Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 
Downloaded the Beamer package, but can't use it 
MEPIS Rules!
MEPIS Rules!

Have thanks: 13 times
Post # 274900
Post Downloaded the Beamer package, but can't use it
Hi everyone,

I downloaded the LaTeX-Beamer package from the repositories, but I can't figure out how to use it. I can't use it in Lyx, nor in TexMaker. The package says it is to be used with pdflatex or dvips, but none of those programs are available in the repositories.

I'm a bit of a noob in TeX, so I might be missing something here. Any help is much appreciated.

Cheers :)

Tue May 24, 2011 12:21 pm
MEPIS Guide
MEPIS Guide

Have thanks: 1647 times
Post # 274901
Post Re: Downloaded the Beamer package, but can't use it
pdflatex is a command line tool included in the package texlive-latex-base, so you likely already have it.

As I understand it, (and I don't use latex so insert grain of salt here) Beamer is a class file for the Latex language that adds new Latex commands to be used for presentations. You still write your pages in the same way as any other LaTex document, and use pdflatex to convert the LaTex file to a PDF file of the presentation.

Google for latex-beamer examples to see how to use it. The examples should make more sense to you than they do to me, since I don't know the LaTex language.

Tue May 24, 2011 12:54 pm

timkb4cq thanked by: radissthor
MEPIS Rules!
MEPIS Rules!

Have thanks: 13 times
Post # 274993
Post Re: Downloaded the Beamer package, but can't use it
timkb4cq wrote:
pdflatex is a command line tool included in the package texlive-latex-base, so you likely already have it.

As I understand it, (and I don't use latex so insert grain of salt here) Beamer is a class file for the Latex language that adds new Latex commands to be used for presentations. You still write your pages in the same way as any other LaTex document, and use pdflatex to convert the LaTex file to a PDF file of the presentation.