MX & MEPIS Community Forum

Linux operating systems based on Debian Stable
View unanswered posts | View unsolved topics | View active topics |



Reply to topic  [ 30 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
Modified installation binary with timezones 
Author Message
Forum Guide
Forum Guide
User avatar

Joined: Sun Aug 06, 2006 3:02 pm
Posts: 2195
Location: New Zealand BOP
Has thanked: 91 times
Have thanks: 481 times
Post # 254816
Post 
Has anybody else actually tried it themselves on a 64-bit Live-DVD or Live-USB instead of surmising what might or might not happen? The only error message is what I posted, the system logs do not record anything about the error.

Mike P

_________________
Mike P

Regd Linux User #472293
(1)Lenovo e520, i7-2640M, 8GB, 750GB Seagate Hybrid, MX-14.1_DVD (my own respin)
(2) Asus M4A88TD-M, AMD Phenom II x4 955 CPU, Radeon HD 4250, 4Gb, 1.5TB, antiX-13-64


Tue Dec 21, 2010 1:11 pm
Profile
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 1:42 am
Posts: 4785
Has thanked: 547 times
Have thanks: 723 times
Post # 254818
Post 
m_pav wrote:
Has anybody else actually tried it themselves on a 64-bit Live-DVD or Live-USB instead of surmising what might or might not happen? The only error message is what I posted, the system logs do not record anything about the error.

Mike P


Can't try now, I'm at work, can you try with full path not with ./ shortcut:

for example
Quote:
/home/demo/Downloads/minstall


instead of
Quote:
./minstall


Tue Dec 21, 2010 1:51 pm
Profile
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
User avatar

Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2006 7:56 am
Posts: 874
Location: Scotland
Has thanked: 87 times
Have thanks: 45 times
Post # 254820
Post 
Adrian wrote:
I don't think it's 64 bit problem, if you try to run a 32 bit binary it tells you that it cannot find the 32 bit libraries for it (if you don't have them installed on your system) not that the file is not there, it's something else going on I think.


Um, I dunno then :confused:

I'm on a timescale for getting it to warren and going away for Xmas on Thursday. I'm afraid I may not get a 64bit out :sad: However, it might be in the next release... :crossfingers:

_________________
Acer Aspire X1301 desktop: AMD Athlon II X2 215, nForce 8600 chipset with integrated graphics, 4Gb RAM, 1Tb HDD
Monitor: Samsung SyncMaster 2243BW (1680x1050)
Printer: HP Photosmart C5180 all-in-one


Tue Dec 21, 2010 1:56 pm
Profile
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 1:42 am
Posts: 4785
Has thanked: 547 times
Have thanks: 723 times
Post # 254827
Post 
wireman wrote:
Um, I dunno then :confused:

I'm on a timescale for getting it to warren and going away for Xmas on Thursday. I'm afraid I may not get a 64bit out :sad: However, it might be in the next release... :crossfingers:


Does Warren have a 64 bit compiled minstall or simply runs the 32 bit one? It should probably work...


Tue Dec 21, 2010 2:56 pm
Profile
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2006 6:13 am
Posts: 10880
Location: Geneva NY
Has thanked: 3286 times
Have thanks: 2097 times
Post # 254830
Post 
Pretty sure Warren can modify it as he needs without much trouble

_________________
Production: 32 bit, 3.14-0.bpo.1-686-pae. MX-14.2, AMD FX-4130 Quad-Core, GeForce GT 630/PCIe/SSE2, 8 GB DDR3, / and /home on Kingston SSD 120 GB, data on WesternDigital 1TB, Dell SP2309W monitor.


Tue Dec 21, 2010 3:02 pm
Profile
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 2:26 pm
Posts: 7342
Has thanked: 408 times
Have thanks: 2424 times
Post # 254833
Post 
Adrian wrote:
Does Warren have a 64 bit compiled minstall or simply runs the 32 bit one? It should probably work...

There are both 32bit and 64bit mepis-install packages: ftp://ftp.mepis.com/mepis/pool/main/m/mepis-install/ so there is probably a difference between the two.

I downloaded and extracted both of the Mepis 8.5 packages with ark, the md5sum of the 64bit /usr/sbin/minstall executable differs from that of the 32bit version:

Quote:
kent@mepis1:/tmp$ md5sum /tmp/mepis-install_8.5.00_amd64/usr/sbin/minstall
[highlight="chartreuse"]e3c4be5a3d8b6e70cf74fef5eb0c1b32[/highlight] /tmp/mepis-install_8.5.00_amd64/usr/sbin/minstall
kent@mepis1:/tmp$
kent@mepis1:/tmp$ md5sum /tmp/mepis-install_8.5.00_i386/usr/sbin/minstall
[highlight="chartreuse"]90f0a70b315d35fd69a547653bfdb542[/highlight] /tmp/mepis-install_8.5.00_i386/usr/sbin/minstall
kent@mepis1:/tmp$


Tue Dec 21, 2010 3:11 pm
Profile
Forum Guide
Forum Guide
User avatar

Joined: Sun Aug 06, 2006 3:02 pm
Posts: 2195
Location: New Zealand BOP
Has thanked: 91 times
Have thanks: 481 times
Post # 254847
Post 
Adrian wrote:
Can't try now, I'm at work, can you try with full path not with ./ shortcut


Did that before I posted, got the same result, but didn't specifically state that I had tried the full path option.

Mike P

_________________
Mike P

Regd Linux User #472293
(1)Lenovo e520, i7-2640M, 8GB, 750GB Seagate Hybrid, MX-14.1_DVD (my own respin)
(2) Asus M4A88TD-M, AMD Phenom II x4 955 CPU, Radeon HD 4250, 4Gb, 1.5TB, antiX-13-64


Tue Dec 21, 2010 5:41 pm
Profile
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 1:42 am
Posts: 4785
Has thanked: 547 times
Have thanks: 723 times
Post # 254851
Post 
beats me... usually if you chmod +x and specify the path it should at least find the file even if for some reasons cannot run it. Maybe it has to do with the file system I remember somebody having problems running a program from a FAT32 partition.


Tue Dec 21, 2010 5:56 pm
Profile
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
User avatar

Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2006 7:56 am
Posts: 874
Location: Scotland
Has thanked: 87 times
Have thanks: 45 times
Post # 254864
Post 
Adrian wrote:
beats me... usually if you chmod +x and specify the path it should at least find the file even if for some reasons cannot run it. Maybe it has to do with the file system I remember somebody having problems running a program from a FAT32 partition.


Don't think that's it. I ran it directly from my FAT formatted usb stick.

Annoyingly, I can't get my 32bit Vbox to run the 64bit ISO even though the docs say it should work... :angry:

_________________
Acer Aspire X1301 desktop: AMD Athlon II X2 215, nForce 8600 chipset with integrated graphics, 4Gb RAM, 1Tb HDD
Monitor: Samsung SyncMaster 2243BW (1680x1050)
Printer: HP Photosmart C5180 all-in-one


Tue Dec 21, 2010 7:17 pm
Profile
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 1:42 am
Posts: 4785
Has thanked: 547 times
Have thanks: 723 times
Post # 254867
Post 
wireman wrote:
Don't think that's it. I ran it directly from my FAT formatted usb stick.

Annoyingly, I can't get my 32bit Vbox to run the 64bit ISO even though the docs say it should work... :angry:


It depends on you CPU... I think it needs to support VT-x or AMD-V


Tue Dec 21, 2010 7:56 pm
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 30 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

Protected by Anti-Spam ACP Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by STSoftware for PTF.