Fresh install question

Help for Mepis 11
Message
Author
User avatar
kmathern
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 9093
Age: 58
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 2:26 pm

Re: Fresh install question

#41 Postby kmathern » Tue Jan 10, 2012 10:33 am

Dieselrider wrote:Kent, once again I take my hat off to you and your persistent ability to help people on this site. That works just as described. Thank you so much. :worship: :worship:
It only took (by my count) 281 posts in about 7 different threads.

User avatar
richb
Administrator
Posts: 13053
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 2:17 pm

Re: Fresh install question

#42 Postby richb » Tue Jan 10, 2012 10:38 am

kmathern wrote:
Dieselrider wrote:Kent, once again I take my hat off to you and your persistent ability to help people on this site. That works just as described. Thank you so much. :worship: :worship:
It only took (by my count) 281 posts in about 7 different threads.

Amen! But it kept my interest over several days. One of the problems was the different FF and TB packages installed and the differences between them regardless of being the same version. Having both a CR and Warren version of 9.01 a prime example. Hopefully with 11.5 and the coordination of the Development team this can be avoided. (two FF packages, same version).
Forum Rules
Guide - How to Ask for Help

Rich

Laptop: Acer V5-572G: Intel i5, 12 GIG mem, Intel graphics, SanDisk SSD, 256GB
Virtualbox: Win 7
Desktop: MX-15- 64, AMD A8 7600 FM2+ CPU R7 Graphics, fglrx driver, 16 GIG Mem. Samsung EVO SSD 250 GB

User avatar
uncle mark
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 5360
Age: 2015
Joined: Sat Nov 11, 2006 10:42 pm

Re: Fresh install question

#43 Postby uncle mark » Tue Jan 10, 2012 10:41 am

@Dieselrider & Zevon, I've finally been able to duplicate your problem on Mepis 11.0 with KDE 4.6.5 and think I have a fix.


Warren needs to be made aware of this.
Desktop: Custom build Asus/AMD/nVidia -- MX-15 KDE, MEPIS 11
Laptop: Acer Aspire 5250 -- MX-15

User avatar
Jerry3904
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 15321
Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2006 6:13 am

Re: Fresh install question

#44 Postby Jerry3904 » Tue Jan 10, 2012 10:51 am

> Development Team

(I still need to get a charge written for them...have been putting a new business in place)
Production: 4.2.0-0.bpo.1-amd64, MX-15 RC1, AMD FX-4130 Quad-Core, GeForce GT 630/PCIe/SSE2, 8 GB, Kingston SSD 120 GB and WesternDigital 1TB
Testing: AAO 722: 3.16-0-4-686-pae. MX-15, AMD C-60 APU, 4 GB

User avatar
richb
Administrator
Posts: 13053
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 2:17 pm

Re: Fresh install question

#45 Postby richb » Tue Jan 10, 2012 10:59 am

Jerry3904 wrote:> Development Team

(I still need to get a charge written for them...have been putting a new business in place)

Best of luck with it Jerry! Sounds exciting and certainly should be your first priority.
Forum Rules
Guide - How to Ask for Help

Rich

Laptop: Acer V5-572G: Intel i5, 12 GIG mem, Intel graphics, SanDisk SSD, 256GB
Virtualbox: Win 7
Desktop: MX-15- 64, AMD A8 7600 FM2+ CPU R7 Graphics, fglrx driver, 16 GIG Mem. Samsung EVO SSD 250 GB

User avatar
DBeckett
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 3069
Joined: Sat May 16, 2009 3:59 pm

Re: Fresh install question

#46 Postby DBeckett » Tue Jan 10, 2012 4:36 pm

kmathern wrote:The x-www-browser setting doesn't seem to affect this, I set it back to Konqueror and links still opened in firefox. The settings in System Settings also don't seems to affect this.

+1 on that.

Data point:

I have TB 2.0.0.24, TB 9.01, and Firefox 9.01 here — all are unzipped tarballs. Either version of TB will open links in FF, no matter whether FF is running initially or not.

su -c 'update-alternatives --config x-www-browser' has no effect. It actually does not even show FF as a choice, only Opera and Konqueror.
Gigabyte 990FXA-UD3, AMD FX-6100 hex-core, 3.3GHz, 8G, Radeon HD6570

User avatar
kmathern
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 9093
Age: 58
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 2:26 pm

Re: Fresh install question

#47 Postby kmathern » Tue Jan 10, 2012 5:46 pm

DBeckett wrote:
kmathern wrote:The x-www-browser setting doesn't seem to affect this, I set it back to Konqueror and links still opened in firefox. The settings in System Settings also don't seems to affect this.

+1 on that.

Data point:

I have TB 2.0.0.24, TB 9.01, and Firefox 9.01 here — all are unzipped tarballs. Either version of TB will open links in FF, no matter whether FF is running initially or not.

su -c 'update-alternatives --config x-www-browser' has no effect. It actually does not even show FF as a choice, only Opera and Konqueror.

Firefox is added as an alternative when the debian packaged version is installed. If you're using a tarball install of firefox and have removed the firefox package you wouldn't see it.

Firefox shows up as an alternative with Stevo's FF9 package and I think it also does with the FF4 that Mepis 11.0 came with. I seem to recall that it was missing as an alternative with Warren's FF9 package even though I did see some code for it in the post install script.

User avatar
DBeckett
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 3069
Joined: Sat May 16, 2009 3:59 pm

Re: Fresh install question

#48 Postby DBeckett » Tue Jan 10, 2012 9:10 pm

kmathern wrote:Firefox is added as an alternative when the debian packaged version is installed. If you're using a tarball install of firefox and have removed the firefox package you wouldn't see it.

Yes, I assumed that. I was just pointing out the subtle confusion that can occur.
Gigabyte 990FXA-UD3, AMD FX-6100 hex-core, 3.3GHz, 8G, Radeon HD6570

User avatar
Zevon
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 549
Joined: Sat Dec 13, 2008 11:23 am

Re: Fresh install question

#49 Postby Zevon » Wed Jan 11, 2012 12:47 am

kmathern wrote:@Dieselrider & Zevon, I've finally been able to duplicate your problem on Mepis 11.0 with KDE 4.6.5 and think I have a fix. {I wasn't experiencing the problem on my sid installs using a tarball firefox}

The problem seems to be with Warren's FF9, so install Stevo's FF9 that's in the Mepis 8.5 CR. For thunderbird I'm using Stevos TB9 in the M11 testrepo.

All good now with the links opening like lightning. You really are the man! Thanks for the loan of your brainpower... :celebrate: :yourock:


kmathern wrote:The x-www-browser setting doesn't seem to affect this, I set it back to Konqueror and links still opened in firefox. The settings in System Settings also don't seems to affect this.


It's good job that I don't want to use Konqueror as the default then... ROFL

User avatar
mariel77
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 313
Joined: Sat Jul 15, 2006 2:31 am

Re: Fresh install question

#50 Postby mariel77 » Fri Jan 13, 2012 11:19 pm

@kmathern: Thank you for the details in this post. About a year and a half ago (on M8), I had edited user.js to modify these lines so that links would open in a tarball install of firefox. Since I just keep copying over my TB profile, the wrong lines got into my new M11 install. From your details, I was able to figure out what had been done earlier and edit it. Thank you for saving me a lot of time looking in the wrong places. :happy:


Return to “Mepis 11”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest