Max Clients Reached

Here is where all questions and discussions about KDE should go.
Message
Author
User avatar
smilliken
Forum Guide
Forum Guide
Posts: 2020
Age: 57
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 11:47 pm

Max Clients Reached

#1 Postby smilliken » Wed Apr 18, 2012 2:35 pm

I'm getting the following error when trying to open programs in Konsole

Code: Select all

Maximum number of clients reachedkeepassx: cannot connect to X server :0.0


This usually seems to happen when Thunderbird and Firefox are open at the same time. I've seen this when trying to open Libre Office and Dolphin as well.

I thought it might have been the older versions of TB and FF, but have upgrade to the newest and all was working fine until today.

Any help much appreciated. I'm running M11 upgrade to the CR KDE 4.6.5.
There is no "Ctrl+Z" in life!
Acer 7551G MX-15
Dell 1525, MX15 XFCE4 & Win 10
HP DV4-1118 Mepis 12 4.14 & Win 10
HP CP1215/Brother DCP-7065DN
Linux User# 4523410

User avatar
GoManutd
Forum Guide
Forum Guide
Posts: 2952
Joined: Mon Jun 30, 2008 8:06 pm

Re: Max Clients Reached

#2 Postby GoManutd » Wed Apr 18, 2012 2:46 pm

take a look at http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1410022

i'll venture a guess that you're using lastpass or some other password manager? a couple of google hits that i checked show it's an addon issue with FF and/or chrome

User avatar
smilliken
Forum Guide
Forum Guide
Posts: 2020
Age: 57
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 11:47 pm

Re: Max Clients Reached

#3 Postby smilliken » Wed Apr 18, 2012 7:54 pm

No lastpass. I do have xmarks (free version) installed. Also, no Chrome installed on the computer. And no minimizetotray 1.0.8 installed in TB.
There is no "Ctrl+Z" in life!
Acer 7551G MX-15
Dell 1525, MX15 XFCE4 & Win 10
HP DV4-1118 Mepis 12 4.14 & Win 10
HP CP1215/Brother DCP-7065DN
Linux User# 4523410

User avatar
GoManutd
Forum Guide
Forum Guide
Posts: 2952
Joined: Mon Jun 30, 2008 8:06 pm

Re: Max Clients Reached

#4 Postby GoManutd » Wed Apr 18, 2012 8:34 pm

the problem seems to occur in different addons, though the links i looked at were all password managers, you may want to disable your addons and see if it clears things up.

User avatar
smilliken
Forum Guide
Forum Guide
Posts: 2020
Age: 57
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 11:47 pm

Re: Max Clients Reached

#5 Postby smilliken » Wed Apr 18, 2012 11:38 pm

I have xmarks on all of my computers and this is the only one that has a problem. It is the only computer in the house that uses TB too. I wonder if TB is the culprit? No password add-ons in TB, but I do use the built in on with FF. I use the FF remember User ID/passwords in FF on all of the computers as well. Should I try the Debian off shoot of TB? or use a totally different client?

I was wondering if it had something to do with the desktop effects. I do have the cube working and may try to disable it.
There is no "Ctrl+Z" in life!
Acer 7551G MX-15
Dell 1525, MX15 XFCE4 & Win 10
HP DV4-1118 Mepis 12 4.14 & Win 10
HP CP1215/Brother DCP-7065DN
Linux User# 4523410

User avatar
smilliken
Forum Guide
Forum Guide
Posts: 2020
Age: 57
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 11:47 pm

Re: Max Clients Reached

#6 Postby smilliken » Mon Apr 23, 2012 1:22 pm

Disabled the desktop effects and there is no difference.

The only thing that seems to be different on all of my computers is the use of Thunderbird.
There is no "Ctrl+Z" in life!
Acer 7551G MX-15
Dell 1525, MX15 XFCE4 & Win 10
HP DV4-1118 Mepis 12 4.14 & Win 10
HP CP1215/Brother DCP-7065DN
Linux User# 4523410

User avatar
uncle mark
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 5360
Age: 2015
Joined: Sat Nov 11, 2006 10:42 pm

Re: Max Clients Reached

#7 Postby uncle mark » Mon Apr 23, 2012 2:21 pm

smilliken wrote:Disabled the desktop effects and there is no difference.

The only thing that seems to be different on all of my computers is the use of Thunderbird.


<WAG>
Are these tarball installs of TB/Fx? If so, might disable automatic update checking and see what happens.
</WAG>
Desktop: Custom build Asus/AMD/nVidia -- MX-15 KDE, MEPIS 11
Laptop: Acer Aspire 5250 -- MX-15

User avatar
smilliken
Forum Guide
Forum Guide
Posts: 2020
Age: 57
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 11:47 pm

Re: Max Clients Reached

#8 Postby smilliken » Mon Apr 23, 2012 6:45 pm

uncle mark wrote:
smilliken wrote:Disabled the desktop effects and there is no difference.

The only thing that seems to be different on all of my computers is the use of Thunderbird.


<WAG>
Are these tarball installs of TB/Fx? If so, might disable automatic update checking and see what happens.
</WAG>


No, they are installed via synaptic and the CR's
There is no "Ctrl+Z" in life!
Acer 7551G MX-15
Dell 1525, MX15 XFCE4 & Win 10
HP DV4-1118 Mepis 12 4.14 & Win 10
HP CP1215/Brother DCP-7065DN
Linux User# 4523410

User avatar
GoManutd
Forum Guide
Forum Guide
Posts: 2952
Joined: Mon Jun 30, 2008 8:06 pm

Re: Max Clients Reached

#9 Postby GoManutd » Mon Apr 23, 2012 8:26 pm

try restarting TB in safe mode. disabling your addons would seem to be the next step in testing whether there's some issue.

if that doesn't clear it up, then try starting FF in safe mode at the same time...

User avatar
smilliken
Forum Guide
Forum Guide
Posts: 2020
Age: 57
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 11:47 pm

Re: Max Clients Reached

#10 Postby smilliken » Mon Apr 23, 2012 11:30 pm

Thanks guys,

I tried to start TB in safe mode while having Dolphin open and FF. FF had somewhere between 8 and 10 tabs open. TB did not open, it just seemed to hang. As soon as I closed FF, TB opened in safe mode.

I will try the reverse and see if that changes anything.

Should I try to open both in safe mode?
There is no "Ctrl+Z" in life!
Acer 7551G MX-15
Dell 1525, MX15 XFCE4 & Win 10
HP DV4-1118 Mepis 12 4.14 & Win 10
HP CP1215/Brother DCP-7065DN
Linux User# 4523410


Return to “KDE”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 1 guest