MEPIS Community Forum

A Linux operating system based on Debian Stable
View unanswered posts | View unsolved topics | View active topics |



Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 
xdosemu does not work as root....why? 
Author Message
Forum Novice
Forum  Novice

Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2011 2:29 pm
Posts: 1
Has thanked: 0 time
Have thanks: 0 time
Post # 263349
Post xdosemu does not work as root....why?
Few days a go I sent a message to somebody in this forum asking for an issue using xdosemu, but I have not got an answer yet.

So, I post it here now, hoping somebody could help me.

The following is the explanation about my problem:
*******************************************************************************************************************************

1) At this address: system:/media/hda2/dos/Aurora

* Executing Aurora by mean of Dosemu do not let me save modified files

* The folder has the following permissions:
Can view content for "owner", "group" and "others"

* The user is root, the group is users

* I'm working as root (acording to Mepis site is the only possibility by now to work with)

* I've tried to change permission for owner to: Can view and modify content, but it is not possible

* Trying to make it but now clicking the box "Only owner can rename and delete folder content"; I get a message "Access denied to
/mnt/hda2/dos/Aurora" (so, working as root do no let change anything).

2) As a second option I've copied Aurora/* to my home folder.

At this address: /home/raul/Aurora

* Executing Aurora by mean of Dosemu let me save modified files

* The folder has the following permissions:
Can view and modify content for "owner"
Can view content for "group" and "others"

* The executable has the following permissions:
Can read and write for "owner"
Can read for "group" and "others"

* The user is raul, the group is users

* In this situation I can eveything, working as root.




2) Third option I've copied Aurora/* to my /root/.dosemu/drives/d
At this address: /root/.dosemu/drives/d/Aurora


* The folder .dosemu has the following permissions:
Can view and modify content for "owner"
Can view content for "group" and "others"

* The user is root, the group is root

* The folders inside of .dosemu have the same permissions (and Aurora folder too, of course)

* The executable aurora.exe has the following permissions:
Can read and write for "owner"
Can read for "group" and "others"

* The user is root, the group is root (as stated above)

* I execute "dosemu" by a terminal (F4 in Konqueror, and from the shell I type in dosemu)

* Changed to z:\Aurora\

* Typed in aurora, and the program runs OK, opened a file, modified a few line, but when I've tried to save it, it is not possible,
does not work, appears a banner saying "Saving...", waiting a long time and nothing happens.

* My idea to copy this and other programs to .dosemu folder was to get a complete control over programs and use freedos and others tools, but it is not working.

*******************************************************************************************************************************

Could somebody help me to work it out anyway?

Thank you everybody


Tue Feb 22, 2011 12:30 pm
Profile
Forum Guide
Forum Guide
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 4:05 pm
Posts: 2821
Location: Pinellas Park, FL
Has thanked: 106 times
Have thanks: 1782 times
Post # 263376
Post Re: xdosemu does not work as root....why?
My best guess is that the problem is with the way /dev/hda2 is mounted.
A change to /etc/fstab might fix this.
If you would post contents of your /etc/fstab file (while hda2 is mounted), I might be able to tell more - but I suspect either the users switch is missing, or it's being mounted with the ro (read only) switch.

_________________
XFX Nforce 750 (built in GeForce 8300), Athlon X2 5000
Lenovo G550 , Intel T4400 , Intel Mobile 4 graphics


Tue Feb 22, 2011 4:21 pm
Profile
Forum Regular
Forum Regular

Joined: Mon Sep 15, 2008 10:04 am
Posts: 261
Location: England
Has thanked: 105 times
Have thanks: 22 times
Post # 280901
Post Re: xdosemu does not work as root....why?
I am not sure how far this addresses the question raised, but the wiki is wrong in saying that you can only run dosemu as root on recent versions of MEPIS.

I admit responsibility for writing that error in the wiki, and not remembering to correct it when a solution subsequently became known to me.

