New Virtualbox on Mepis 8.5 problem - Read from Floppy

Here you can post threads/topics about programs like vmware, parallels, qemu, virtualbox, dosbox and all the other virtual machines/emulators that exist. This includes how to setup, suggestions on what works well with MEPIS and what doesn't, etc.
Message
Author
Toastrack
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 178
Joined: Thu Jan 13, 2011 1:09 pm

New Virtualbox on Mepis 8.5 problem - Read from Floppy

#1 Postby Toastrack » Wed Dec 07, 2011 7:20 am

I've now successfully (I hope) got Virtualbox installed, but it appears not to want to read from a floppy-disc source - on either my WinXP machine or on my Mepis machine. I wish to install an ancient OS, Win 3.11, which comes on two floppies.

One idea I had is to transfer the contents of the two floppies to a cdrom, but if I do this then how do I combine the two discs to one cd?

:frown:

User avatar
Gaer Boy
Forum Guide
Forum Guide
Posts: 1954
Age: 80
Joined: Sat Jun 06, 2009 6:06 am

Re: New Virtualbox on Mepis 8.5 problem - Read from Floppy

#2 Postby Gaer Boy » Wed Dec 07, 2011 8:09 am

I don't have a floppy drive in my current machines, but I use an external USB floppy. I have no trouble reading and writing floppies with this in Mepis and in my VBox WinXP install. In VBox I had to enable the appropriate USB filter.

Note that it's USB-powered and the device doesn't switch on and show up until a floppy is inserted, and ejecting the floppy removes the device. I don't lnow if this would be a problem with a 2-disk install.

I haven't tried an OS install from the external floppy, but program installs in Virtual XP are no problem.

Phil

AsRock FM2A88X-ITX+, A8-6500, 8GB, 120GB Samsung SSD (GPT), 1TB HDD (MBR), MX-15, MX-14.4
Acer Aspire One 150, Atom N270, 120GB HDD, MX-14.3

User avatar
Jerry3904
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 14944
Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2006 6:13 am

Re: New Virtualbox on Mepis 8.5 problem - Read from Floppy

#3 Postby Jerry3904 » Wed Dec 07, 2011 8:32 am

Are you first enabling the drive under the Device menu?
Production: 4.2.0-0.bpo.1-amd64, MX-15 RC1, AMD FX-4130 Quad-Core, GeForce GT 630/PCIe/SSE2, 8 GB, Kingston SSD 120 GB and WesternDigital 1TB
Testing: AAO 722: 3.16-0-4-686-pae. MX-15, AMD C-60 APU, 4 GB

User avatar
GoManutd
Forum Guide
Forum Guide
Posts: 2952
Joined: Mon Jun 30, 2008 8:06 pm

Re: New Virtualbox on Mepis 8.5 problem - Read from Floppy

#4 Postby GoManutd » Wed Dec 07, 2011 8:49 am

read the vbox wiki for USB related stuff

User avatar
Gaer Boy
Forum Guide
Forum Guide
Posts: 1954
Age: 80
Joined: Sat Jun 06, 2009 6:06 am

Re: New Virtualbox on Mepis 8.5 problem - Read from Floppy

#5 Postby Gaer Boy » Wed Dec 07, 2011 9:56 am

Jerry - I'm not sure what you mean by the Device menu. In Mepis, there's no problem - once a floppy is inserted, the drive switches on and appears unmounted in Dolphin. It auto mounts fine. In VBox, the first time I used it I needed to add the USB filter, and subsequently it appears in Win Explorer when a floppy is inserted.

Plugging in the drive without a floppy inserted has no effect in Mepis, Virtual XP or a full WinXP installation. That's because it's not powered - the power on is by a physical switch in the drive when a floppy is inserted. This is why I wondered if the 'switch off - switch on' might affect an old 2-disc installation routine - the install program might be offended by the disappearance of the device, which can't be avoided.

The OP said that VB wouldn't read from a floppy. I'm suggesting a USB floppy drive as an alternative - I know this works.

