barcode scanning

This forum is intended for the discussion around the use of MEPIS in an office setting as distinct from home or indivicual usage. Examples include mail merge, database construction, hardware sharing, advertising, etc..
Message
Author
User avatar
timkb4cq
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 3495
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 4:05 pm

Re: barcode scanning

#1 Postby timkb4cq » Thu Sep 01, 2011 1:32 pm

They're called QR codes. The QR stands for Quick Response. Typically, they encode a web address.
zbar-tools (in the repos) will decode them from a webcam image.
I believe there is an iPhone app for these, but I don't have an iPhone to check...
MSI 970A-G43 MB, AMD FX-6300 (six core), 16GB RAM, GeForce 730, Samsung 850 EVO 250GB SSD, Seagate Barracuda XT 3TB

User avatar
Jerry3904
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 15651
Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2006 6:13 am

Re: barcode scanning

#2 Postby Jerry3904 » Thu Sep 01, 2011 2:02 pm

For iPhone:
http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/qr-app/id320140689?mt=8, $7.95

For Droid:
https://market.android.com/details?id=la.droid.qr&hl=en, free

It is curious that iOS users have been shown to be willing to pay for their apps, while Android users are not
Production: 4.7.0-0.bpo.1-amd64, MX-15 RC1, AMD FX-4130 Quad-Core, GeForce GT 630/PCIe/SSE2, 8 GB, Kingston SSD 120 GB and WesternDigital 1TB
Testing: AAO 722: 3.16-0-4-686-pae. MX-15, AMD C-60 APU, 4 GB

User avatar
bowlkook
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 479
Age: 47
Joined: Sat Oct 21, 2006 4:07 pm

Re: barcode scanning

#3 Postby bowlkook » Fri Sep 02, 2011 5:52 am

You can generate them here. My current avatar is an example... I heard about them on a recent Tuxradar podcast & was intrigued enough to investigate further. I've also got a (Free.) reader on my N900 called mBarcode.


Return to “Office”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest