Konqueror issues

Help for Mepis 11
Message
Author
User avatar
mepisuser
Posts: 169
Joined: Wed Jul 29, 2009 4:51 am

Re: Konqueror issues

#11 Postby mepisuser » Thu May 31, 2012 1:15 pm

I have the following

*************
Workspace Type: Desktop

Dashboard: Show Desktop Widgets

Informational Tips: show after 0.7 seconds

**************

I suspect I've deleted some KDE support files by accident.

User avatar
GoManutd
Forum Guide
Forum Guide
Posts: 2952
Joined: Mon Jun 30, 2008 8:06 pm

Re: Konqueror issues

#12 Postby GoManutd » Thu May 31, 2012 1:29 pm

open a konsole window, run konqueror - don't add an ampersand.

if errors occur you should see them in the konsole window. i still suspect that konqueror is trying to access some sort of resource that requires a network protocol, e.g. a samba share, ftp, sshfs, etc.

User avatar
Utopia
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 3604
Joined: Sun Apr 29, 2007 11:53 am

Re: Konqueror issues

#13 Postby Utopia » Thu May 31, 2012 1:34 pm

This what I see when I search for installed plasma packages in synaptic. And all recommended and suggested packages are installed. Right-click on the package in synaptic and you can install any missing recommended and suggested.
Henry
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
iridesce
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 606
Age: 58
Joined: Wed Aug 30, 2006 1:44 am

Re: Konqueror issues

#14 Postby iridesce » Thu May 31, 2012 7:30 pm

Here are my installed plasma packages
( Search for plasma in Synaptic )
Image
http://image.bayimg.com/daonaaado.jpg

I really, really like Konqueror as a file manager, especially being able to see what is in a folder by size ( View > View Mode > File Size View )
...Ostara.................................... minni
Image Image
...Mepis 11_64...........................Mepis 11_32

User avatar
lucky9
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 12359
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 5:54 am

Re: Konqueror issues

#15 Postby lucky9 » Thu May 31, 2012 9:03 pm

In Dolphin that is in View/Sort by/size.
Yes, even I am dishonest. Not in many ways, but in some. Forty-one, I think it is.
--Mark Twain

User avatar
timkb4cq
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 3401
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 4:05 pm

Re: Konqueror issues

#16 Postby timkb4cq » Thu May 31, 2012 9:35 pm

Dolphin's Sort By Size is hardly the same thing as Konqueror's View Mode > File Size View.
When you're running out of space on a partition, Konq's whole subtree graphical representation is substantially more useful than Dolphin's Sort By Size. I don't use it often, but it's invaluable when I need it.
MSI 970A-G43 MB, AMD FX-6300 (six core), 16GB RAM, GeForce 730, Samsung 850 EVO 250GB SSD, Seagate Barracuda XT 3TB

User avatar
lucky9
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 12359
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 5:54 am

Re: Konqueror issues

#17 Postby lucky9 » Fri Jun 01, 2012 3:03 pm

I guess I got spoiled when I used Filelight. I didn't realize there was a big difference. I assumed that with Filelight doing its thing that Konqueror (or Dolphin) didn't. I'll have to take a look at Konqueror again.
Yes, even I am dishonest. Not in many ways, but in some. Forty-one, I think it is.
--Mark Twain


Return to “Mepis 11”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest