MEPIS Community Forum

A Linux operating system based on Debian Stable
View unanswered posts | View unsolved topics | View active topics |



Reply to topic  [ 16 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2
Flash Plugin Overlap Other Windows 
Author Message
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 14, 2010 7:49 pm
Posts: 373
Location: Adelaide, OZ
Has thanked: 148 times
Have thanks: 42 times
Post # 300947
Post Re: Flash Plugin Overlap Other Windows
pranata wrote:
@patzy: may I know which version of flash pulgin you are using right now?


The installer tells me it's 11.2.202.235.


Wed Jun 06, 2012 2:33 am
Profile
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
User avatar

Joined: Wed Aug 30, 2006 1:44 am
Posts: 606
Location: Midway between the Washington State rainforest, ocean and volcanoes
Has thanked: 773 times
Have thanks: 69 times
Post # 300981
Post Re: Flash Plugin Overlap Other Windows
patzy wrote:
pranata wrote:
@patzy: may I know which version of flash pulgin you are using right now?


The installer tells me it's 11.2.202.235.


I just ran @patzy's command and mine updated with 11.2.202.235.

_________________
...Ostara.................................... minni
Image Image
...Mepis 11_64...........................Mepis 11_32


Wed Jun 06, 2012 4:41 pm
Profile
Forum Novice
Forum  Novice

Joined: Sun Jun 03, 2012 6:57 am
Posts: 5
Has thanked: 3 times
Have thanks: 2 times
Post # 301350
Post Re: Flash Plugin Overlap Other Windows
Ah so unfortunate for me. I've updated the flash version with the same version number as you patzy, but the problem still exist. It occurs in several websites, for example youtube, but dailymotion doesn't show the problem.

Never mind, thank you all for your suggestion, I appreciate that. I like mepis, I think this distribution is very stable and aren't buggy so I like it the way it is.

Have a nice day :).


Thu Jun 14, 2012 2:22 am
Profile
Forum Novice
Forum  Novice

Joined: Sun Jun 03, 2012 6:57 am
Posts: 5
Has thanked: 3 times
Have thanks: 2 times
Post # 301409
Post Re: Flash Plugin Overlap Other Windows
Okay, last night I execute 'update-flashplugin-nonfree --install' as root and it updates my flash version to 11.2.202.236. With Nvidia driver 295.53 the problem has disappear.

So I will flag this thread as solved. Thank you all for your help. ;)


Fri Jun 15, 2012 1:41 am

pranata thanked by: Nix Hard
Profile
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 7:17 am
Posts: 206
Location: New Zealand
Has thanked: 103 times
Have thanks: 23 times
Post # 301414
Post Re: Flash Plugin Overlap Other Windows
Me here too, and problem gone. I had been keeping flash non-free up too date [only for security reasons], but had given up on the display corruption problem. Now it works again. [Flash-nonfree 11.2.202.236]

I would recommend this flash update to everyone running 32bit. [only tested on 32bit MS11 @ this end]

Whooo whoooo.. NH

_________________
Some bugs are beauts...
MEPIS Radio; it rocks
MEPIS Documentation Project;-- get MEPIS wise


Fri Jun 15, 2012 4:53 am
Profile
Forum Guide
Forum Guide

Joined: Tue Jul 25, 2006 12:47 pm
Posts: 1440
Location: Savannah, GA
Has thanked: 85 times
Have thanks: 282 times
Post # 301434
Post Re: Flash Plugin Overlap Other Windows
FWIW, I've seen flash problems frequently in the past where flash adverts video, etc., would overlap part of the web pages I was viewing, where all I needed to do to solve it was change the User Agent to XP running IE versus Linux running Firefox.

IOW, it appears that the way the sites are looking at the User Agent string can impact the way the pages are displayed. I just use Prefbar for that purpose, since it gives me a drop down list of User Agents I can choose from.

You can also customize the UA strings. But, it's not obvious how to do that part (you have to use the customize menus and click on the User Agent listing in the available menu options and a screen will come up that lets you add more UAs). Using the Firefox customize features, you can drag and drop the Prefbar toolbar someplace else, too. Again, that kind of thing is not very obvious. But, I've got my Firefox setup so that the Prefbar options are to the right of the main toolbar choices (File, Edit, etc.).

You can find other add-ons that let you change the User Agent string returned to web sites, too. You might be surprised at some of the problems you can "fix", just by telling sites you're using a different operating system instead of Linux.

So, I wouldn't rule out that the way sites and flash based players are looking at the User Agent string to be the cause of these types of issues (as I've seen multiple cases where just changing the UA to something else solved overlap problems with flash video on web sites).


Fri Jun 15, 2012 3:12 pm

JimC thanked by: lucky9
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 16 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

Protected by Anti-Spam ACP Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by STSoftware for PTF.