Getting my microphone to work

Here is where users who have been using MEPIS awhile and know the basics of linux and MEPIS can ask questions.
Message
Author
User avatar
eppoh
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 353
Joined: Sat Apr 07, 2007 5:32 pm

Getting my microphone to work

#1 Postby eppoh » Tue Oct 25, 2011 1:27 pm

I have never needed to use a microphone until now. Running M8.5 on my Fujitsu lappy, but can figure out how to get the mic working.

The mixer does not show a mic volume anywhere, only a mic jack mode drop down box.

Trying to get it to work with google voice.
For we wrestle not against flesh and blood, but against principalities, against powers, against the rulers of the darkness of this world, against spiritual wickedness in high places.

User avatar
m_pav
Forum Guide
Forum Guide
Posts: 2499
Age: 49
Joined: Sun Aug 06, 2006 3:02 pm

Re: Getting my microphone to work

#2 Postby m_pav » Wed Oct 26, 2011 1:26 am

First thing you can try is the alsamixer, but there's not that much more from there

When I came across this type of scenario, I found the system required a bit more than a tweak here and there.
1) Kernel upgrade
2) gcc upgrade
3) Alsa lib upgrade
4) xorg upgrade
and the list goes on, so in short, I would try a Mepis 11 Live-DVD

Mike P
Mike P

Regd Linux User #472293
(Mine)Lenovo T550, i7-5600U, 16GB, 128GB SSD + 1.0TB HDD, MX15 64-bit
(Wifes) Asus M4A88TD-M, AMD Phenom II x4 955 CPU, nVidia GF610, 6Gb, 500GB+320GB, MX14 + KDE
(Kids) Intel NUC, J1900, 4GB, 64GB SSD, MX14 + KDE

User avatar
chatan
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 798
Joined: Fri Oct 17, 2008 8:19 pm

Re: Getting my microphone to work

#3 Postby chatan » Wed Oct 26, 2011 4:32 am

eppoh wrote:The mixer does not show a mic volume anywhere, only a mic jack mode drop down box.


From wiki this might help - not sure if it applies to 8.5:
Not all sound channels are shown in the mixer window by default. Open Kmix >>> Settings >>> Configure Channels and then select the channels to show.

Cheers

User avatar
lucky9
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 12218
Age: 70
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 5:54 am

Re: Getting my microphone to work

#4 Postby lucky9 » Wed Oct 26, 2011 11:52 am

For the record, the User Manual and Wiki is the first place to go.
Yes, even I am dishonest. Not in many ways, but in some. Forty-one, I think it is.
--Mark Twain

User avatar
Eadwine Rose
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 4127
Age: 43
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 2:10 am

Re: Getting my microphone to work

#5 Postby Eadwine Rose » Thu Oct 27, 2011 2:12 am

Simplest thing to check. Open the konsole, type: alsamixer

see if any sliders are down that should be up or maybe things are muted. I believe alsamixer should be in 8.5
MX-15_x64 Fusion 24 Dec 2015 ext4 Xfce 4.12.2 * AMD Asus M4A785TD-V EVO AM3 * ASUS GeForce GT640-1GD5-L * AMD Processor Athlon II X4 635, sAM3 * HDA ATI SB (VT1708S Analog) * 2x4Gb DDR3 1600 Kingston * 22" Samsung SyncMaster P2250 * HP DeskJet F2280

User avatar
eppoh
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 353
Joined: Sat Apr 07, 2007 5:32 pm

Re: Getting my microphone to work

#6 Postby eppoh » Thu Oct 27, 2011 9:09 am

Here is a shot of that. No mic shown
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
For we wrestle not against flesh and blood, but against principalities, against powers, against the rulers of the darkness of this world, against spiritual wickedness in high places.

User avatar
Danum
Forum Guide
Forum Guide
Posts: 2687
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2007 5:49 pm

Re: Getting my microphone to work

#7 Postby Danum » Thu Oct 27, 2011 9:21 am

In Konsole, what does

Code: Select all

pacmd list-sinks | grep device.description

show,
Desktop.
Zalman Z11 Plus ATX PC Tower, AMD FX 8350 Black Edition Vishera, 8 Core 4.4 GHz, Kingston HyperX FURY Red 16GB, Nvidia GT740 Graphics, Pioneer BDR-209EBK Writer, 2 x Seagate 1TB SSHD SATA Hybrid Hard Drives. ASUS VS278Q 27 inch HD Monitor

xToeCutter

Re: Getting my microphone to work

#8 Postby xToeCutter » Thu Oct 27, 2011 10:24 am

That Alsamix SS looks like Mike is muted (red?) or is that how it looks when you select it . Also turn up the digital. Use the arrow key to access more options on the Alsamix terminal.

User avatar
eppoh
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 353
Joined: Sat Apr 07, 2007 5:32 pm

Re: Getting my microphone to work

#9 Postby eppoh » Thu Oct 27, 2011 6:51 pm

Danum wrote:In Konsole, what does

Code: Select all

pacmd list-sinks | grep device.description

show,


bash: command not found
For we wrestle not against flesh and blood, but against principalities, against powers, against the rulers of the darkness of this world, against spiritual wickedness in high places.

User avatar
kmathern
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 8897
Age: 57
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 2:26 pm

Re: Getting my microphone to work

#10 Postby kmathern » Thu Oct 27, 2011 6:59 pm

eppoh wrote:
Danum wrote:In Konsole, what does

Code: Select all

pacmd list-sinks | grep device.description

show,


bash: command not found

Install the pulseaudio-utils package.

http://packages.debian.org/search?suite ... ords=pacmd


Return to “Regulars”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests