MEPIS Community Forum

A Linux operating system based on Debian Stable
View unanswered posts | View unsolved topics | View active topics |



Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Ableton and WINE? 
Author Message
Forum Novice
Forum  Novice
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2012 9:08 pm
Posts: 6
Location: USA
Has thanked: 0 time
Have thanks: 0 time
Post # 295951
Post Ableton and WINE?
I recently switched to MEPIS and am new to the Linux community. I'd like to get Ableton running.
I discovered WINE and haven't found the magic configuration...
Can't make it past the install screen.

Any recommendation?

so far I've installed Jack, WINE, Ardour


Sat Feb 18, 2012 10:39 pm
Profile
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
User avatar

Joined: Fri Dec 15, 2006 8:07 pm
Posts: 8707
Location: Skullcrusher Mountain, Santee, CA USA
Has thanked: 586 times
Have thanks: 1959 times
Post # 295952
Post Re: Ableton and WINE?
According to this: http://appdb.winehq.org/objectManager.p ... n&iId=2113

the chances look really good with the latest builds of Wine, such as in our community repo. I am not sure how old those patch instructions are; they could be from a couple of years ago, however, our present Wine method of building Wine for the CR makes it easy to apply or even create custom patches. If you are having trouble with Wine 1.4~rc3, I'll see if that patch applies.


Sat Feb 18, 2012 10:57 pm
Profile
Online
Forum Guide
Forum Guide
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 4:05 pm
Posts: 2821
Location: Pinellas Park, FL
Has thanked: 106 times
Have thanks: 1779 times
Post # 295953
Post Re: Ableton and WINE?
Following the bug report the patch was for, it appears the fix made it to trunk in 1.3.24 so the 1.4rc3 version should be good to go.

BTW, 1.4rc1 fixed my Alltunes regression without introducing any new ones. If there are no further problems it looks like 1.4 final should go to main CR.

_________________
XFX Nforce 750 (built in GeForce 8300), Athlon X2 5000
Lenovo G550 , Intel T4400 , Intel Mobile 4 graphics


Sun Feb 19, 2012 12:29 am

timkb4cq thanked by: Stevo
Profile
Forum Novice
Forum  Novice
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2012 9:08 pm
Posts: 6
Location: USA
Has thanked: 0 time
Have thanks: 0 time
Post # 296099
Post Re: Ableton and WINE?
Thanks for the link!
i worked my way through the list of comands, but got hung up on
Code:
$ patch -p1 < abletonexport.diff


At this point im not sure if im even in the right directory when working in konsole
I took this approach....

Code:
[root@tebadoh tebadoh]# git clone git://source.winehq.org/git/wine.git && cd wine
Cloning into wine...
remote: Counting objects: 645204, done.
remote: Compressing objects: 100% (107254/107254), done.
remote: Total 645204 (delta 536250), reused 645185 (delta 536231)
Receiving objects: 100% (645204/645204), 120.46 MiB | 620 KiB/s, done.
Resolving deltas: 100% (536250/536250), done.
[root@tebadoh wine]# patch -p1 < abletonexport.diff
bash: abletonexport.diff: No such file or directory


am i even installing it in the right directory?
and if not - how do i remove it and install it correctly?


Mon Feb 20, 2012 6:12 pm
Profile
Online
Forum Guide
Forum Guide
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 4:05 pm
Posts: 2821
Location: Pinellas Park, FL
Has thanked: 106 times
Have thanks: 1779 times
Post # 296105
Post Re: Ableton and WINE?
You shouldn't need to use the patch to compile your own Wine. It was added into the regular wine release in version 1.3.24. We have a newer release than that in the Community Repository.
You should enable the Testing Community Repository in Synaptic. That's the one marked
http://main.mepis-deb.org/mepiscr/testrepo/
Reload and install wine 1.4rc3 with Synaptic.
Disable the testing repo after installing Wine. It's not good to do your regular updates with the testing repo enabled.

_________________
XFX Nforce 750 (built in GeForce 8300), Athlon X2 5000
Lenovo G550 , Intel T4400 , Intel Mobile 4 graphics


Mon Feb 20, 2012 7:00 pm
Profile
Forum Novice
Forum  Novice
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2012 9:08 pm
Posts: 6
Location: USA
Has thanked: 0 time
Have thanks: 0 time
Post # 296463
Post Re: Ableton and WINE?
I GOT IT WORKING!

Image

Once I did the wine update - the install went smoothly.

The audio is glitching out.
Not sure if its the latency or another issue, but ableton is EATING my processor.


Sun Feb 26, 2012 6:56 pm
Profile
Forum Novice
Forum  Novice
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2012 9:08 pm
Posts: 6
Location: USA
Has thanked: 0 time
Have thanks: 0 time
Post # 297000
Post Re: Ableton and WINE?
So ableton runs, but crashes every time I try to save or export/render the audio.
:frustrated:
WineHQ mentioned a patch that would solve this problem, but how do I install it from synaptic?

I'm running Ableton 8.2.2


Thu Mar 08, 2012 10:53 pm
Profile
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
User avatar

Joined: Fri Dec 15, 2006 8:07 pm
Posts: 8707
Location: Skullcrusher Mountain, Santee, CA USA
Has thanked: 586 times
Have thanks: 1959 times
Post # 297004
Post Re: Ableton and WINE?
Patches have to be applied to the source code before the program is compiled into a machine-language binary. The programs installed from Synaptic have already gone through this compiling process, and patching does not apply. It is possible to get the source from our repo and change it, but how old are these patches that you mention? Wine is changing very rapidly, and you may have to get an older version to patch.


Thu Mar 08, 2012 11:51 pm
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 8 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

Protected by Anti-Spam ACP Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by STSoftware for PTF.