MEPIS Community Forum

A Linux operating system based on Debian Stable
View unanswered posts | View unsolved topics | View active topics |



Reply to topic  [ 19 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
My KDE4 Cube 
Author Message
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
User avatar

Joined: Sun Mar 02, 2008 11:50 am
Posts: 276
Location: Windsor, Ontario Canada
Has thanked: 39 times
Have thanks: 62 times
Post # 207808
Post My KDE4 Cube
http://mepis.gabston-howell.org/art/details.php?image_id=487


Wed Dec 23, 2009 11:41 pm
Profile
Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 2:17 pm
Posts: 10629
Location: Rochester NY
Has thanked: 820 times
Have thanks: 1414 times
Post # 207809
Post 
Nice!

_________________
Forum Rules
Guide - How to Ask for Help
Link to Wiki
Rich

Acer Laptop V5-572G: Intel i5, 12 GIG mem, nVidia GT720M/Intel integrated graphics
Mx-14 Symbiosis
Kubuntu 13.10, KDE 4.11.2


Wed Dec 23, 2009 11:55 pm
Profile
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 5:54 am
Posts: 10896
Location: Tulsa, Oklahoma U.S.A.
Has thanked: 3650 times
Have thanks: 885 times
Post # 207812
Post 
:clap:

_________________
Yes, even I am dishonest. Not in many ways, but in some. Forty-one, I think it is.
--Mark Twain


Thu Dec 24, 2009 12:17 am
Profile
Forum Guide
Forum Guide
User avatar

Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2007 4:54 pm
Posts: 1210
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Has thanked: 149 times
Have thanks: 71 times
Post # 207829
Post 
Looking good... Thanks for sharing...

JR


Thu Dec 24, 2009 2:29 am
Profile
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 9:46 am
Posts: 220
Location: Central Florida
Has thanked: 9 times
Have thanks: 4 times
Post # 207845
Post 
Wow! I'm so "behind my times", as Bob Cratchit would say. Is this cube what is capable out of the box with KDE 4? No Beryl, Compiz? That's pretty good stuff.

_________________
Genesis 1:1, ESV
In the beginning, God created the heavens and the earth.

From Preacherpen's Desk
Articles on LXer:
Linux - Is It For You The ESV and my iPod Classic Simply Mepis and My Office
Simply Mepis 8 is Getting BetterMepis 8 Replaces 7 - A Good PlanSimply Mepis 8 is Finally Here


Thu Dec 24, 2009 7:45 am
Profile WWW
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2006 6:13 am
Posts: 10069
Location: Geneva NY
Has thanked: 2876 times
Have thanks: 1863 times
Post # 207846
Post 
I'm impressed! I may have to try this finally...

_________________
Production: 32 bit, 3.14-0.bpo.1-686-pae. MX-14.2, AMD FX-4130 Quad-Core, GeForce GT 630/PCIe/SSE2, 8 GB DDR3, / and /home on Kingston SSD 120 GB, data on WesternDigital 1TB, Dell SP2309W monitor.


Thu Dec 24, 2009 7:53 am
Profile
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 26, 2007 8:13 pm
Posts: 292
Location: Deltona, FL
Has thanked: 29 times
Have thanks: 13 times
Post # 207850
Post 
How are you taking snapshots with the desktop cube? I try the print screen button and it doesn't work.

_________________
Nats007 ~ Linux User #458930
Desktop ~ sda1: SimplyMEPIS 11 64 BIT rel | AMD Athlon X2 4200+ 2.2GHz | 3GB DDR2-667 | WD 500 GB SATA | Biostar MCP6PB
Netbook ~ sda1: Windows XP SP3/sda2: antiX M8.5 KDE 4.6.3 | Asus Eee PC 1005HA | 2 GB DDR2 6400 | AGPtek 7200 mAh


Thu Dec 24, 2009 9:26 am
Profile
Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 2:17 pm
Posts: 10629
Location: Rochester NY
Has thanked: 820 times
Have thanks: 1414 times
Post # 207852
Post 
Pastor Ron wrote:
Wow! I'm so "behind my times", as Bob Cratchit would say. Is this cube what is capable out of the box with KDE 4? No Beryl, Compiz? That's pretty good stuff.


Most if not all Compiz features are native to KDE4. All that is needed is a graphics card with direct rendering, GLX. If Compiz works on your box, KDE 4 compositing will work.

_________________
Forum Rules
Guide - How to Ask for Help
Link to Wiki
Rich

Acer Laptop V5-572G: Intel i5, 12 GIG mem, nVidia GT720M/Intel integrated graphics
Mx-14 Symbiosis
Kubuntu 13.10, KDE 4.11.2


Thu Dec 24, 2009 10:00 am
Profile
Forum Guide
Forum Guide
User avatar

Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2007 5:49 pm
Posts: 2658
Location: Doncaster UK
Has thanked: 110 times
Have thanks: 733 times
Post # 207857
Post 
nats007 wrote:
How are you taking snapshots with the desktop cube? I try the print screen button and it doesn't work.


Kmenu > Graphics > KSnapshot use the delay to capture the cube.

System Settings > Input Actions
Check boxes for Preset Actions and PrintScreen

_________________
*Never be afraid to try something new. Remember that a lone amateur built the Ark. A large group of professionals built the Titanic(Windoze)*

Kubuntu KDE 4.11.00 / KDE 4.11.60 / Debian Wheezy KDE 4.10.4 / Plasma Active 3 Tablet


Thu Dec 24, 2009 10:24 am
Profile
Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 2:17 pm
Posts: 10629
Location: Rochester NY
Has thanked: 820 times
Have thanks: 1414 times
Post # 207859
Post 
Here is mine

Image

_________________
Forum Rules
Guide - How to Ask for Help
Link to Wiki
Rich

Acer Laptop V5-572G: Intel i5, 12 GIG mem, nVidia GT720M/Intel integrated graphics
Mx-14 Symbiosis
Kubuntu 13.10, KDE 4.11.2


Thu Dec 24, 2009 10:39 am
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 19 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

Protected by Anti-Spam ACP Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by STSoftware for PTF.