MEPIS Community Forum

A Linux operating system based on Debian Stable
View unanswered posts | View unsolved topics | View active topics |



Reply to topic  [ 71 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 8  Next
An opportunity to investigate the fstab thing? 
Author Message
Forum Guide
Forum Guide
User avatar

Joined: Sun Apr 29, 2007 11:53 am
Posts: 2807
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Has thanked: 884 times
Have thanks: 691 times
Post # 287415
Post An opportunity to investigate the fstab thing?
After reading DBeckett (Post # 287413)
Quote:
except that wayward fstab thing has reappeared, where fstab has mistakes in it that weren't there before

Isn't this a great chance to find out if a package in the test repo is causing it?
At least one other user (Magnus Johansson) seems to have used the test repo when bitten by fstab. And the question was never asked (if the test repo was enabled) in the other cases.
I usually don't suggest how someone else shall spend his days, but if DBeckett has a day off this is a great opportunity.
Is fstab modified if the upgrade is repeated on a clean install? And is it possible to upgrade a few packages at a time to find the culprit, if there is one?
Henry


Thu Nov 03, 2011 6:27 am
Profile
Forum Guide
Forum Guide
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 16, 2009 3:59 pm
Posts: 2902
Has thanked: 420 times
Have thanks: 446 times
Post # 287449
Post Re: An opportunity to investigate the fstab thing?
.
I'm willing to test it, but it will take a while.

This fstab error is unusual. Partitions 13 and 14, below the "Dynamic entries" line, are listed as ext4, which they are not. This should throw an error if I try to mount them with Dolphin, but it does not—it works normally. Bizarre.

_________________
Gigabyte 990FXA-UD3, AMD FX-6100 hex-core, 3.3GHz, Radeon HD6570
Gigabyte A55M-DS2, AMD A4-3400 dual-core APU (llano), 2.7 GHz, Radeon HD graphics
IBM ThinkPad T43, Intel Pentium M, 1.73GHz, Intel chipset


Thu Nov 03, 2011 1:17 pm

DBeckett thanked by: Utopia
Profile
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
User avatar

Joined: Mon Feb 12, 2007 1:45 pm
Posts: 5711
Location: Penn's Woods
Has thanked: 825 times
Have thanks: 671 times
Post # 287450
Post Re: An opportunity to investigate the fstab thing?
I don't think this has anything to do with installing packages in the test repository. I was bitten by the bug with a clean SM 11 installation and with nothing installed from that repository. Entries above the #Dynamic line in /etc/fstab would be removed intermittently, maybe every third time I booted.

_________________
MX-14; 3.12-0.bpo.1-686-pae kernel using 4GB RAM
2.4GHz AMD Athlon 4600+
NVidia GeForce 6150 LE; 304.121 Display Driver
You didn't slow down because you're old; you're old because you slowed down.


Thu Nov 03, 2011 1:20 pm
Profile
Forum Guide
Forum Guide
User avatar

Joined: Sun Apr 29, 2007 11:53 am
Posts: 2807
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Has thanked: 884 times
Have thanks: 691 times
Post # 287451
Post Re: An opportunity to investigate the fstab thing?
Quote:
I don't think this has anything to do with installing packages in the test repository

If it doesn't, it would be nice to rule that out.
I was thinking of what Dropbox did and thought some app is trying to make the Mepis fstab look like a default debian fstab.
But this ext4 thing is a new twist, maybe more than one culprit-app must be present for this to happen?
I hope everyone who encounters fstab problems reports it on the forum.
Henry


Thu Nov 03, 2011 1:37 pm
Profile
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 2:26 pm
Posts: 7087
Has thanked: 389 times
Have thanks: 2295 times
Post # 287453
Post Re: An opportunity to investigate the fstab thing?
Utopia wrote:
Quote:
I don't think this has anything to do with installing packages in the test repository

If it doesn't, it would be nice to rule that out.
I was thinking of what Dropbox did and thought some app is trying to make the Mepis fstab look like a default debian fstab.
But this ext4 thing is a new twist, maybe more than one culprit-app must be present for this to happen?
I hope everyone who encounters fstab problems reports it on the forum.
Henry

I also don't think installing packages from the test repo has anything to do with the fstab corruption.

Lately I've been installing quite a few packages from the test repo in the process of testing Stevo's KDE 4.6.5 upgrade, I haven't had any fstab corruption.


Thu Nov 03, 2011 1:42 pm
Profile
Forum Guide
Forum Guide
User avatar

Joined: Sun Apr 29, 2007 11:53 am
Posts: 2807
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Has thanked: 884 times
Have thanks: 691 times
Post # 287454
Post Re: An opportunity to investigate the fstab thing?
Maybe it's not the test repo. But the rarity of the error must depend on something.
It's not the usual stuff that everyone gets. Now we have a recent case and a situation when it happened. Can it be repeated? Worth investigating as the earlier fstab corruptions just happened without any clues.
If not any specific packages, could the updating process itself be involved?
Henry


Thu Nov 03, 2011 1:52 pm
Profile
Forum Guide
Forum Guide
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 16, 2009 3:59 pm
Posts: 2902
Has thanked: 420 times
Have thanks: 446 times
Post # 287455
Post Re: An opportunity to investigate the fstab thing?
.
This is embarrassing. This fstab problem was my own fault. I had restored an old image from six months ago when partitions 13 and 14 were ext4. So please disregard this whole topic. I'm going to edit my post in the other thread.

_________________
Gigabyte 990FXA-UD3, AMD FX-6100 hex-core, 3.3GHz, Radeon HD6570
Gigabyte A55M-DS2, AMD A4-3400 dual-core APU (llano), 2.7 GHz, Radeon HD graphics
IBM ThinkPad T43, Intel Pentium M, 1.73GHz, Intel chipset


Thu Nov 03, 2011 1:58 pm
Profile
Forum Guide
Forum Guide
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 4:05 pm
Posts: 2820
Location: Pinellas Park, FL
Has thanked: 106 times
Have thanks: 1777 times
Post # 287458
Post Re: An opportunity to investigate the fstab thing?
I had it happen on an old M-8.5 install the other day. No test repo packages on that one.

I had to disable the buildfstab script on that machine because of repeated errors rewriting one line.
I know it's unusual practice, but for this particular machine one mount point must have a space in the pathname. Fstab has a way to handle that. The space is entered as the octal code for a space character \040 , so the line looks something like
Code:
/dev/sda3 /home/user/My\040Data ext3 ,users,exec,noatime 0 0
Works like a charm until buildfstab rewrites it and removes the backslash.
It doesn't happen every time, but it happens a lot more frequently than the disappearing lines glitch. I suspect they're related.

_________________
XFX Nforce 750 (built in GeForce 8300), Athlon X2 5000
Lenovo G550 , Intel T4400 , Intel Mobile 4 graphics


Thu Nov 03, 2011 2:05 pm
Profile
Forum Guide
Forum Guide
User avatar

Joined: Sun Apr 29, 2007 11:53 am
Posts: 2807
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Has thanked: 884 times
Have thanks: 691 times
Post # 287460
Post Re: An opportunity to investigate the fstab thing?
Quote:
So please disregard this whole topic

That's sad. Thought we had the first clue, even if very small and vague.
Quote:
I had it happen on an old M-8.5 install the other day.

A new clue. But so much more difficult to investigate.
The first one was more fitting for an amateur sleuth.
Henry


Thu Nov 03, 2011 2:13 pm
Profile
Forum Guide
Forum Guide
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 16, 2009 3:59 pm
Posts: 2902
Has thanked: 420 times
Have thanks: 446 times
Post # 287466
Post Re: An opportunity to investigate the fstab thing?
Utopia wrote:
That's sad. Thought we had the first clue, even if very small and vague.

Sorry to disappoint. :smile:

_________________
Gigabyte 990FXA-UD3, AMD FX-6100 hex-core, 3.3GHz, Radeon HD6570
Gigabyte A55M-DS2, AMD A4-3400 dual-core APU (llano), 2.7 GHz, Radeon HD graphics
IBM ThinkPad T43, Intel Pentium M, 1.73GHz, Intel chipset


Thu Nov 03, 2011 2:30 pm
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 71 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 8  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

Protected by Anti-Spam ACP Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by STSoftware for PTF.