MEPIS Community Forum

A Linux operating system based on Debian Stable
View unanswered posts | View unsolved topics | View active topics |



Reply to topic  [ 46 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next
Not getting correct resolution 
Author Message
Forum Novice
Forum  Novice

Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2012 12:32 am
Posts: 18
Has thanked: 19 times
Have thanks: 0 time
Post # 299442
Post Re: Not getting correct resolution
this is ridiculous, nothing seems to work


Thu May 03, 2012 11:31 pm
Profile
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 5:54 am
Posts: 10946
Location: Tulsa, Oklahoma U.S.A.
Has thanked: 3701 times
Have thanks: 887 times
Post # 299452
Post Re: Not getting correct resolution
Usually if you're running a PCIe, PCI, or AGB video card the BIOS setting will disable the onboard graphics. Mine has a 'if no graphics card slot is used, use the onboard'. But it's worth a try to disable the onboard just in case.

_________________
Yes, even I am dishonest. Not in many ways, but in some. Forty-one, I think it is.
--Mark Twain


Fri May 04, 2012 12:39 am

lucky9 thanked by: Timbo75
Profile
Forum Regular
Forum Regular

Joined: Fri Jul 28, 2006 8:19 pm
Posts: 479
Has thanked: 29 times
Have thanks: 35 times
Post # 299515
Post Re: Not getting correct resolution
Timbo75 wrote:
this is ridiculous, nothing seems to work



Yep something strange going on for sure. Found a review on your board & i am reading right the video chip is in the processor, no clue about that cause i am not up on intel stuff, i have used amd for years. (seems more bang for buck to me) Only thing i can guess is that may be interfering with recognition of system and hardware. I have had problems with 200 nvidia chips but nothing like this sorry.

Maybe some familiar with intel will have a clue, but at this point the only thing a can suggest is try on board video, from what i read its better these days. Good luck


Fri May 04, 2012 6:15 pm

fatjak thanked by: Timbo75
Profile
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 5:54 am
Posts: 10946
Location: Tulsa, Oklahoma U.S.A.
Has thanked: 3701 times
Have thanks: 887 times
Post # 299521
Post Re: Not getting correct resolution
It's barely possible that a late kernel version would help things. Which should be doable even with 800x600.

Were you able to disable the on-board video in the BIOS?

_________________
Yes, even I am dishonest. Not in many ways, but in some. Forty-one, I think it is.
--Mark Twain


Sat May 05, 2012 4:48 am

lucky9 thanked by: Timbo75
Profile
Forum Guide
Forum Guide
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 4:05 pm
Posts: 2816
Location: Pinellas Park, FL
Has thanked: 105 times
Have thanks: 1775 times
Post # 299541
Post Re: Not getting correct resolution
From your xorg.conf
Quote:
Section "Monitor"
Identifier "Monitor0"
VendorName "Unknown"
ModelName "Unknown"
HorizSync 31-48
VertRefresh 50-90
Option "DPMS"
EndSection


The Horizontal Sync of the BenQ 24" monitor I looked up is 83kHz. Given the 31 - 48 KHz restriction in the xorg.conf I suspect 800x600 is the highest resolution available in that refresh range. Try changing it to something like 31-110 then rebooting.

If that doesn't work it may be due to the Intel video chipset on your Motherboard hijacking the process. If you connect the monitor the the MB video out instead of the nVidia card & use the xdrvr=intel cheatcode from the LiveDVD you should get usable video at the correct resolution.

_________________
XFX Nforce 750 (built in GeForce 8300), Athlon X2 5000
Lenovo G550 , Intel T4400 , Intel Mobile 4 graphics


Sat May 05, 2012 5:25 pm

timkb4cq thanked by: lucky9, Timbo75
Profile
Forum Novice
Forum  Novice

Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2012 12:32 am
Posts: 18
Has thanked: 19 times
Have thanks: 0 time
Post # 299555
Post Re: Not getting correct resolution
The onboard graphics was disabled in the BIOS

I tried to use the onboard graphics but that just gave me nothing as in nothing at all. changing the horizontal sync did nothing unfortunately. I have now tried every option that smxi/sgfxi gives with varying results from nothing to max of 640x480 to 800x600 with no other options from the beta driver.


Sun May 06, 2012 12:14 am
Profile
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 5:54 am
Posts: 10946
Location: Tulsa, Oklahoma U.S.A.
Has thanked: 3701 times
Have thanks: 887 times
Post # 299556
Post Re: Not getting correct resolution
When you tried the onboard graphics did you remove the video card from its slot? I should add that a newer kernel is almost certainly needed for it to work.

_________________
Yes, even I am dishonest. Not in many ways, but in some. Forty-one, I think it is.
--Mark Twain


Sun May 06, 2012 12:17 am

lucky9 thanked by: Timbo75
Profile
Forum Novice
Forum  Novice

Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2012 12:32 am
Posts: 18
Has thanked: 19 times
Have thanks: 0 time
Post # 299557
Post Re: Not getting correct resolution
How do I get a newer kernel? More importantly is why should I need it to get simple graphics to work


Sun May 06, 2012 12:30 am
Profile
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 5:54 am
Posts: 10946
Location: Tulsa, Oklahoma U.S.A.
Has thanked: 3701 times
Have thanks: 887 times
Post # 299559
Post Re: Not getting correct resolution
I'm guessing that the chipset in your motherboard is not supported with the standard kernel that comes with Mepis. You can wait for Mepis 12 or enable (by entering it in Synaptic or manually in /etc/apt/sources.list) the debian backports repository and install the latest available kernel from there.
backports: deb http://backports.debian.org/debian-backports/ squeeze-backports main

It has a 3.2 kernel available.

There is a 2.6.39 kernel in our Community Repositories that may be late enough to help. You might want to try it first. They are easily installed or removed using Synaptic. Just reboot and choose the newest kernel choice at the GRUB boot screen. You will have to reinstall the nvidia driver (after booting into the new kernel) if you wish to use your card.

Personally I don't think you should have had this much trouble. But that's a price we pay for using Mepis. I purchased a new motherboard several years ago and found that it would not boot Mepis. I was stuck until the next version came out. Fortunately there were enough other people that it didn't take very long to get a fix out.
For the latest hardware there are better choices OOTB than Mepis. You pay a price for stability and having everything come from Warren Woodford. Most of us think it's worth it.

_________________
Yes, even I am dishonest. Not in many ways, but in some. Forty-one, I think it is.
--Mark Twain


Sun May 06, 2012 3:37 am
Profile
Forum Guide
Forum Guide

Joined: Tue Jul 25, 2006 12:47 pm
Posts: 1451
Location: Savannah, GA
Has thanked: 85 times
Have thanks: 287 times
Post # 299563
Post Re: Not getting correct resolution
What BenQ 24" display at 1920x1080 native resolution are you using (exact model number for it)?

With quick google searches, I see lots of threads about problems with the way some of the BenQ displays are being detected (not only with linux, but with windows, too).

The solution I see posted about some of them is creating an EDID file with the correct information about it, and there are a number of free utilities around designed to poll monitors for more info that you can copy the results from and paste into an ESSID file, after modifying it to correct any incorrect information the monitor is returning to those types of detection utilities (which appears to be the case with some BenQ displays, causing issues because they're not returning correct information to display detection routines).

I've even found some forum threads with people that understand that kind of thing offering to correct the files collected by those utilities (since some of the BenQ monitors appear to be returning incorrect information about the needed settings to utilities polling monitor information).

You say that a newer Nvidia Driver and utilities are installed, right (and I'd use the sgfxi script to do that, as pointed out in previous posts)?

IOW, if you look under KMenu>Settings>More Applications, you should see a menu choice to start Nvidia X Server Settings.

Does that work, and do you see information about your display under it's X-Server Display Configuration menu option?

It should show you buttons to detect displays, set resolution (using either Auto or setting it manually) and more.

If the Nvidia driver is being used and your monitor is showing up in that program, yet the available resolution options are not correct, then you may need to load a corrected EDID file for your specific display model.

If you expand the GPU0 choice on the left side of the Nvidia X-Server Settings program, you should find a menu choice in that section labeled something like DFP-0 with the model of the display being detected. On the screen you get using that menu option, you'll see a button to load an EDID file (and if you have one that has the correct parameters for your display in it, that may solve the issue if your system is trying to use the correct Nvidia driver and just doesn't understand enough about the monitor being detected).

So, I'd let us know the exact model of the display you're using and perhaps we can figure out a way to find you an EDID file that works with it.

That may not be the issue. But, given that I do find threads about incorrect monitor detection causing problems with resolution settings with some BenQ displays, I'd probably try loading a corrected EDID file for it to see if it's just a problem with the way it's being detected.

Edited to correct term for EDID (incorrectly used ESSID versus EDIT to begin with).


Last edited by JimC on Sun May 06, 2012 12:37 pm, edited 2 times in total.



Sun May 06, 2012 12:12 pm

JimC thanked by: lucky9
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 46 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

Protected by Anti-Spam ACP Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by STSoftware for PTF.