MEPIS Community Forum

A Linux operating system based on Debian Stable
View unanswered posts | View unsolved topics | View active topics |



Reply to topic  [ 23 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next
Max Clients Reached 
Author Message
Forum Guide
Forum Guide
User avatar

Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 11:47 pm
Posts: 1810
Location: Cranbrook, BC
Has thanked: 232 times
Have thanks: 97 times
Post # 298808
Post Max Clients Reached
I'm getting the following error when trying to open programs in Konsole

Code:
Maximum number of clients reachedkeepassx: cannot connect to X server :0.0


This usually seems to happen when Thunderbird and Firefox are open at the same time. I've seen this when trying to open Libre Office and Dolphin as well.

I thought it might have been the older versions of TB and FF, but have upgrade to the newest and all was working fine until today.

Any help much appreciated. I'm running M11 upgrade to the CR KDE 4.6.5.

_________________
There is no "Ctrl+Z" in life!
Asus P8Z68-V Pro, Intel i5 2500 Quad, Intel, DWA-552, 2-640 GB, Mepis 11 4.8.4/Win 8.1
HP DV4-1118 Mepis 12 4.8.4 & Win 8.1/Dell 1525 MX14/Win 8.1
HP CP1215/Brother DCP-7065DN
Linux User# 4523410


Wed Apr 18, 2012 2:35 pm
Profile
Forum Guide
Forum Guide
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 30, 2008 8:06 pm
Posts: 2952
Has thanked: 52 times
Have thanks: 376 times
Post # 298810
Post Re: Max Clients Reached
take a look at http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1410022

i'll venture a guess that you're using lastpass or some other password manager? a couple of google hits that i checked show it's an addon issue with FF and/or chrome


Wed Apr 18, 2012 2:46 pm
Profile
Forum Guide
Forum Guide
User avatar

Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 11:47 pm
Posts: 1810
Location: Cranbrook, BC
Has thanked: 232 times
Have thanks: 97 times
Post # 298817
Post Re: Max Clients Reached
No lastpass. I do have xmarks (free version) installed. Also, no Chrome installed on the computer. And no minimizetotray 1.0.8 installed in TB.

_________________
There is no "Ctrl+Z" in life!
Asus P8Z68-V Pro, Intel i5 2500 Quad, Intel, DWA-552, 2-640 GB, Mepis 11 4.8.4/Win 8.1
HP DV4-1118 Mepis 12 4.8.4 & Win 8.1/Dell 1525 MX14/Win 8.1
HP CP1215/Brother DCP-7065DN
Linux User# 4523410


Wed Apr 18, 2012 7:54 pm
Profile
Forum Guide
Forum Guide
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 30, 2008 8:06 pm
Posts: 2952
Has thanked: 52 times
Have thanks: 376 times
Post # 298819
Post Re: Max Clients Reached
the problem seems to occur in different addons, though the links i looked at were all password managers, you may want to disable your addons and see if it clears things up.


Wed Apr 18, 2012 8:34 pm
Profile
Forum Guide
Forum Guide
User avatar

Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 11:47 pm
Posts: 1810
Location: Cranbrook, BC
Has thanked: 232 times
Have thanks: 97 times
Post # 298829
Post Re: Max Clients Reached
I have xmarks on all of my computers and this is the only one that has a problem. It is the only computer in the house that uses TB too. I wonder if TB is the culprit? No password add-ons in TB, but I do use the built in on with FF. I use the FF remember User ID/passwords in FF on all of the computers as well. Should I try the Debian off shoot of TB? or use a totally different client?

I was wondering if it had something to do with the desktop effects. I do have the cube working and may try to disable it.

_________________
There is no "Ctrl+Z" in life!
Asus P8Z68-V Pro, Intel i5 2500 Quad, Intel, DWA-552, 2-640 GB, Mepis 11 4.8.4/Win 8.1
HP DV4-1118 Mepis 12 4.8.4 & Win 8.1/Dell 1525 MX14/Win 8.1
HP CP1215/Brother DCP-7065DN
Linux User# 4523410


Wed Apr 18, 2012 11:38 pm
Profile
Forum Guide
Forum Guide
User avatar

Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 11:47 pm
Posts: 1810
Location: Cranbrook, BC
Has thanked: 232 times
Have thanks: 97 times
Post # 298985
Post Re: Max Clients Reached
Disabled the desktop effects and there is no difference.

The only thing that seems to be different on all of my computers is the use of Thunderbird.

_________________
There is no "Ctrl+Z" in life!
Asus P8Z68-V Pro, Intel i5 2500 Quad, Intel, DWA-552, 2-640 GB, Mepis 11 4.8.4/Win 8.1
HP DV4-1118 Mepis 12 4.8.4 & Win 8.1/Dell 1525 MX14/Win 8.1
HP CP1215/Brother DCP-7065DN
Linux User# 4523410


Mon Apr 23, 2012 1:22 pm
Profile
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 11, 2006 10:42 pm
Posts: 4445
Has thanked: 123 times
Have thanks: 910 times
Post # 298986
Post Re: Max Clients Reached
smilliken wrote:
Disabled the desktop effects and there is no difference.

The only thing that seems to be different on all of my computers is the use of Thunderbird.


<WAG>
Are these tarball installs of TB/Fx? If so, might disable automatic update checking and see what happens.
</WAG>

_________________
Desktop: Custom build Asus/AMD/nVidia -- MEPIS 11
Netbook: Fujitsu Lifebook Pentium M -- MX-14
Laptop: Acer Aspire 5250 AMD Dual -- SolydK 64


Mon Apr 23, 2012 2:21 pm

uncle mark thanked by: smilliken
Profile
Forum Guide
Forum Guide
User avatar

Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 11:47 pm
Posts: 1810
Location: Cranbrook, BC
Has thanked: 232 times
Have thanks: 97 times
Post # 299000
Post Re: Max Clients Reached
uncle mark wrote:
smilliken wrote:
Disabled the desktop effects and there is no difference.

The only thing that seems to be different on all of my computers is the use of Thunderbird.


<WAG>
Are these tarball installs of TB/Fx? If so, might disable automatic update checking and see what happens.
</WAG>


No, they are installed via synaptic and the CR's

_________________
There is no "Ctrl+Z" in life!
Asus P8Z68-V Pro, Intel i5 2500 Quad, Intel, DWA-552, 2-640 GB, Mepis 11 4.8.4/Win 8.1
HP DV4-1118 Mepis 12 4.8.4 & Win 8.1/Dell 1525 MX14/Win 8.1
HP CP1215/Brother DCP-7065DN
Linux User# 4523410


Mon Apr 23, 2012 6:45 pm
Profile
Forum Guide
Forum Guide
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 30, 2008 8:06 pm
Posts: 2952
Has thanked: 52 times
Have thanks: 376 times
Post # 299002
Post Re: Max Clients Reached
try restarting TB in safe mode. disabling your addons would seem to be the next step in testing whether there's some issue.

if that doesn't clear it up, then try starting FF in safe mode at the same time...


Mon Apr 23, 2012 8:26 pm

GoManutd thanked by: smilliken
Profile
Forum Guide
Forum Guide
User avatar

Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 11:47 pm
Posts: 1810
Location: Cranbrook, BC
Has thanked: 232 times
Have thanks: 97 times
Post # 299003
Post Re: Max Clients Reached
Thanks guys,

I tried to start TB in safe mode while having Dolphin open and FF. FF had somewhere between 8 and 10 tabs open. TB did not open, it just seemed to hang. As soon as I closed FF, TB opened in safe mode.

I will try the reverse and see if that changes anything.

Should I try to open both in safe mode?

_________________
There is no "Ctrl+Z" in life!
Asus P8Z68-V Pro, Intel i5 2500 Quad, Intel, DWA-552, 2-640 GB, Mepis 11 4.8.4/Win 8.1
HP DV4-1118 Mepis 12 4.8.4 & Win 8.1/Dell 1525 MX14/Win 8.1
HP CP1215/Brother DCP-7065DN
Linux User# 4523410


Mon Apr 23, 2012 11:30 pm
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 23 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

Protected by Anti-Spam ACP Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by STSoftware for PTF.