Phil

AsRock FM2A88X-ITX+, A8-6500, 8GB, 120GB Samsung SSD (GPT), 1TB HDD (MBR), MX-15, MX-14.4
Acer Aspire One 150, Atom N270, 120GB HDD, MX-14.3

User avatar
joany
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 6107
Joined: Mon Feb 12, 2007 1:45 pm

Re: New Virtualbox on Mepis 8.5 problem - Read from Floppy

#6 Postby joany » Wed Dec 07, 2011 9:59 am

Toastrack wrote:One idea I had is to transfer the contents of the two floppies to a cdrom, but if I do this then how do I combine the two discs to one cd?

Here are instructions for doing this: http://www.bootdisk.com/nero.htm
MX-14; 3.12-0.bpo.1-686-pae kernel using 4GB RAM
2.4GHz AMD Athlon 4600+
NVidia GeForce 6150 LE; 304.121 Display Driver
You didn't slow down because you're old; you're old because you slowed down.

User avatar
Jerry3904
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 14944
Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2006 6:13 am

Re: New Virtualbox on Mepis 8.5 problem - Read from Floppy

#7 Postby Jerry3904 » Wed Dec 07, 2011 10:12 am

Jerry - I'm not sure what you mean by the Device menu.
At the bottom center of a running VM a pop-up bar shows when the cursor is moved there, one of whose entries is Device. Its sub-menu allows the device of interest to be enabled--here, one would select Floppy Devices and identify it for mounting.

There may be a better method that joany or somebody else knows about, but this is how I do it--for a handheld, for instance.
Production: 4.2.0-0.bpo.1-amd64, MX-15 RC1, AMD FX-4130 Quad-Core, GeForce GT 630/PCIe/SSE2, 8 GB, Kingston SSD 120 GB and WesternDigital 1TB
Testing: AAO 722: 3.16-0-4-686-pae. MX-15, AMD C-60 APU, 4 GB

User avatar
Gaer Boy
Forum Guide
Forum Guide
Posts: 1954
Age: 80
Joined: Sat Jun 06, 2009 6:06 am

Re: New Virtualbox on Mepis 8.5 problem - Read from Floppy

#8 Postby Gaer Boy » Wed Dec 07, 2011 1:12 pm

Jerry3904 wrote:
Jerry - I'm not sure what you mean by the Device menu.
At the bottom center of a running VM a pop-up bar shows when the cursor is moved there, one of whose entries is Device. Its sub-menu allows the device of interest to be enabled--here, one would select Floppy Devices and identify it for mounting.


OK, Jerry, I see what you're saying. With the USB floppy drive, I've not found it necessary to use this to mount it in a VM. Once the USB filter for the drive is enabled, it's mounted. This may not be true for a linux guest - I haven't tried that - but it's certainly true for Windows guests and for a new machine before an OS is installed.

Phil

AsRock FM2A88X-ITX+, A8-6500, 8GB, 120GB Samsung SSD (GPT), 1TB HDD (MBR), MX-15, MX-14.4
Acer Aspire One 150, Atom N270, 120GB HDD, MX-14.3

User avatar
Jerry3904
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 14944
Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2006 6:13 am

Re: New Virtualbox on Mepis 8.5 problem - Read from Floppy

#9 Postby Jerry3904 » Wed Dec 07, 2011 1:17 pm

I've never tried it with a floppy, just with devices such as data collectors where the form software is only available in Windows (I use W2K).
Production: 4.2.0-0.bpo.1-amd64, MX-15 RC1, AMD FX-4130 Quad-Core, GeForce GT 630/PCIe/SSE2, 8 GB, Kingston SSD 120 GB and WesternDigital 1TB
Testing: AAO 722: 3.16-0-4-686-pae. MX-15, AMD C-60 APU, 4 GB

User avatar
chippy52
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 371
Joined: Wed Jul 29, 2009 6:05 pm

Re: New Virtualbox on Mepis 8.5 problem - Read from Floppy

#10 Postby chippy52 » Wed Dec 07, 2011 2:04 pm

The dumb question first. Have you set the boot order in Vbox to floppy?
Mepis 11 64bit Linux 3.2.0-0.bpo.4-amd64, KDE 4.5.1
Intel i5 2400, Asus P8H67-M-EVO, G-Skill Ripjaws 2x4GB DDR3-1333, nVidia GeForce GT430, Seagate 500GB sata3 HDD


Return to “VMs/Emulators”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 1 guest