MEPIS Community Forum

A Linux operating system based on Debian Stable
View unanswered posts | View unsolved topics | View active topics |



Reply to topic  [ 124 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 13  Next
M 12 alpha getting close 
Author Message
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2006 6:13 am
Posts: 9912
Location: Geneva NY
Has thanked: 2818 times
Have thanks: 1830 times
Post # 299317
Post M 12 alpha getting close
I wrote Warren today, asking for news, got this back:
Quote:
Hi Jerry,

I have it running in 32 and 64 (in sync with Wheezy but with a 3.3
kernel) and booting on DVD.

I need to do some clean up on the DVD boot and update minstall.

Then it should be ready for an alpha, maybe about two weeks.

_________________
A Wiki only works when many eyes are on it.

32bit, 3.12-0.bpo.1-686-pae, MX-14, AMD Phenom 9650 Quad-Core, Dell SP2309W with integrated webcam, Nvidia GeForce 6150SE, 4 GB DDR2


Tue May 01, 2012 7:41 pm Profile
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 11, 2006 10:42 pm
Posts: 4341
Has thanked: 115 times
Have thanks: 872 times
Post # 299325
Post Re: M 12 alpha getting close
Sweet. Time to clear off a partition...

I've been playing with the new Ubuntu and Kubuntu the last couple of evenings. Phew. Makes me appreciate Warren's work once again. Unity... sorry, that's just silly. Kubuntu, on the other hand, is pretty sweet.

But, I've got no sound in either one. Comparing Kubuntu to my M11 install, I think I need to install the Phonon Xine backend. Ubuntu, I have no clue. All of which is disappointing. Nowadays there's no excuse for bog standard sound not to work out of the box with any recent desktop Linux install.

00:14.2 Audio device: ATI Technologies Inc SBx00 Azalia (Intel HDA) (rev 40)

_________________
Desktop: Custom build Asus/AMD/nVidia -- MEPIS 11
Netbook: Fujitsu Lifebook Pentium M -- MX-14
Laptop: Acer Aspire 5250 AMD Dual -- SolydK 64


Tue May 01, 2012 10:45 pm
Profile
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jul 15, 2006 10:57 am
Posts: 797
Has thanked: 22 times
Have thanks: 115 times
Post # 299331
Post Re: M 12 alpha getting close
AMD's HDA bridges can get a little messy depending on whether or not it's an IGP or an APU part.

Right off hand the SBx00 would indicate a SouthBridge part, ergo, an older IGP part.

_________________
Slow, lazy, but still around: Call me if ya need help
http://zerias.blogspot.com
http://www.mepisguides.com
Biting the Bullet: Help
Want to buy Mepis Based Computer? Ask me!
http://bit.ly/fbs47I


Wed May 02, 2012 1:58 am
Profile WWW
Forum Guide
Forum Guide
User avatar

Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2007 5:49 pm
Posts: 2656
Location: Doncaster UK
Has thanked: 110 times
Have thanks: 733 times
Post # 299341
Post Re: M 12 alpha getting close
uncle mark wrote:
But, I've got no sound in either one. Comparing Kubuntu to my M11 install, I think I need to install the Phonon Xine backend. Ubuntu, I have no clue. All of which is disappointing. Nowadays there's no excuse for bog standard sound not to work out of the box with any recent desktop Linux install.

00:14.2 Audio device: ATI Technologies Inc SBx00 Azalia (Intel HDA) (rev 40)

Kubuntu or any other Linux OS will not set up sound in your Bios for you, that is up to you to do.
Because sound does work out of the box with the motherboard in your signature, if the bios is setup correctly.

_________________
*Never be afraid to try something new. Remember that a lone amateur built the Ark. A large group of professionals built the Titanic(Windoze)*

Kubuntu KDE 4.11.00 / KDE 4.11.60 / Debian Wheezy KDE 4.10.4 / Plasma Active 3 Tablet


Wed May 02, 2012 7:59 am
Profile
Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 2:17 pm
Posts: 10608
Location: Rochester NY
Has thanked: 816 times
Have thanks: 1408 times
Post # 299342
Post Re: M 12 alpha getting close
Danum wrote:
uncle mark wrote:
But, I've got no sound in either one. Comparing Kubuntu to my M11 install, I think I need to install the Phonon Xine backend. Ubuntu, I have no clue. All of which is disappointing. Nowadays there's no excuse for bog standard sound not to work out of the box with any recent desktop Linux install.

