8Gig flash drive not seen on 64 bit 8.0.15

For help or questions about 64-bit version of MEPIS, this is the forum to use.
Message
Author
User avatar
fatjak
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 479
Joined: Fri Jul 28, 2006 8:19 pm

8Gig flash drive not seen on 64 bit 8.0.15

#1 Postby fatjak » Wed Sep 29, 2010 2:18 pm

Interesting little rub. Adata 8gb flash drive not seen on 64 bit machine but works fine on 32bit machine, seen instantly & accessible. Thought at first had been had again.

Wondering before i get too excited if anyone else has seen this? Possibly need an updated package? By the way 32bit rig is running 2.6.27 stock kernel & 64bit is running 2.6.32 Mepis kernel. Any ideas?

User avatar
lucky9
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 12373
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 5:54 am

#2 Postby lucky9 » Wed Sep 29, 2010 4:05 pm

Install the later kernel on the 32bit machine. Anything besides Mepis 32 installed?
Yes, even I am dishonest. Not in many ways, but in some. Forty-one, I think it is.
--Mark Twain

User avatar
fatjak
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 479
Joined: Fri Jul 28, 2006 8:19 pm

#3 Postby fatjak » Wed Sep 29, 2010 9:50 pm

lucky9 wrote:Install the later kernel on the 32bit machine. Anything besides Mepis 32 installed?


Yeah got umpteen partitions but not a biggie i have rigs coming out of the walls. My main rig right now is the 64 bit one with the problem, but we gotta start somewhere so may as well test 2.6.32 on that one & see what happens.

User avatar
fatjak
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 479
Joined: Fri Jul 28, 2006 8:19 pm

#4 Postby fatjak » Wed Sep 29, 2010 11:31 pm

Well its not the kernel, 2.6.32 Mepis kernel works fine on this 32 bit rig. Some oddity in the 64 bit rig i assume.

User avatar
m_pav
Forum Guide
Forum Guide
Posts: 2554
Age: 49
Joined: Sun Aug 06, 2006 3:02 pm

#5 Postby m_pav » Thu Sep 30, 2010 4:08 am

It's the Adata proprietary rubbish on the drive. I have seen this many times, flash drive manufacturers litter their drives with useless windows only preloaders.

If you insert the drive into Mepis, open gparted, select the device, click on Device > Create Partition table, then create a new fat32 partition, I will guarantee full and proper non-interrupted easy access every time without fail on every single system you plug it in to.

I wish these drive manufacturers would stop ruining their drives with useless preloaders for entry level operating systems, aka windows. Thankfully, it only takes 15 seconds to repair the drives.

Mike P
Mike P

Regd Linux User #472293
(Mine)Lenovo T550, i7-5600U, 16GB, 128GB SSD + 1.0TB HDD, MX15 64-bit
(Wifes) Asus M4A88TD-M, AMD Phenom II x4 955 CPU, nVidia GF610, 6Gb, 500GB+320GB, MX14 + KDE
(Kids) Intel NUC, J1900, 4GB, 64GB SSD, MX14 + KDE

User avatar
fatjak
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 479
Joined: Fri Jul 28, 2006 8:19 pm

#6 Postby fatjak » Thu Sep 30, 2010 9:13 pm

m_pav wrote:It's the Adata proprietary rubbish on the drive. I have seen this many times, flash drive manufacturers litter their drives with useless windows only preloaders.

If you insert the drive into Mepis, open gparted, select the device, click on Device > Create Partition table, then create a new fat32 partition, I will guarantee full and proper non-interrupted easy access every time without fail on every single system you plug it in to.

I wish these drive manufacturers would stop ruining their drives with useless preloaders for entry level operating systems, aka windows. Thankfully, it only takes 15 seconds to repair the drives.

Mike P


Tried it , it sounded like the fix & i appreciate the heads up but the fix was to plug the sucker into a usb 2.0 compliant socket through an extension cable to back of rig. Two front usb ports are 1.10 according to info center, scanner & printer work fine on them. Illatates me no end an Amd socket 2-3 board with usb 1.1 ports! I was thinking them pups dead by now, guess i will have to quit thinking apparently not too well equipped for it.

User avatar
m_pav
Forum Guide
Forum Guide
Posts: 2554
Age: 49
Joined: Sun Aug 06, 2006 3:02 pm

#7 Postby m_pav » Fri Oct 01, 2010 5:00 am

Earlier model NEC controller by any chance? Early model NEC USB controllers sucked like a bunch of hoovers on steroids, if that were possible.

Having been "there" before, I now choose to use only components from tier 1 manufacturers like Asus or Gigabyte (in that order) to build my systems, this has alleviated so many issues and RMA's are nearly non-existent.

Mike P
Mike P

Regd Linux User #472293
(Mine)Lenovo T550, i7-5600U, 16GB, 128GB SSD + 1.0TB HDD, MX15 64-bit
(Wifes) Asus M4A88TD-M, AMD Phenom II x4 955 CPU, nVidia GF610, 6Gb, 500GB+320GB, MX14 + KDE
(Kids) Intel NUC, J1900, 4GB, 64GB SSD, MX14 + KDE

User avatar
lucky9
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 12373
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 5:54 am

#8 Postby lucky9 » Fri Oct 01, 2010 12:06 pm

I'd second that m_pav! I generally reverse that to GigaByte and ASUS but either is a guarantee of proper engineering so there are no issues.
Yes, even I am dishonest. Not in many ways, but in some. Forty-one, I think it is.
--Mark Twain

User avatar
fatjak
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 479
Joined: Fri Jul 28, 2006 8:19 pm

Roflmao

#9 Postby fatjak » Sat Oct 02, 2010 2:57 am

m_pav wrote:Earlier model NEC controller by any chance? Early model NEC USB controllers sucked like a bunch of hoovers on steroids, if that were possible.

Having been "there" before, I now choose to use only components from tier 1 manufacturers like Asus or Gigabyte (in that order) to build my systems, this has alleviated so many issues and RMA's are nearly non-existent.

Mike P


No the controller is an AMD ATI SB600 southbridge chip with a 790 northbridge on a MSI k9a2cff board , according to the manual & it doesn't mention a thing about 1.1 usb ports just 2.0. (7 in fact) A little underhandedness i presume, or linux drivers.....???

Main thing is i now know what the possible cause was....


Return to “64-bit Regulars”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest