MEPIS Community Forum

A Linux operating system based on Debian Stable
View unanswered posts | View unsolved topics | View active topics |



Reply to topic  [ 31 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Things are speeding..... 
Author Message
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jul 14, 2006 12:50 am
Posts: 689
Location: Third Stone From The Sun
Has thanked: 74 times
Have thanks: 73 times
Post # 293296
Post Things are speeding.....
Up in the UK.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/technology-16491614

_________________
Research, Research, Research, Before You Walk The Plank.
Registered Linux User # 398829


Wed Jan 11, 2012 12:56 pm
Profile
Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 2:17 pm
Posts: 10606
Location: Rochester NY
Has thanked: 816 times
Have thanks: 1402 times
Post # 293297
Post Re: Things are speeding.....

A free of charge upgrade! I wish Time Warner would do that in the US.

_________________
Forum Rules
Guide - How to Ask for Help
Link to Wiki
Rich

Acer Laptop V5-572G: Intel i5, 12 GIG mem, nVidia GT720M/Intel integrated graphics
Mx-14 Symbiosis
Kubuntu 13.10, KDE 4.11.2


Wed Jan 11, 2012 12:58 pm
Profile
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
User avatar

Joined: Mon Feb 12, 2007 1:45 pm
Posts: 5649
Location: Penn's Woods
Has thanked: 801 times
Have thanks: 651 times
Post # 293299
Post Re: Things are speeding.....
richb wrote:
A free of charge upgrade! I wish Time Warner would do that in the US.

Never mind free of charge. I wish 100 Mbps were available, let alone 120 Mbps. My Internet service is still pretty much third world class.

_________________
MX-14; 3.12-0.bpo.1-686-pae kernel using 4GB RAM
2.4GHz AMD Athlon 4600+
NVidia GeForce 6150 LE; 304.121 Display Driver


Wed Jan 11, 2012 1:12 pm
Profile
Forum Guide
Forum Guide
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 30, 2008 8:06 pm
Posts: 2952
Has thanked: 52 times
Have thanks: 376 times
Post # 293300
Post Re: Things are speeding.....
rich, it'll never happen... time warner is greedy. i still can't believe that folks fall for the "triple play" as a discount for VOIP....

$40/month for their "discounted" VOIP service plan when vonage is significantly cheaper.

the latest is trying to suck more money out of people by offering faster connect speeds for an added fee...


Wed Jan 11, 2012 1:18 pm
Profile
Forum Guide
Forum Guide
User avatar

Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2007 5:49 pm
Posts: 2656
Location: Doncaster UK
Has thanked: 110 times
Have thanks: 733 times
Post # 293301
Post Re: Things are speeding.....
Quote:
If you’re using one of our older modems then there might be a little more to it. You’ll still get a speed boost, but we might need to swap your modem for a Virgin Media Super Hub to make sure you get the best from your new speed. If so, we’ll supply the Super Hub without charge. And don’t worry - we’ll be emailing or writing to you in good time to let you know what you need to do.

So now I can look forward to an upgrade from 100 to 120 Mbps, and a discount on what I pay.
Quote:
Unless you change to a new package, you’ll pay the same as before you were upgraded.
The amount you pay only changes if you are already on 100Mb. If you are, then we’ll shortly be giving you a discount on your monthly subscription

http://community.virginmedia.com/t5/Ann ... m-p/958425

_________________
*Never be afraid to try something new. Remember that a lone amateur built the Ark. A large group of professionals built the Titanic(Windoze)*

Kubuntu KDE 4.11.00 / KDE 4.11.60 / Debian Wheezy KDE 4.10.4 / Plasma Active 3 Tablet


Last edited by Danum on Wed Jan 11, 2012 1:25 pm, edited 1 time in total.



Wed Jan 11, 2012 1:19 pm
Profile
Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 2:17 pm
Posts: 10606
Location: Rochester NY
Has thanked: 816 times
Have thanks: 1402 times
Post # 293302
Post Re: Things are speeding.....
GoManutd wrote:
rich, it'll never happen... time warner is greedy. i still can't believe that folks fall for the "triple play" as a discount for VOIP....

$40/month for their "discounted" VOIP service plan when vonage is significantly cheaper.

the latest is trying to suck more money out of people by offering faster connect speeds for an added fee...

Yes, your are right. And their 10Mbps service delivers about 1Mbps.

_________________
Forum Rules
Guide - How to Ask for Help
Link to Wiki
Rich

Acer Laptop V5-572G: Intel i5, 12 GIG mem, nVidia GT720M/Intel integrated graphics
Mx-14 Symbiosis
Kubuntu 13.10, KDE 4.11.2


Wed Jan 11, 2012 1:24 pm
Profile
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 2:10 am
Posts: 3381
Location: The Netherlands
Has thanked: 287 times
Have thanks: 326 times
Post # 293304
Post Re: Things are speeding.....
What on earth does one need such 100Mbps speed for??

