MEPIS Community Forum

A Linux operating system based on Debian Stable
View unanswered posts | View unsolved topics | View active topics |



Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
Add a feature ? [NOT Solved] 
Author Message
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 29, 2011 8:30 pm
Posts: 253
Location: Heart of Dixie, USA
Has thanked: 52 times
Have thanks: 31 times
Post # 283465
Post Add a feature ? [NOT Solved]
.
On the "Board Index" page, immediately below the last ("Community") forum, there is a link to "Mark forums read". This is very handy and I use it frequently.

However, I discovered that I miss posts on topics I'm interested in when I use only the 5 most recent posts (at the top of the "Board Index" page). So, I've been using the "View active topics" link to see all the threads with activity since my last look. This page (view) works very nicely, but it doesn't have the "Mark forums read" link so that I can clear all the "unread" indicators after I've viewed what I'm interested in. I end up going back to the "Board Index" page just to hit that link.

I'd like to request that someone put the "Mark forums read" link either in the header area for ALL pages or at least somewhere on the "View active topics" page.

This is definitely not an urgent-priority request.

Thanks in advance. :happy:

_________________
"Life is short....
Drink the Good Wine first"


Last edited by Tovian on Wed Sep 07, 2011 9:39 am, edited 2 times in total.



Mon Sep 05, 2011 12:00 pm
Profile
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2006 6:13 am
Posts: 10070
Location: Geneva NY
Has thanked: 2876 times
Have thanks: 1863 times
Post # 283475
Post Re: Add a feature ?
The admin tried to copy/move that link before, as I remember, when we were setting this whole new board up, but it caused problems and had to be abandoned.

_________________
Production: 32 bit, 3.14-0.bpo.1-686-pae. MX-14.2, AMD FX-4130 Quad-Core, GeForce GT 630/PCIe/SSE2, 8 GB DDR3, / and /home on Kingston SSD 120 GB, data on WesternDigital 1TB, Dell SP2309W monitor.


Mon Sep 05, 2011 1:37 pm
Profile
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 29, 2011 8:30 pm
Posts: 253
Location: Heart of Dixie, USA
Has thanked: 52 times
Have thanks: 31 times
Post # 283483
Post Re: Add a feature ?
Jerry3904 wrote:
The admin tried to copy/move that link before

.
That's weird ! I can copy the "Mark forums read" link (to the clipboard). Then I take the "View active topicss" link and do my browsing from there. When I'm done I can paste the url for the "Mark forums read" into the address bar. It works perfectly. It's just a kluge to do it this way.

In which location did "The admin" try to place the link ?

Why is it still raining on your tree :confused:

_________________
"Life is short....
Drink the Good Wine first"


Mon Sep 05, 2011 2:58 pm
Profile
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2006 6:13 am
Posts: 10070
Location: Geneva NY
Has thanked: 2876 times
Have thanks: 1863 times
Post # 283486
Post Re: Add a feature ?
At the top of the page somewhere, I seem to remember, but Peregrine can tell us if she sees this thread.

It's been raining on my tree for longer than this avatar has been on the page...

_________________
Production: 32 bit, 3.14-0.bpo.1-686-pae. MX-14.2, AMD FX-4130 Quad-Core, GeForce GT 630/PCIe/SSE2, 8 GB DDR3, / and /home on Kingston SSD 120 GB, data on WesternDigital 1TB, Dell SP2309W monitor.


Mon Sep 05, 2011 3:30 pm
Profile
Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 2:17 pm
Posts: 10629
Location: Rochester NY
Has thanked: 820 times
Have thanks: 1414 times
Post # 283520
Post Re: Add a feature ?
Mark forums read has been troublesome from the start, It is not a simple change as there are many separate files that make up the forum. And when a change was made to put it in the top banner both locations broke. So the decision was to leave it as is and it will most likely remain so.

As you pointed out, it is a minor inconvenience as opposed to breaking the functionality entirely.

_________________
Forum Rules
Guide - How to Ask for Help
Link to Wiki
Rich

Acer Laptop V5-572G: Intel i5, 12 GIG mem, nVidia GT720M/Intel integrated graphics
Mx-14 Symbiosis
Kubuntu 13.10, KDE 4.11.2


Mon Sep 05, 2011 9:10 pm
Profile
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 29, 2011 8:30 pm
Posts: 253
Location: Heart of Dixie, USA
Has thanked: 52 times
Have thanks: 31 times
Post # 283568
Post Re: Add a feature ?
richb wrote:
As you pointed out, it is a minor inconvenience as opposed to breaking the functionality entirely.

Yep. I solved the problem by simply creating a bookmark (to that URL) in my FF "bookmarks toolbar" (at the top of the window).

_________________
"Life is short....
Drink the Good Wine first"


Tue Sep 06, 2011 9:00 am

Tovian thanked by: DBeckett, richb
Profile
Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 2:17 pm
Posts: 10629
Location: Rochester NY
Has thanked: 820 times
Have thanks: 1414 times
Post # 283580
Post Re: Add a feature ?
Tovian wrote:
richb wrote:
As you pointed out, it is a minor inconvenience as opposed to breaking the functionality entirely.

Yep. I solved the problem by simply creating a bookmark (to that URL) in my FF "bookmarks toolbar" (at the top of the window).

Great idea!

_________________
Forum Rules
Guide - How to Ask for Help
Link to Wiki
Rich

Acer Laptop V5-572G: Intel i5, 12 GIG mem, nVidia GT720M/Intel integrated graphics
Mx-14 Symbiosis
Kubuntu 13.10, KDE 4.11.2


Tue Sep 06, 2011 11:43 am
Profile
Forum Guide
Forum Guide
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 16, 2009 3:59 pm
Posts: 2900
Has thanked: 415 times
Have thanks: 446 times
Post # 283584
Post Re: Add a feature ?
richb wrote:
Tovian wrote:
Yep. I solved the problem by simply creating a bookmark (to that URL) in my FF "bookmarks toolbar" (at the top of the window).

Great idea!

Indeed! Great idea.

[Edit]

Then again.... maybe not.

I'm recalling that this came up once before, where a link doesn't continue to work because the hash changes.

_________________
Gigabyte 990FXA-UD3, AMD FX-6100 hex-core, 3.3GHz, Radeon HD6570
Gigabyte A55M-DS2, AMD A4-3400 dual-core APU (llano), 2.7 GHz, Radeon HD graphics
IBM ThinkPad T43, Intel Pentium M, 1.73GHz, Intel chipset


Last edited by DBeckett on Wed Sep 07, 2011 4:44 pm, edited 1 time in total.



Tue Sep 06, 2011 12:25 pm
Profile
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 29, 2011 8:30 pm
Posts: 253
Location: Heart of Dixie, USA
Has thanked: 52 times
Have thanks: 31 times
Post # 283655
Post Re: Add a feature ? [NOT Solved]
.
Well, it was working - then it wasn't working. Today it looks like it worked - but it didn't.

I've done some research/testing and discovered the following... the link IS CHANGING
Yesterday's link
Code:
http://forum.mepiscommunity.org/index.php?hash=eb786ec6&mark=forums

Today's link
Code:
http://forum.mepiscommunity.org/index.php?hash=dae2cef1&mark=forums

The HASH value SEEMS to change daily (or maybe with some other frequency but I can't verify the frequency until more days pass). Also, the HASH value might be different for each user.

I wonder if this might also be a contributor to the original problem with re-locating the link ??

Bottom Line: Although the Link-bookmarking technique works perfectly for static links it does not work for dynamic links. (Perhaps someone could write a script that could fetch the HASH value and stuff it in a link ?)

_________________
"Life is short....
Drink the Good Wine first"


Wed Sep 07, 2011 9:49 am
Profile
Forum Guide
Forum Guide
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 06, 2009 6:06 am
Posts: 1471
Location: Bristol, UK
Has thanked: 423 times
Have thanks: 309 times
Post # 283660
Post Re: Add a feature ? [NOT Solved]
Well, my link today is different from yours:
Code:
http://forum.mepiscommunity.org/index.php?hash=1dd3baf4&mark=forums

And, as I suspected, if I logout and back in, it's different again:
Code:
http://forum.mepiscommunity.org/index.php?hash=43902073&mark=forums

This is bound to be the case, since the link is not there if you read the forum while you're logged out.

Phil

_________________

AsRock FM2A88X-ITX+, A8-6500, 8GB, 120GB Samsung SSD, 1TB HDD, MX-14.
Asus M4A88TD-V EVO/USB3, Phenom II X2 550 BE (now X3), 8GB.
120GB Corsair SSD, 500+250GB HDD, MX-14, Mepis 11.9.92-64.
Acer Aspire One 150, Atom N270, 120GB HDD, MX-14 / WinXP


Wed Sep 07, 2011 11:20 am
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 10 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

Protected by Anti-Spam ACP Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by STSoftware for PTF.