00:14.2 Audio device: ATI Technologies Inc SBx00 Azalia (Intel HDA) (rev 40)

Kubuntu or any other Linux OS will not set up sound in your Bios for you, that is up to you to do.
Because sound does work out of the box with the motherboard in your signature, if the bios is setup correctly.

With my sandy bridge processor, Nvidia Optimus, the system would not even boot until I disabled the discrete Nvidia GPU in favor of the integrated intel GPU. Not strictly a sound issue, but punctuates the importance of bios settings in Linux.

_________________
Forum Rules
Guide - How to Ask for Help
Link to Wiki
Rich

Acer Laptop V5-572G: Intel i5, 12 GIG mem, nVidia GT720M/Intel integrated graphics
Mx-14 Symbiosis
Kubuntu 13.10, KDE 4.11.2


Wed May 02, 2012 8:13 am
Profile
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2006 6:13 am
Posts: 9912
Location: Geneva NY
Has thanked: 2818 times
Have thanks: 1830 times
Post # 299343
Post Re: M 12 alpha getting close
Quote:
the importance of bios settings in Linux
We have nothing in the Manual on this! I have started a separate thread to try to collect ideas for the next edition.

_________________
A Wiki only works when many eyes are on it.

32bit, 3.12-0.bpo.1-686-pae, MX-14, AMD Phenom 9650 Quad-Core, Dell SP2309W with integrated webcam, Nvidia GeForce 6150SE, 4 GB DDR2


Wed May 02, 2012 8:18 am

Jerry3904 thanked by: richb
Profile
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 11, 2006 10:42 pm
Posts: 4341
Has thanked: 115 times
Have thanks: 872 times
Post # 299349
Post Re: M 12 alpha getting close
Danum wrote:
uncle mark wrote:
But, I've got no sound in either one. Comparing Kubuntu to my M11 install, I think I need to install the Phonon Xine backend. Ubuntu, I have no clue. All of which is disappointing. Nowadays there's no excuse for bog standard sound not to work out of the box with any recent desktop Linux install.

00:14.2 Audio device: ATI Technologies Inc SBx00 Azalia (Intel HDA) (rev 40)

Kubuntu or any other Linux OS will not set up sound in your Bios for you, that is up to you to do.
Because sound does work out of the box with the motherboard in your signature, if the bios is setup correctly.


Yeah, it's the same machine, with the same BIOS settings since I built it and set it up over a year ago. This is the first time I've had any difficulty with any sound stuff on it with any installs I've done. At least that I recall. It's been a long while since I've done any. I'll take a look in there when I get a chance.

_________________
Desktop: Custom build Asus/AMD/nVidia -- MEPIS 11
Netbook: Fujitsu Lifebook Pentium M -- MX-14
Laptop: Acer Aspire 5250 AMD Dual -- SolydK 64


Wed May 02, 2012 9:12 am
Profile
Forum Guide
Forum Guide
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 4:43 am
Posts: 2426
Location: Nederweert-Eind, The Netherlands
Has thanked: 41 times
Have thanks: 202 times
Post # 299366
Post Re: M 12 alpha getting close
Jerry3904 wrote:
I wrote Warren today, asking for news, got this back:
Quote:
Hi Jerry,

I have it running in 32 and 64 (in sync with Wheezy but with a 3.3
kernel) and booting on DVD.
I need to do some clean up on the DVD boot and update minstall.
Then it should be ready for an alpha, maybe about two weeks.

Ahhh, a 3.3 kernel -I like the one currently used in antiX M12: version 3.3.3

_________________
Ko Bros Linux User #312596.  Mepis,Debian,antiX,MX14,MX14.2,...Win7


Wed May 02, 2012 2:14 pm
Profile
Forum Guide
Forum Guide
User avatar

Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2007 6:29 pm
Posts: 1040
Location: UK
Has thanked: 802 times
Have thanks: 87 times
Post # 299370
Post Re: M 12 alpha getting close
Will M12 be Grubwise compatible with older Mepis versions?


Wed May 02, 2012 5:55 pm
Profile
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 2:26 pm
Posts: 6881
Has thanked: 374 times
Have thanks: 2201 times
Post # 299371
Post Re: M 12 alpha getting close
GuiGuy wrote:
Will M12 be Grubwise compatible with older Mepis versions?

M12 will use grub2 if that's what you're asking. viewtopic.php?p=294100#p294100


Wed May 02, 2012 6:32 pm

kmathern thanked by: GuiGuy
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 124 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 13  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

Protected by Anti-Spam ACP Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by STSoftware for PTF.