Modified installation binary with timezones

Forum for discussion and implementation of features relating directly to development of MEPIS releases.
Message
Author
User avatar
m_pav
Forum Guide
Forum Guide
Posts: 2526
Age: 49
Joined: Sun Aug 06, 2006 3:02 pm

#11 Postby m_pav » Tue Dec 21, 2010 1:11 pm

Has anybody else actually tried it themselves on a 64-bit Live-DVD or Live-USB instead of surmising what might or might not happen? The only error message is what I posted, the system logs do not record anything about the error.

Mike P
Mike P

Regd Linux User #472293
(Mine)Lenovo T550, i7-5600U, 16GB, 128GB SSD + 1.0TB HDD, MX15 64-bit
(Wifes) Asus M4A88TD-M, AMD Phenom II x4 955 CPU, nVidia GF610, 6Gb, 500GB+320GB, MX14 + KDE
(Kids) Intel NUC, J1900, 4GB, 64GB SSD, MX14 + KDE

User avatar
Adrian
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 6198
Age: 41
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 1:42 am

#12 Postby Adrian » Tue Dec 21, 2010 1:51 pm

m_pav wrote:Has anybody else actually tried it themselves on a 64-bit Live-DVD or Live-USB instead of surmising what might or might not happen? The only error message is what I posted, the system logs do not record anything about the error.

Mike P


Can't try now, I'm at work, can you try with full path not with ./ shortcut:

for example
/home/demo/Downloads/minstall


instead of
./minstall

User avatar
wireman
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 874
Age: 66
Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2006 7:56 am

#13 Postby wireman » Tue Dec 21, 2010 1:56 pm

Adrian wrote:I don't think it's 64 bit problem, if you try to run a 32 bit binary it tells you that it cannot find the 32 bit libraries for it (if you don't have them installed on your system) not that the file is not there, it's something else going on I think.


Um, I dunno then :confused:

I'm on a timescale for getting it to warren and going away for Xmas on Thursday. I'm afraid I may not get a 64bit out :sad: However, it might be in the next release... :crossfingers:
Acer Aspire X1301 desktop: AMD Athlon II X2 215, nForce 8600 chipset with integrated graphics, 4Gb RAM, 1Tb HDD
Monitor: Samsung SyncMaster 2243BW (1680x1050)
Printer: HP Photosmart C5180 all-in-one

User avatar
Adrian
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 6198
Age: 41
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 1:42 am

#14 Postby Adrian » Tue Dec 21, 2010 2:56 pm

wireman wrote:Um, I dunno then :confused:

I'm on a timescale for getting it to warren and going away for Xmas on Thursday. I'm afraid I may not get a 64bit out :sad: However, it might be in the next release... :crossfingers:


Does Warren have a 64 bit compiled minstall or simply runs the 32 bit one? It should probably work...

User avatar
Jerry3904
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 15202
Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2006 6:13 am

#15 Postby Jerry3904 » Tue Dec 21, 2010 3:02 pm

Pretty sure Warren can modify it as he needs without much trouble
Production: 4.2.0-0.bpo.1-amd64, MX-15 RC1, AMD FX-4130 Quad-Core, GeForce GT 630/PCIe/SSE2, 8 GB, Kingston SSD 120 GB and WesternDigital 1TB
Testing: AAO 722: 3.16-0-4-686-pae. MX-15, AMD C-60 APU, 4 GB

User avatar
kmathern
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 9017
Age: 58
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 2:26 pm

#16 Postby kmathern » Tue Dec 21, 2010 3:11 pm

Adrian wrote:Does Warren have a 64 bit compiled minstall or simply runs the 32 bit one? It should probably work...

There are both 32bit and 64bit mepis-install packages: ftp://ftp.mepis.com/mepis/pool/main/m/mepis-install/ so there is probably a difference between the two.

I downloaded and extracted both of the Mepis 8.5 packages with ark, the md5sum of the 64bit /usr/sbin/minstall executable differs from that of the 32bit version:

kent@mepis1:/tmp$ md5sum /tmp/mepis-install_8.5.00_amd64/usr/sbin/minstall
[highlight="chartreuse"]e3c4be5a3d8b6e70cf74fef5eb0c1b32[/highlight] /tmp/mepis-install_8.5.00_amd64/usr/sbin/minstall
kent@mepis1:/tmp$
kent@mepis1:/tmp$ md5sum /tmp/mepis-install_8.5.00_i386/usr/sbin/minstall
[highlight="chartreuse"]90f0a70b315d35fd69a547653bfdb542[/highlight] /tmp/mepis-install_8.5.00_i386/usr/sbin/minstall
kent@mepis1:/tmp$

User avatar
m_pav
Forum Guide
Forum Guide
Posts: 2526
Age: 49
Joined: Sun Aug 06, 2006 3:02 pm

#17 Postby m_pav » Tue Dec 21, 2010 5:41 pm

Adrian wrote:Can't try now, I'm at work, can you try with full path not with ./ shortcut


Did that before I posted, got the same result, but didn't specifically state that I had tried the full path option.

Mike P
Mike P

Regd Linux User #472293
(Mine)Lenovo T550, i7-5600U, 16GB, 128GB SSD + 1.0TB HDD, MX15 64-bit
(Wifes) Asus M4A88TD-M, AMD Phenom II x4 955 CPU, nVidia GF610, 6Gb, 500GB+320GB, MX14 + KDE
(Kids) Intel NUC, J1900, 4GB, 64GB SSD, MX14 + KDE

User avatar
Adrian
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 6198
Age: 41
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 1:42 am

#18 Postby Adrian » Tue Dec 21, 2010 5:56 pm

beats me... usually if you chmod +x and specify the path it should at least find the file even if for some reasons cannot run it. Maybe it has to do with the file system I remember somebody having problems running a program from a FAT32 partition.

User avatar
wireman
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 874
Age: 66
Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2006 7:56 am

#19 Postby wireman » Tue Dec 21, 2010 7:17 pm

Adrian wrote:beats me... usually if you chmod +x and specify the path it should at least find the file even if for some reasons cannot run it. Maybe it has to do with the file system I remember somebody having problems running a program from a FAT32 partition.


Don't think that's it. I ran it directly from my FAT formatted usb stick.

Annoyingly, I can't get my 32bit Vbox to run the 64bit ISO even though the docs say it should work... :angry:
Acer Aspire X1301 desktop: AMD Athlon II X2 215, nForce 8600 chipset with integrated graphics, 4Gb RAM, 1Tb HDD

Monitor: Samsung SyncMaster 2243BW (1680x1050)

Printer: HP Photosmart C5180 all-in-one

User avatar
Adrian
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 6198
Age: 41
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 1:42 am

#20 Postby Adrian » Tue Dec 21, 2010 7:56 pm

wireman wrote:Don't think that's it. I ran it directly from my FAT formatted usb stick.

Annoyingly, I can't get my 32bit Vbox to run the 64bit ISO even though the docs say it should work... :angry:


It depends on you CPU... I think it needs to support VT-x or AMD-V


Return to “Dev Team”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest