MEPIS Community Forum

A Linux operating system based on Debian Stable
View unanswered posts | View unsolved topics | View active topics |



Reply to topic  [ 69 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 7  Next
Fresh install question 
Author Message
MEPIS is cool!
MEPIS is cool!
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2007 6:57 am
Posts: 949
Location: West Central PA
Has thanked: 35 times
Have thanks: 30 times
Post # 293085
Post Fresh install question  [Solved]
If I were to do a complete fresh install would it be ok to make a separate partition on my HD and just copy my home folder to it to not loose all the info or, are there certain things in that folder that should not be saved? What should I leave off?

Also, I have a mepis 11.0 DVD from several months ago. There will be bunches of updates if I run with that disk. Would burning a new DVD iso image be more up to date or not?
Thank you for all your help and I am sorry for being such a pain lately.


Sun Jan 08, 2012 11:57 pm
Profile WWW
Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 2:17 pm
Posts: 10233
Location: Rochester NY
Has thanked: 761 times
Have thanks: 1280 times
Post # 293086
Post Re: Fresh install question
You can do a fresh install on the same partitions you have setup. Since it is a Mepis 11 to a Mepis 11 the installer will allow you to safely save home automatically. Just check the appropriate box. You will however have to re-install any apps you have added.

Refer to this wiki article on an easy process to save and re-install those applications.

http://www.mepis.org/docs/en/index.php? ... _your_data

_________________
Forum Rules
Guide - How to Ask for Help
Link to Wiki
Rich

Acer Laptop V5-572G: Intel i5, 12 GIG mem, nVidia GT720M/Intel integrated graphics
Mx-14 Symbiosis
Kubuntu 13.10, KDE 4.11.2


Mon Jan 09, 2012 12:05 am
Profile
MEPIS is cool!
MEPIS is cool!
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2007 6:57 am
Posts: 949
Location: West Central PA
Has thanked: 35 times
Have thanks: 30 times
Post # 293087
Post Re: Fresh install question
What about things like FF and TB that have folders inside the home folder? I would want to delete them first right? Wouldn't they bring the same troubles with them into the new setup?


Mon Jan 09, 2012 12:19 am
Profile WWW
Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 2:17 pm
Posts: 10233
Location: Rochester NY
Has thanked: 761 times
Have thanks: 1280 times
Post # 293090
Post Re: Fresh install question
Dieselrider wrote:
What about things like FF and TB that have folders inside the home folder? I would want to delete them first right? Wouldn't they bring the same troubles with them into the new setup?

I am not sure as we have not really identified your problem. Why not just rename them first.
Also if you use the wiki method I mentioned you would reinstall any current deb installed FF and FB packages.

The other option is just to start from scratch after backing up your personal data which should be done in any case. Then add the packages you need. I usually do it that way as I like to start from scratch and remove any crud that I have collected I no longer use or need.

_________________
Forum Rules
Guide - How to Ask for Help
Link to Wiki
Rich

Acer Laptop V5-572G: Intel i5, 12 GIG mem, nVidia GT720M/Intel integrated graphics
Mx-14 Symbiosis
Kubuntu 13.10, KDE 4.11.2


Mon Jan 09, 2012 12:32 am
Profile
MEPIS Enthusiast
MEPIS Enthusiast
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 2:10 am
Posts: 3258
Location: The Netherlands
Has thanked: 256 times
Have thanks: 297 times
Post # 293092
Post Re: Fresh install question
I would not take /home along in your case. Just save the files that need saving and load them back in. Yes it is a bit of work to get all your software at the previous level but it is the cleanest possible way.

DO start out with ff and tb, and the flash and opening links and all that and then focus on the rest :smile:

_________________
MX-14 Final ext4 Xfce4.10 * AMD Asus M4A785TD-V EVO AM3 * ASUS GeForce GT640-1GD5-L * AMD Processor Athlon II X4 635, sAM3 * HDA ATI SB (VT1708S Analog) * 2x4Gb DDR3 1600 Kingston * 22" Samsung SyncMaster P2250 * HP DeskJet F2280


Mon Jan 09, 2012 2:49 am
Profile
MEPIS is cool!
MEPIS is cool!
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2007 6:57 am
Posts: 949
Location: West Central PA
Has thanked: 35 times
Have thanks: 30 times
Post # 293093
Post Re: Fresh install question
I have plenty of extra room on this HD and made another partition to save data to. However I tried to just copy data to it and it will not allow me to do that. Says access denied. I can't remember how to setup the partition to be allowed to write to it.


You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.


Mon Jan 09, 2012 5:59 am
Profile WWW
MEPIS Enthusiast
MEPIS Enthusiast
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 5:54 am
Posts: 10311
Location: Tulsa, Oklahoma U.S.A.
Has thanked: 3247 times
Have thanks: 752 times
Post # 293096
Post Re: Fresh install question
I think you can open Dolphin as su and go to /mnt and right-click. Choose Permissions and change them to your User. You can also just move the data as root which is probably a better idea most of the time.

_________________
Yes, even I am dishonest. Not in many ways, but in some. Forty-one, I think it is.
--Mark Twain


Mon Jan 09, 2012 8:07 am
Profile
MEPIS Enthusiast
MEPIS Enthusiast
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 2:10 am
Posts: 3258
Location: The Netherlands
Has thanked: 256 times
Have thanks: 297 times
Post # 293098
Post Re: Fresh install question
Ah yes, I had to do that too on the extra partition I had. Simply right click indeed, no biggie :smile:

_________________
MX-14 Final ext4 Xfce4.10 * AMD Asus M4A785TD-V EVO AM3 * ASUS GeForce GT640-1GD5-L * AMD Processor Athlon II X4 635, sAM3 * HDA ATI SB (VT1708S Analog) * 2x4Gb DDR3 1600 Kingston * 22" Samsung SyncMaster P2250 * HP DeskJet F2280


Mon Jan 09, 2012 8:14 am
Profile
MEPIS is cool!
MEPIS is cool!
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2007 6:57 am
Posts: 949
Location: West Central PA
Has thanked: 35 times
Have thanks: 30 times
Post # 293103
Post Re: Fresh install question
lucky9 wrote:
I think you can open Dolphin as su and go to /mnt and right-click. Choose Permissions and change them to your User. You can also just move the data as root which is probably a better idea most of the time.



How do I open dolphin as root?


Mon Jan 09, 2012 9:32 am
Profile WWW
MEPIS Enthusiast
MEPIS Enthusiast
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 2:10 am
Posts: 3258
Location: The Netherlands
Has thanked: 256 times
Have thanks: 297 times
Post # 293104
Post Re: Fresh install question
It's in the menu! Under system.

_________________
MX-14 Final ext4 Xfce4.10 * AMD Asus M4A785TD-V EVO AM3 * ASUS GeForce GT640-1GD5-L * AMD Processor Athlon II X4 635, sAM3 * HDA ATI SB (VT1708S Analog) * 2x4Gb DDR3 1600 Kingston * 22" Samsung SyncMaster P2250 * HP DeskJet F2280


Mon Jan 09, 2012 9:42 am
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 69 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 7  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

Protected by Anti-Spam ACP Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by STSoftware for PTF.