My provider gave me a free upgrade a while ago as well (doubled up from 2 to 4Mbps). I still have this cheap plan and for regular internet browsing, Skype and mail retrieval this is plenty fast enough. :smile:

_________________
MX-14.2 (upgraded from 14.1.1) ext4 Xfce4.10 * AMD Asus M4A785TD-V EVO AM3 * ASUS GeForce GT640-1GD5-L * AMD Processor Athlon II X4 635, sAM3 * HDA ATI SB (VT1708S Analog) * 2x4Gb DDR3 1600 Kingston * 22" Samsung SyncMaster P2250 * HP DeskJet F2280


Wed Jan 11, 2012 1:39 pm
Profile
Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 2:17 pm
Posts: 10606
Location: Rochester NY
Has thanked: 816 times
Have thanks: 1402 times
Post # 293306
Post Re: Things are speeding.....
Eadwine Rose wrote:
What on earth does one need such 100Mbps speed for??

My provider gave me a free upgrade a while ago as well (doubled up from 2 to 4Mbps). I still have this cheap plan and for regular internet browsing, Skype and mail retrieval this is plenty fast enough. :smile:

A 300 k modem was fast enough once. Get with it girl! :happy:
Seriously for someone who downloads large files frequently, uses streaming services such as Netflix and Vudu, via internet enabled Bluetooth or TV, it is just about necessary for fast speeds.

_________________
Forum Rules
Guide - How to Ask for Help
Link to Wiki
Rich

Acer Laptop V5-572G: Intel i5, 12 GIG mem, nVidia GT720M/Intel integrated graphics
Mx-14 Symbiosis
Kubuntu 13.10, KDE 4.11.2


Wed Jan 11, 2012 1:45 pm
Profile
Forum Guide
Forum Guide
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 06, 2009 6:06 am
Posts: 1463
Location: Bristol, UK
Has thanked: 420 times
Have thanks: 301 times
Post # 293308
Post Re: Things are speeding.....
It's good news for 'some' of Virgin's (relatively few) cable customers.
Quote:
But there is still the question about rural areas. Virgin still cover mostly urban areas - they don't reach as many people in rural areas as BT and other telecoms providers.
I'm in one of the rural areas, just 500m from the houses in the town where Virgin cable is available. There's zero chance that the cable will be extended here in the next few years.

Our local authority is bidding for limited government money to provide an upgraded service in this area, so I might get an improvement. Meanwhile, I can get 6Mbps download at good times, at the expense of less than 0.4Mbps upload - that's what ADSL means on a long copper overhead cable.

Phil

_________________

AsRock FM2A88X-ITX+, A8-6500, 8GB, 120GB Samsung SSD, 1TB HDD, MX-14.
Asus M4A88TD-V EVO/USB3, Phenom II X2 550 BE (now X3), 8GB.
120GB Corsair SSD, 500+250GB HDD, MX-14, Mepis 11.9.92-64.
Acer Aspire One 150, Atom N270, 120GB HDD, MX-14 / WinXP


Wed Jan 11, 2012 1:49 pm
Profile
Forum Guide
Forum Guide
User avatar

Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2007 5:49 pm
Posts: 2656
Location: Doncaster UK
Has thanked: 110 times
Have thanks: 733 times
Post # 293312
Post Re: Things are speeding.....
Gaer Boy wrote:
It's good news for 'some' of Virgin's (relatively few) cable customers.
Quote:
But there is still the question about rural areas. Virgin still cover mostly urban areas - they don't reach as many people in rural areas as BT and other telecoms providers.
I'm in one of the rural areas, just 500m from the houses in the town where Virgin cable is available. There's zero chance that the cable will be extended here in the next few years.

Our local authority is bidding for limited government money to provide an upgraded service in this area, so I might get an improvement. Meanwhile, I can get 6Mbps download at good times, at the expense of less than 0.4Mbps upload - that's what ADSL means on a long copper overhead cable.

Phil

BT / Sky around here is 4.5 on a very good day, which after using my connection is like watching paint dry,
a good read,
http://www.pcpro.co.uk/blogs/2011/06/30 ... r-the-asa/

_________________
*Never be afraid to try something new. Remember that a lone amateur built the Ark. A large group of professionals built the Titanic(Windoze)*

Kubuntu KDE 4.11.00 / KDE 4.11.60 / Debian Wheezy KDE 4.10.4 / Plasma Active 3 Tablet


Wed Jan 11, 2012 1:59 pm
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 31 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron

Protected by Anti-Spam ACP Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by STSoftware for PTF.