It is true that, to run dosemu as an ordinary user, one file must be patched.

Recently I discovered from the WPDOS site, www.columbia.edu/~em36/wpdos/linux.html ,
that the solution is to add the following line

vm.mmap_min_addr=0

at the end of the /etc/sysctl.conf file.

Then you should be able to run dosemu as an ordinary user.

Possibly you should reboot after patching the /etc/sysctl.conf file, before attempting to run dosemu as an ordinary user.

Best wishes,
Peter Stone


Thu Aug 04, 2011 11:59 am
Profile
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2006 6:13 am
Posts: 10239
Location: Geneva NY
Has thanked: 2967 times
Have thanks: 1904 times
Post # 280902
Post Re: xdosemu does not work as root....why?
So, are you planning to update the Wiki?

_________________
Production: 32 bit, 3.14-0.bpo.1-686-pae. MX-14.2, AMD FX-4130 Quad-Core, GeForce GT 630/PCIe/SSE2, 8 GB DDR3, / and /home on Kingston SSD 120 GB, data on WesternDigital 1TB, Dell SP2309W monitor.


Thu Aug 04, 2011 12:30 pm
Profile
Forum Regular
Forum Regular

Joined: Mon Sep 15, 2008 10:04 am
Posts: 261
Location: England
Has thanked: 105 times
Have thanks: 22 times
Post # 280918
Post Re: xdosemu does not work as root....why?
Yes.


Thu Aug 04, 2011 2:53 pm
Profile
Forum Regular
Forum Regular

Joined: Mon Sep 15, 2008 10:04 am
Posts: 261
Location: England
Has thanked: 105 times
Have thanks: 22 times
Post # 280919
Post Re: xdosemu does not work as root....why?
It seems that there is no reference to dosemu in the wiki.

My previous assertions (now known to be misleading) that dosemu must be run as root were in threads on the forum. Presumably anyone searching the forum will now find this thread.


Thu Aug 04, 2011 3:03 pm
Profile
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2006 6:13 am
Posts: 10239
Location: Geneva NY
Has thanked: 2967 times
Have thanks: 1904 times
Post # 280920
Post Re: xdosemu does not work as root....why?
Silly boy, of course there is: http://www.mepis.org/docs/en/index.php?title=Dosemu

:wink:

BTW: As a matter of principle, we aim to move general material (i.e., not limited to a particular situation or configuration) from the Forum to the Wiki, where it can be collected, organized and maintained.

_________________
Production: 32 bit, 3.14-0.bpo.1-686-pae. MX-14.2, AMD FX-4130 Quad-Core, GeForce GT 630/PCIe/SSE2, 8 GB DDR3, / and /home on Kingston SSD 120 GB, data on WesternDigital 1TB, Dell SP2309W monitor.


Thu Aug 04, 2011 3:18 pm
Profile
Forum Regular
Forum Regular

Joined: Mon Sep 15, 2008 10:04 am
Posts: 261
Location: England
Has thanked: 105 times
Have thanks: 22 times
Post # 280940
Post Re: xdosemu does not work as root....why?
The wiki entry on DOSEMU has now been updated.


Thu Aug 04, 2011 4:51 pm

pastone thanked by: Jerry3904
Profile
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2006 6:13 am
Posts: 10239
Location: Geneva NY
Has thanked: 2967 times
Have thanks: 1904 times
Post # 280942
Post Re: xdosemu does not work as root....why?
What teamwork! Like the image?

_________________
Production: 32 bit, 3.14-0.bpo.1-686-pae. MX-14.2, AMD FX-4130 Quad-Core, GeForce GT 630/PCIe/SSE2, 8 GB DDR3, / and /home on Kingston SSD 120 GB, data on WesternDigital 1TB, Dell SP2309W monitor.


Thu Aug 04, 2011 4:59 pm
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 9 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

Protected by Anti-Spam ACP Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by STSoftware for PTF.