K3B

Message
Author
User avatar
mepisuser
Posts: 169
Joined: Wed Jul 29, 2009 4:51 am

K3B

#1 Postby mepisuser » Fri Feb 24, 2012 4:27 am

Is v2 of K3B capable of working with Mepis 8.0 / KDE 3.5?

If so, has anyone got a repository listing for it?

Thanks

User avatar
m_pav
Forum Guide
Forum Guide
Posts: 2499
Age: 49
Joined: Sun Aug 06, 2006 3:02 pm

Re: K3B

#2 Postby m_pav » Fri Feb 24, 2012 5:19 am

I wouldn't think so, the build requires kdelibs 4.x to build, but I am not an expert in the building arena.

Mike P
Mike P

Regd Linux User #472293
(Mine)Lenovo T550, i7-5600U, 16GB, 128GB SSD + 1.0TB HDD, MX15 64-bit
(Wifes) Asus M4A88TD-M, AMD Phenom II x4 955 CPU, nVidia GF610, 6Gb, 500GB+320GB, MX14 + KDE
(Kids) Intel NUC, J1900, 4GB, 64GB SSD, MX14 + KDE

User avatar
Stevo
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 10965
Age: 57
Joined: Fri Dec 15, 2006 8:07 pm

Re: K3B

#3 Postby Stevo » Fri Feb 24, 2012 8:15 pm

The only thing that may be possible is to create a hybrid 8.0-8.5 system, much like some are using to keep up-to-date with Firefox on 8.0.

I am not sure if the MEPIS 8.5 kde4 runtime libraries are compatible with the older 3.5 desktop--I think it worked in the opposite direction, as in running 3.5 applications on the 4.3.4 desktop. You can run an older kde4 ktorrent in the Lenny repo on M8.0, so it may be possible, unless they put an artificial Conflicts in there. I would have to verify this in a virtual machine before I'd risk it on a real installation. I know GTK applications such as Firefox and GIMP have no trouble at all with the mixed system.
The optimist proclaims that we live in the best of all possible worlds, and the pessimist fears this is true.

James Branch Cabell


Return to “Software / Configuration”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests