Unable to run new 'minstall' binary

Forum for discussion and implementation of features relating directly to development of MEPIS releases.
Message
Author
User avatar
wireman
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 874
Age: 66
Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2006 7:56 am

Unable to run new 'minstall' binary

#1 Postby wireman » Sun Dec 19, 2010 2:06 pm

I've been fiddling with the Mepis installation code and generated a new 'minstall' binary. It compiles and runs fine on my desktop (Mepis 11 a4).

However, when I try and run it in a Vbox session instead of the one in /usr/sbin/, but I get this error:

Code: Select all

[root@mepis1 demo]# ./minstall
./minstall: symbol lookup error: ./minstall: undefined symbol: _ZN9QListData11detach_growEPii


If I run 'file' on the two files I get different output:

Code: Select all

[root@mepis1 demo]# file minstall
minstall: ELF 32-bit LSB executable, Intel 80386, version 1 (SYSV), dynamically linked (uses shared libs), for GNU/Linux 2.6.18, not stripped
[root@mepis1 demo]# which minstall
/usr/sbin/minstall
[root@mepis1 demo]# file /usr/sbin/minstall
/usr/sbin/minstall: ELF 32-bit LSB executable, Intel 80386, version 1 (SYSV), dynamically linked (uses shared libs), for GNU/Linux 2.6.8, not stripped



So, they're not identical. Is that the cause? Does anyone know what I need to change in my environment to get it working?
Acer Aspire X1301 desktop: AMD Athlon II X2 215, nForce 8600 chipset with integrated graphics, 4Gb RAM, 1Tb HDD
Monitor: Samsung SyncMaster 2243BW (1680x1050)
Printer: HP Photosmart C5180 all-in-one

User avatar
timkb4cq
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 3492
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 4:05 pm

#2 Postby timkb4cq » Sun Dec 19, 2010 3:34 pm

Sounds to me as if you have different library versions. Some Qt & KDE libs are not compatible across versions. If you compiled with ver. 4.7 Qt libs you can't run with 4.6 Qt Libs. The M11a4 CD comes with Qt versions 4.6.3 but IIRC, Warren just updated Qt to 4.7 in his M11 repos.
So either downgrade your Qt libs or wait for M11a5 which will have the new Qt on the CD

User avatar
Adrian
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 6366
Age: 41
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 1:42 am

#3 Postby Adrian » Sun Dec 19, 2010 4:03 pm

For GNU/Linux 2.6.8? Do you use another kernel? In any case I bet Tim is right it's a matter of library.

User avatar
wireman
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 874
Age: 66
Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2006 7:56 am

#4 Postby wireman » Sun Dec 19, 2010 4:35 pm

timkb4cq wrote:Sounds to me as if you have different library versions. Some Qt & KDE libs are not compatible across versions. If you compiled with ver. 4.7 Qt libs you can't run with 4.6 Qt Libs. The M11a4 CD comes with Qt versions 4.6.3 but IIRC, Warren just updated Qt to 4.7 in his M11 repos.
So either downgrade your Qt libs or wait for M11a5 which will have the new Qt on the CD


That's true. I did do an update in synaptic... How do I downgrade? Sounds like it could be a pain. It may be just easier to reinstall aplah4.
Acer Aspire X1301 desktop: AMD Athlon II X2 215, nForce 8600 chipset with integrated graphics, 4Gb RAM, 1Tb HDD

Monitor: Samsung SyncMaster 2243BW (1680x1050)

Printer: HP Photosmart C5180 all-in-one

User avatar
timkb4cq
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 3492
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 4:05 pm

#5 Postby timkb4cq » Sun Dec 19, 2010 6:28 pm

The 4.6.3 Qt libs are still in squeeze, so it's possible. It would probably be easier with aptitude. Just choose a lib you don't have installed, like libqt4-dev, disable Warren's repo, reload, then install that lib with aptitude. It's preferred solution should be to downgrade all the Qt libs to the squeeze version.

User avatar
Stevo
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 11476
Age: 58
Joined: Fri Dec 15, 2006 8:07 pm

#6 Postby Stevo » Sun Dec 19, 2010 10:19 pm

You also may look into doing a proper .deb package of it. Most qt4 apps can now just use debhelper to handle the packaging, so you would just use the "tiny" rules file (which dh_make in Squeeze seems to hand me by default)

Then, during the packaging, dpkg-shlibs extracts the minimum library requirements from the finished binary and adds it to the control file in the deb package.That way the QT 4 version problem would have been obvious when you tried to install it in the virtual machine.
The optimist proclaims that we live in the best of all possible worlds, and the pessimist fears this is true.

James Branch Cabell

User avatar
wireman
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 874
Age: 66
Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2006 7:56 am

#7 Postby wireman » Mon Dec 20, 2010 4:40 am

Thanks Stevo. However, the vbox session is a liveDVD session so I can't install anything. I'm trying to replicate a real installation.
Acer Aspire X1301 desktop: AMD Athlon II X2 215, nForce 8600 chipset with integrated graphics, 4Gb RAM, 1Tb HDD

Monitor: Samsung SyncMaster 2243BW (1680x1050)

Printer: HP Photosmart C5180 all-in-one

User avatar
lucky9
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 12373
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 5:54 am

#8 Postby lucky9 » Mon Dec 20, 2010 5:34 am

You can use the aufs cheatcode even in VB. So installing is possible.
Yes, even I am dishonest. Not in many ways, but in some. Forty-one, I think it is.
--Mark Twain

User avatar
wireman
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 874
Age: 66
Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2006 7:56 am

#9 Postby wireman » Mon Dec 20, 2010 10:43 am

lucky9 wrote:You can use the aufs cheatcode even in VB. So installing is possible.


I didn't think that was enabled in the mepis11 alphas yet?
Acer Aspire X1301 desktop: AMD Athlon II X2 215, nForce 8600 chipset with integrated graphics, 4Gb RAM, 1Tb HDD

Monitor: Samsung SyncMaster 2243BW (1680x1050)

Printer: HP Photosmart C5180 all-in-one

User avatar
wireman
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 874
Age: 66
Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2006 7:56 am

#10 Postby wireman » Mon Dec 20, 2010 4:21 pm

OK. I couldn't get the downgrade to work in Synaptic nor could I get my head around aptitude. A quick re-install later, I was back at a virgin Mepis 11 a4 install...

Without doing the updates to Qt 4.7 the binary still compiles fine and now works flawlessly in a liveDVD session :rock:

I'll post it in a new thread.
Acer Aspire X1301 desktop: AMD Athlon II X2 215, nForce 8600 chipset with integrated graphics, 4Gb RAM, 1Tb HDD

Monitor: Samsung SyncMaster 2243BW (1680x1050)

Printer: HP Photosmart C5180 all-in-one


Return to “Dev Team”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest