Grub2

Here is where all questions and discussions about KDE should go.
Message
Author
User avatar
pcallahan80
Forum Guide
Forum Guide
Posts: 1555
Age: 67
Joined: Sun Mar 18, 2007 6:34 pm

Re: Grub2

#21 Postby pcallahan80 » Fri Dec 23, 2011 2:53 pm


BTW...the above deb and instructions worked fine on 64-bit.

Thanks for doing this, Danum.

-Paul C.

Daily Driver: MSI 890FXA-GD70 | AMD Phenom II X6 1055T | GeForce GTX 750 Ti | 12G RAM
Test: Dell Inspiron 20 model 3043 | Quad core Intel Pentium N3530| Intel Atom Z36xxx/Z37xxx Graphics | 4G RAM

User avatar
goblue62
Forum Novice
Forum  Novice
Posts: 29
Joined: Sun May 29, 2011 2:10 pm

Re: Grub2

#22 Postby goblue62 » Fri Dec 23, 2011 5:07 pm

Danum has provided the how, can someone provide the why? Menu.lst is straightforward and easy to edit; grub.cfg is tortuous and darn near impossible.

User avatar
JBoman
Forum Guide
Forum Guide
Posts: 1459
Age: 58
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 4:30 pm

Re: Grub2

#23 Postby JBoman » Fri Dec 23, 2011 5:33 pm

goblue62 wrote:Danum has provided the how, can someone provide the why? Menu.lst is straightforward and easy to edit; grub.cfg is tortuous and darn near impossible.


Well, thats the cool thing about the editor.... it takes the pain out of editing grub2. :popcorn:
http://patentabsurdity.com/
AMD 64x2 2.6GHz 4GB ram M-11.9.92 kernel 3.10-3-amd64 kde 4.11.5 mixed/unstable
"beware a frequent flirt with potential disaster"

User avatar
Danum
Forum Guide
Forum Guide
Posts: 2687
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2007 5:49 pm

Re: Grub2

#24 Postby Danum » Fri Dec 23, 2011 6:55 pm

goblue62 wrote:Danum has provided the how, can someone provide the why? Menu.lst is straightforward and easy to edit; grub.cfg is tortuous and darn near impossible.

The answer to your first question, because Mepis 11.5 will use Grub2 the same as it will use UUID , if you do not like it contact the developer, all I do is try to educate people in the easy ways of doing things.
and anything is impossible if you have no desire to learn
Desktop.
Zalman Z11 Plus ATX PC Tower, AMD FX 8350 Black Edition Vishera, 8 Core 4.4 GHz, Kingston HyperX FURY Red 16GB, Nvidia GT740 Graphics, Pioneer BDR-209EBK Writer, 2 x Seagate 1TB SSHD SATA Hybrid Hard Drives. ASUS VS278Q 27 inch HD Monitor

User avatar
anticapitalista
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 4266
Age: 51
Joined: Sat Jul 15, 2006 10:40 am

Re: Grub2

#25 Postby anticapitalista » Fri Dec 23, 2011 7:03 pm

Danum, does linux-base do enough to create correct and 100% Debian compliant fstab? linux-base is actually included in MEPIS11.
(dpkg-reconfigure linux-base)
anticapitalista
Reg. linux user #395339.

Philosophers have interpreted the world in many ways; the point is to change it.

antiX-15 "Killah P!" - lean and mean.
http://antix.mepis.org

User avatar
goblue62
Forum Novice
Forum  Novice
Posts: 29
Joined: Sun May 29, 2011 2:10 pm

Re: Grub2

#26 Postby goblue62 » Fri Dec 23, 2011 7:22 pm

I apologize because my question was misconstrued -- I have few problems with grub2, I use it in other distros. The difficulty arises when you have plug-in distros (external satas) and you have to figure out how to edit grub.cfg. I assume that when M11.5 is installed, grub2 will be installed as well. My question should have been, "Why convert to grub2 now, when grub legacy works perfectly well in M11?" Now when I have an MBR problem, it can be simply fixed with the Repair MBR function. If I changed to grub2, I anticipate that that capability would be lost. When's the scheduled release of M11.5?

User avatar
Frank_v7
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 394
Age: 69
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 11:55 am

Re: Grub2

#27 Postby Frank_v7 » Fri Dec 23, 2011 7:45 pm

Startup-manager will let you change the boot delay and do a few other simple tweaks in Grub2. But I can't wait for a full function GUI Grub2 editor :yay:

User avatar
Danum
Forum Guide
Forum Guide
Posts: 2687
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2007 5:49 pm

Re: Grub2

#28 Postby Danum » Sat Dec 24, 2011 3:27 pm

anticapitalista wrote:Danum, does linux-base do enough to create correct and 100% Debian compliant fstab? linux-base is actually included in MEPIS11.
(dpkg-reconfigure linux-base)

The reason I did not mention dpkg-reconfigure linux-base is although it will give you persistent naming, you could end up using udf instead of UUID, this seems to be down as to your computer, in a vbox, install it is correct fstab shows UUID, and with Mepis installed on a Toshiba laptop, it shows udf in fstab
Desktop.
Zalman Z11 Plus ATX PC Tower, AMD FX 8350 Black Edition Vishera, 8 Core 4.4 GHz, Kingston HyperX FURY Red 16GB, Nvidia GT740 Graphics, Pioneer BDR-209EBK Writer, 2 x Seagate 1TB SSHD SATA Hybrid Hard Drives. ASUS VS278Q 27 inch HD Monitor

User avatar
Danum
Forum Guide
Forum Guide
Posts: 2687
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2007 5:49 pm

Re: Grub2

#29 Postby Danum » Sat Dec 24, 2011 3:58 pm

goblue62 wrote:I apologize because my question was misconstrued -- I have few problems with grub2, I use it in other distros. The difficulty arises when you have plug-in distros (external satas) and you have to figure out how to edit grub.cfg. I assume that when M11.5 is installed, grub2 will be installed as well. My question should have been, "Why convert to grub2 now, when grub legacy works perfectly well in M11?" Now when I have an MBR problem, it can be simply fixed with the Repair MBR function. If I changed to grub2, I anticipate that that capability would be lost. When's the scheduled release of M11.5?

Right, most of the problem you are having with Grub2 are, a lack of documentation for Grub2, in particular debian Grub2, even the Debian wiki is out of date. plus Debian Grub2 is different in some ways to say Kubuntu Grub2. an example of this is in the boot editor I posted, it is made for Kubuntu not Debian so if this were to be used by default in Mepis, it would need rebuilding so if at anytime Grub2 was updated you would keep your installed Grub2 background, and not go back to the debian default
Why convert to Grub2, Debian now defaults to using Grub2 along with UUID, if you install certain debs that is what they expect to find, because if they find grub-legacy there is no way you will boot, without doing some hacking,
A good example is installing dropbox on a legacy system, it expects the Debian default and because it cannot find it rewrites fstab, which means you as a user have to edit it to be able to boot.
Desktop.
Zalman Z11 Plus ATX PC Tower, AMD FX 8350 Black Edition Vishera, 8 Core 4.4 GHz, Kingston HyperX FURY Red 16GB, Nvidia GT740 Graphics, Pioneer BDR-209EBK Writer, 2 x Seagate 1TB SSHD SATA Hybrid Hard Drives. ASUS VS278Q 27 inch HD Monitor

User avatar
Gaer Boy
Forum Guide
Forum Guide
Posts: 1954
Age: 80
Joined: Sat Jun 06, 2009 6:06 am

Re: Grub2

#30 Postby Gaer Boy » Sat Dec 24, 2011 4:33 pm

Danum wrote:A good example is installing dropbox on a legacy system, it expects the Debian default and because it cannot find it rewrites fstab, which means you as a user have to edit it to be able to boot.

Thanks for that, Danum - it's the first time I've seen an explanation of why Dropbox rewrites fstab. Now all I need to know is why the rewriting is not done if I opt not to us extended attributes.

Phil

AsRock FM2A88X-ITX+, A8-6500, 8GB, 120GB Samsung SSD (GPT), 1TB HDD (MBR), MX-15, MX-14.4
Acer Aspire One 150, Atom N270, 120GB HDD, MX-14.3


Return to “KDE”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest