Is this a new bug?

Help for Mepis 11
Message
Author
User avatar
michelmassoud
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 805
Age: 57
Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2010 7:02 am

Is this a new bug?

#1 Postby michelmassoud » Wed Apr 18, 2012 4:26 am

Greetings,

I wanted to start a parallel session as root and the computer just froze. I had to power down with the power button. I tried two or three times with the same results.

Is it due to one of the last updates?

Thanks,

Michel

User avatar
GoManutd
Forum Guide
Forum Guide
Posts: 2952
Joined: Mon Jun 30, 2008 8:06 pm

Re: Is this a new bug?

#2 Postby GoManutd » Wed Apr 18, 2012 2:10 pm

what do you mean by parallel session? do you mean, opening a terminal and su'ing as root?

User avatar
michelmassoud
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 805
Age: 57
Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2010 7:02 am

Re: Is this a new bug?

#3 Postby michelmassoud » Thu Apr 19, 2012 4:22 am

No going to the start menu and then "Leave" then "Start a parallel session as a different user"

Thanks,

Michel

User avatar
KrispyKritter
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 611
Age: 75
Joined: Fri Dec 29, 2006 8:09 pm

Re: Is this a new bug?

#4 Postby KrispyKritter » Thu Apr 19, 2012 10:24 am

Michel,

I am sorry I could not duplicate your problem in Roadblock 64. I went to KDE->Leave->Log Out and then Logged in as Root. This created a Root session. Then I could go to KDE->Leave->Switch User to switch between the two different sessions. The only thing required upon switching was to input the correct password each time you switched. When the Switch user was called the "Run Command" box appeared at the top of the screen and you select the desired session from it. There was something mentioned about using the Function Keys to switch sessions, but that doesn't work on Roadblock.

I hope this helps,
Steve
I messed with the dragon and now I am ready for the ketchup!
The only stupid question is the one you already know the answer.

~Krispy Kritter~

Toshiba Satellite A215-S7427(AMD-64)
Windows7/M11(KDE4.6.5)/M11(RoadblockTRK2-32)'buntus13.1/MX14b2/Tanglu1.0

User avatar
michelmassoud
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 805
Age: 57
Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2010 7:02 am

Re: Is this a new bug?

#5 Postby michelmassoud » Thu Apr 19, 2012 1:45 pm

This is the way I do it too and I could always move between sessions without any problems. This is why I'm wondering if it's a bug.

I also realize that the only major change to my system, aside from the updates, was me installing virtual box, although the problem happens when virtual box is not loaded.

Thanks,

Michel

User avatar
muskt
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 426
Joined: Sun Dec 07, 2008 10:02 pm

Re: Is this a new bug?

#6 Postby muskt » Thu Apr 19, 2012 4:28 pm

I have experienced very similar occurrences.
For me, it happens with my "vanilla" M11, + Roadblock 32, + Roadblock 64, & Roadblock TRK 32.
Also, my login screen becomes almost unreadable when swapping users. It is very unresponsive--sometimes it recovers, but usually a hard reboot is required.

Jerry in Anchorage.

User avatar
michelmassoud
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 805
Age: 57
Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2010 7:02 am

Re: Is this a new bug?

#7 Postby michelmassoud » Fri Apr 20, 2012 3:36 am

Any thoughts from the gurus? Moreover my system has become overall unstable and unresponsive, if it goes to sleep it will freeze and I have to power down.

Any repair protocols, test, etc..?

Michel

User avatar
lucky9
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 12334
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 5:54 am

Re: Is this a new bug?

#8 Postby lucky9 » Fri Apr 20, 2012 3:52 am

I think I'd try the Mepis User Assistant to reset configurations and groups as a next step.
Yes, even I am dishonest. Not in many ways, but in some. Forty-one, I think it is.
--Mark Twain

User avatar
michelmassoud
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 805
Age: 57
Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2010 7:02 am

Re: Is this a new bug?

#9 Postby michelmassoud » Fri Apr 20, 2012 4:46 am

I did that for root and user but the system still hangs when I try to run a parallel session.

Thanks,

Michel

User avatar
michelmassoud
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 805
Age: 57
Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2010 7:02 am

Re: Is this a new bug?

#10 Postby michelmassoud » Fri Apr 20, 2012 6:45 am

I did a complete virus scan using clamav. No viruses were found, but now I can run a parallel session! Go figure.

Thanks,

Michel


Return to “Mepis 11”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests