New Flash player "square" 64 bit preview

For help or questions about 64-bit version of MEPIS, this is the forum to use.
Message
Author
User avatar
chatan
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 798
Joined: Fri Oct 17, 2008 8:19 pm

#11 Postby chatan » Wed Sep 29, 2010 7:18 am

New square version is out (Preview 2)
At the flash test page it reports as "10,2,161,23 installed"
Cheers

User avatar
Stevo
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 11519
Age: 58
Joined: Fri Dec 15, 2006 8:07 pm

#12 Postby Stevo » Thu Sep 30, 2010 3:57 pm

The stock 64-bit flashplugin-nonfree installer now gets the new Square version, so this command also works to update it:

su -c 'update-flashplugin-nonfree --install'

So that's working again--and is the recommended method again for both 32 and 64 bit MEPIS 8.5.
The optimist proclaims that we live in the best of all possible worlds, and the pessimist fears this is true.

James Branch Cabell

User avatar
richb
Administrator
Posts: 13125
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 2:17 pm

#13 Postby richb » Thu Sep 30, 2010 5:11 pm

Stevo wrote:The stock 64-bit flashplugin-nonfree installer now gets the new Square version, so this command also works to update it:

su -c 'update-flashplugin-nonfree --install'

So that's working again--and is the recommended method again for both 32 and 64 bit MEPIS 8.5.


Is something missing here.

Code: Select all

[rwb@acer ~]$ su -c 'update-flashplugin-nonfree --install'
Password:
bash: update-flashplugin-nonfree: command not found
Forum Rules
Guide - How to Ask for Help

Rich

Laptop: Acer V5-572G: Intel i5, 12 GIG mem, Intel graphics, SanDisk SSD, 256GB
Virtualbox: Win 7
Desktop: MX-15- 64, AMD A8 7600 FM2+ CPU R7 Graphics, fglrx driver, 16 GIG Mem. Samsung EVO SSD 250 GB

User avatar
kmathern
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 9178
Age: 58
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 2:26 pm

#14 Postby kmathern » Thu Sep 30, 2010 5:16 pm

Do you have the flashplugin-nonfree package installed?

The update-flashplugin-nonfree command/script is provided by that package.

User avatar
richb
Administrator
Posts: 13125
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 2:17 pm

#15 Postby richb » Thu Sep 30, 2010 5:17 pm

kmathern wrote:Do you have the flashplugin-nonfree package installed?

The update-flashplugin-nonfree command/script is provided by that package.


:hitoverhead: I did remove it. nevermind.
Forum Rules
Guide - How to Ask for Help

Rich

Laptop: Acer V5-572G: Intel i5, 12 GIG mem, Intel graphics, SanDisk SSD, 256GB
Virtualbox: Win 7
Desktop: MX-15- 64, AMD A8 7600 FM2+ CPU R7 Graphics, fglrx driver, 16 GIG Mem. Samsung EVO SSD 250 GB

User avatar
Adrian
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 6384
Age: 41
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 1:42 am

#16 Postby Adrian » Thu Sep 30, 2010 6:23 pm

Stevo wrote:The stock 64-bit flashplugin-nonfree installer now gets the new Square version, so this command also works to update it:

su -c 'update-flashplugin-nonfree --install'

So that's working again--and is the recommended method again for both 32 and 64 bit MEPIS 8.5.


Hmm, I tried this in Sid and I still got 10,2,161,22

User avatar
richb
Administrator
Posts: 13125
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 2:17 pm

#17 Postby richb » Thu Sep 30, 2010 6:45 pm

Adrian wrote:Hmm, I tried this in Sid and I still got 10,2,161,22


Me too. Isn't that the latest preview version.
Forum Rules
Guide - How to Ask for Help

Rich

Laptop: Acer V5-572G: Intel i5, 12 GIG mem, Intel graphics, SanDisk SSD, 256GB
Virtualbox: Win 7
Desktop: MX-15- 64, AMD A8 7600 FM2+ CPU R7 Graphics, fglrx driver, 16 GIG Mem. Samsung EVO SSD 250 GB

User avatar
Adrian
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 6384
Age: 41
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 1:42 am

#18 Postby Adrian » Thu Sep 30, 2010 7:42 pm

Maybe but chatan said:
At the flash test page it reports as "10,2,161,23 installed"

User avatar
chatan
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 798
Joined: Fri Oct 17, 2008 8:19 pm

#19 Postby chatan » Thu Sep 30, 2010 11:34 pm

Adrian wrote:Maybe but chatan said:

At the flash test page it reports as "10,2,161,23 installed"


Yep, I just double checked and that is what it is showing I have.

I installed directly from adobe, not sid.
Cheers

User avatar
Stevo
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 11519
Age: 58
Joined: Fri Dec 15, 2006 8:07 pm

#20 Postby Stevo » Fri Oct 01, 2010 3:00 pm

On the Debian forums, it was reported that the new release used much less CPU for a given video. It might now be using hardware acceleration for some video drivers; does anyone else see this?
The optimist proclaims that we live in the best of all possible worlds, and the pessimist fears this is true.

James Branch Cabell


Return to “64-bit Regulars”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest