How to get acces to files on CPU1 from CPU2?

Help for Mepis 11
Message
Author
wsxian
Forum Novice
Forum  Novice
Posts: 58
Joined: Thu Mar 24, 2011 1:43 pm

Re: How to get acces to files on CPU1 from CPU2?

#11 Postby wsxian » Wed May 16, 2012 9:53 pm

I do not want the files shared.
Each user (my wife and me) would have their own session and their own files. Both at the same time.
Hence, Samba would not work because you can only have one X session going.
Thin client would work so would a multiseat operation.
So I am choosing to go multiseat, as that seems the easiest to do (maybe). :crossfingers:

User avatar
JBoman
Forum Guide
Forum Guide
Posts: 1483
Age: 58
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 4:30 pm

Re: How to get acces to files on CPU1 from CPU2?

#12 Postby JBoman » Wed May 16, 2012 10:11 pm

wsxian wrote:I do not want the files shared.
Each user (my wife and me) would have their own session and their own files. Both at the same time.
Hence, Samba would not work because you can only have one X session going.
Thin client would work so would a multiseat operation.
So I am choosing to go multiseat, as that seems the easiest to do (maybe). :crossfingers:


access a tutorial here> http://netpatia.blogspot.com/2006/09/mu ... buntu.html
You can do that with Apache also but it not for the faint of heart.... back in the 80's we ran 10 smart terminals that way running UNIX on an 80386 machine in a retail environment and had point of sale with inventory in 3 different locations communicating thru 9600 baud hayes modems... we also had a full time programmer who was genius to maintain it. Good Luck!
http://patentabsurdity.com/
AMD 64x2 2.6GHz 4GB ram MX-15 regular updates
"beware a frequent flirt with potential disaster"

User avatar
bryantrv
Forum Novice
Forum  Novice
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Jul 19, 2011 9:44 am

Re: How to get acces to files on CPU1 from CPU2?

#13 Postby bryantrv » Thu May 17, 2012 2:17 pm

I use xdmcp to do this- a caveat though- I am behind a hardware firewall and do not run firewalls on any of my computers (well- I do on a couple of Windows VMs), video is not super great, the frame rate is pretty low, and I don't have sound (possible, but I don't need it). I believe it is possible using the stock Mepis install, but I use gdm as a display manager. It would probably be easier to get the stock kdm working.
I wish I could give a step by step guide, but it has been a year since I set it up on Mepis, but basically you need to edit kdm.conf or gdm.conf files setting xdmcp use to true, allowing any host to get a login window, and use the chooser at login. I believe there is also an Xwilling file in there somewhere :).

Right now I'm typing on a Duron 850 in my open air shop which is connected to my Athlon box in my air conditioned house, and if my Duron borks, I can throw pretty much any computer up out here and boot in to any live cd. Until computers got so cheap, my wife would log in to the same box at the same time with no problems.

Another option would be to install and configure a vnc client/server or something like nomachine.

User avatar
GoManutd
Forum Guide
Forum Guide
Posts: 2952
Joined: Mon Jun 30, 2008 8:06 pm

Re: How to get acces to files on CPU1 from CPU2?

#14 Postby GoManutd » Thu May 17, 2012 6:25 pm

if you're unwilling/can't run LTSP, then solutions based upon remote desktop, vnc are your only real options and will still require separate hardware.

thin client costs, typically are a little less than standalone computers, but if you can find older computers to turn into thin clients then your cost is almost non-existent.

wsxian
Forum Novice
Forum  Novice
Posts: 58
Joined: Thu Mar 24, 2011 1:43 pm

Re: How to get acces to files on CPU1 from CPU2?

#15 Postby wsxian » Fri Jun 01, 2012 4:14 pm

I can't get multiseat to work in Mepis.
I think my motherboard does not allow the use of more than one video card at a time.
ECS G41t-M V2.0
Can't find any documentation that it allows it or doesn't allow it.
I have a Nvidia GeForce MX440 that I used as my second card.
Found out that you can down load the Nvidia drivers from synaptic.
Worked on /etc/X11/xorg.config file to setup two serves based on Xorg wiki document.
The second monitor will display Mepis but the 1st won't.
The 1st monitor will display Mepis but the 2nd won't.
Restartx --layout seat0 works, but not restart x --layout seat1.
So I may reconsider thin clients.
Spent many hours on this and am just frustrated. :confused:
OR
I may just set my wife up with her files on the slower machine. Enough said. :bagoverhead:


Return to “Mepis 11”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests