MX & MEPIS Community Forum

Linux operating systems based on Debian Stable
View unanswered posts | View unsolved topics | View active topics |



Reply to topic  [ 18 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2
Libre Office is Broken 
Author Message
Forum Guide
Forum Guide
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 16, 2009 3:59 pm
Posts: 2906
Has thanked: 424 times
Have thanks: 446 times
Post # 286951
Post Re: Libre Office is Broken
Stevo wrote:
Yes, the kernel developers aren't really happy with the VBOX driver; they've labeled it "tainted crap". (No beating around the bush there!) Though it's open-source, that puts it into the same category as the staging drivers.

That's one of the reasons I'm still at 3.2.12. It does the job for me.

_________________
Gigabyte 990FXA-UD3, AMD FX-6100 hex-core, 3.3GHz, Radeon HD6570
Gigabyte A55M-DS2, AMD A4-3400 dual-core APU (llano), 2.7 GHz, Radeon HD graphics
IBM ThinkPad T43, Intel Pentium M, 1.73GHz, Intel chipset


Fri Oct 28, 2011 4:22 pm
Profile
Forum Guide
Forum Guide

Joined: Tue Jul 25, 2006 12:47 pm
Posts: 1492
Location: Savannah, GA
Has thanked: 88 times
Have thanks: 308 times
Post # 286955
Post Re: Libre Office is Broken
chippy52 wrote:
Well I think I have found the culprit. Did some trials & found after a reboot all panels were in their proper place & visible. Started opening & closing down various programs until the problem surfaced. The culprit is!!!!!!! virtualbox. More digging required.


Interesting. Did you have 2D or 3D Acceleration turned on for a VM's settings when the error occurred (under Machine>Settings>Video)?

BTW, does anyone know what the deal is with VirtualBox not liking ext4 partitions?

I get this error screen if when I start a machine with a disk that's on an ext4 partition (and the Host OS is Mepis 11, and I'm not sure what it's talking about as far as any I/O Cache being disabled).

Image


Fri Oct 28, 2011 7:26 pm
Profile
Forum Guide
Forum Guide
User avatar

Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2007 5:49 pm
Posts: 2664
Location: Doncaster UK
Has thanked: 110 times
Have thanks: 738 times
Post # 286956
Post Re: Libre Office is Broken
http://www.pclinuxos.com/forum/index.php?topic=88130.0
Have a read

_________________
*Never be afraid to try something new. Remember that a lone amateur built the Ark. A large group of professionals built the Titanic(Windoze)*

Kubuntu KDE 4.11.00 / KDE 4.11.60 / Debian Wheezy KDE 4.10.4 / Plasma Active 3 Tablet


Fri Oct 28, 2011 7:38 pm
Profile
Forum Guide
Forum Guide

Joined: Tue Jul 25, 2006 12:47 pm
Posts: 1492
Location: Savannah, GA
Has thanked: 88 times
Have thanks: 308 times
Post # 286957
Post Re: Libre Office is Broken
That doesn't really tell me much about the significance of the error, other than they've got a check to disable the error with a newer kernel. I'm using the stock 2.6.31-1 Mepis SMP Kernel, and VirtualBox is apparently going to give an error unless your kernel is >= 2.6.36-rc4 from what one of the links that thread points to implies (although I'm using a much newer VirtualBox version compared to when it looks like they started reporting the error).

http://www.virtualbox.org/changeset/32593

So, I don't understand the significance of the error, and I've seen no problems with any virtual disks running from an ext4 partition with Mepis 11 as the host (at least not yet). Also, wouldn't some of the updates from Mepis and Debian have patched known bugs related to disk i/o?

I'm running VirtualBox 4.14 r74291 under Mepis 11 as the host.


Fri Oct 28, 2011 7:54 pm
Profile
Forum Regular
Forum Regular

Joined: Wed Jul 29, 2009 6:05 pm
Posts: 354
Location: New Zealand
Has thanked: 25 times
Have thanks: 76 times
Post # 286984
Post Re: Libre Office is Broken
You don't have to run a vbox machine to create this issue, just to start vbox is enough. So running 2D / 3D would have no affect. I have desktop effects turned off.

_________________
Mepis 11 64bit Linux 3.2.0-0.bpo.4-amd64, KDE 4.5.1
Intel i5 2400, Asus P8H67-M-EVO, G-Skill Ripjaws 2x4GB DDR3-1333, nVidia GeForce GT430, Seagate 500GB sata3 HDD


Sat Oct 29, 2011 6:32 pm
Profile
Forum Novice
Forum  Novice
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 10, 2010 5:46 pm
Posts: 43
Location: Puerto Rico
Has thanked: 8 times
Have thanks: 6 times
Post # 287165
Post Re: Libre Office is Broken
I don't think the culprit is virtualbox 'cause I don't have installed VB in my computer and it happens from time to time, don't think is a specific nvidia video driver problem 'cause my video chipset is an intel G41 and like I said before my computer is having the same issue!


Tue Nov 01, 2011 12:14 am
Profile
Forum Guide
Forum Guide
User avatar

Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2007 4:54 pm
Posts: 1318
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Has thanked: 194 times
Have thanks: 82 times
Post # 287168
Post Re: Libre Office is Broken
Stevo wrote:
Yes, the kernel developers aren't really happy with the VBOX driver; they've labeled it "tainted crap". (No beating around the bush there!) Though it's open-source, that puts it into the same category as the staging drivers.


Stevo,

Is this recent VBOX driver; "tainted." Maybe Oracle rather than the Sun ownership? I was quite happy with everything in Mepis 8 previously, althought i have not used a VDI in a long while...

JR


Tue Nov 01, 2011 12:45 am
Profile
Forum Novice
Forum  Novice
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 10, 2010 5:46 pm
Posts: 43
Location: Puerto Rico
Has thanked: 8 times
Have thanks: 6 times
Post # 287916
Post Re: Libre Office is Broken
I have disabled the "xserver xorg video vesa 1.2.3.0-3" video driver and @ the moment nothing is dissapearing, please note what says the video driver description "this driver is not recommended for use unless you have a problem with the normal driver for your card because it will perform very badly".


Tue Nov 08, 2011 12:35 am
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 18 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

Protected by Anti-Spam ACP Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by STSoftware for PTF.