 15561
Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2006 6:13 am

Re: xdosemu does not work as root....why?

#4 Postby Jerry3904 » Thu Aug 04, 2011 12:30 pm

So, are you planning to update the Wiki?
Production: 4.7.0-0.bpo.1-amd64, MX-15 RC1, AMD FX-4130 Quad-Core, GeForce GT 630/PCIe/SSE2, 8 GB, Kingston SSD 120 GB and WesternDigital 1TB
Testing: AAO 722: 3.16-0-4-686-pae. MX-15, AMD C-60 APU, 4 GB

User avatar
pastone
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 261
Joined: Mon Sep 15, 2008 10:04 am

Re: xdosemu does not work as root....why?

#5 Postby pastone » Thu Aug 04, 2011 2:53 pm

Yes.

User avatar
pastone
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 261
Joined: Mon Sep 15, 2008 10:04 am

Re: xdosemu does not work as root....why?

#6 Postby pastone » Thu Aug 04, 2011 3:03 pm

It seems that there is no reference to dosemu in the wiki.

My previous assertions (now known to be misleading) that dosemu must be run as root were in threads on the forum. Presumably anyone searching the forum will now find this thread.

User avatar
Jerry3904
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 15561
Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2006 6:13 am

Re: xdosemu does not work as root....why?

#7 Postby Jerry3904 » Thu Aug 04, 2011 3:18 pm

Silly boy, of course there is: http://www.mepis.org/docs/en/index.php?title=Dosemu

:wink:

BTW: As a matter of principle, we aim to move general material (i.e., not limited to a particular situation or configuration) from the Forum to the Wiki, where it can be collected, organized and maintained.
Production: 4.7.0-0.bpo.1-amd64, MX-15 RC1, AMD FX-4130 Quad-Core, GeForce GT 630/PCIe/SSE2, 8 GB, Kingston SSD 120 GB and WesternDigital 1TB
Testing: AAO 722: 3.16-0-4-686-pae. MX-15, AMD C-60 APU, 4 GB

User avatar
pastone
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 261
Joined: Mon Sep 15, 2008 10:04 am

Re: xdosemu does not work as root....why?

#8 Postby pastone » Thu Aug 04, 2011 4:51 pm

The wiki entry on DOSEMU has now been updated.

User avatar
Jerry3904
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 15561
Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2006 6:13 am

Re: xdosemu does not work as root....why?

#9 Postby Jerry3904 » Thu Aug 04, 2011 4:59 pm

What teamwork! Like the image?
Production: 4.7.0-0.bpo.1-amd64, MX-15 RC1, AMD FX-4130 Quad-Core, GeForce GT 630/PCIe/SSE2, 8 GB, Kingston SSD 120 GB and WesternDigital 1TB
Testing: AAO 722: 3.16-0-4-686-pae. MX-15, AMD C-60 APU, 4 GB


Return to “VMs/Emulators”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests