MEPIS Community Forum

A Linux operating system based on Debian Stable
View unanswered posts | View unsolved topics | View active topics |



Reply to topic  [ 29 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next
----Display settings question 
Author Message
Forum Guide
Forum Guide
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2007 6:57 am
Posts: 1019
Location: West Central PA
Has thanked: 36 times
Have thanks: 32 times
Post # 302342
Post ----Display settings question  [Solved]
My monitor display runs well at 1280x720 with the screen filling the monitor like it should. However, each time I shut down or reboot the system wants to default to 1440x900 and then I have things off the screen, such as my minimize, maximize and red close program buttons. Why would the system want to default to such a large screen resolution?
Is there a way to stop this? Running M11 standard and I have a 19 inch monitor measured diagonally. Thanks


Sat Jul 07, 2012 1:35 pm
Profile WWW
Forum Guide
Forum Guide
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 4:05 pm
Posts: 2816
Location: Pinellas Park, FL
Has thanked: 105 times
Have thanks: 1775 times
Post # 302344
Post Re: ----Display settings question
When you change the resolution in the System Settings -> Display & Monitor -> Size & Orientation are you using the Save as Default button after you apply the change? That should make the setting permanent.

_________________
XFX Nforce 750 (built in GeForce 8300), Athlon X2 5000
Lenovo G550 , Intel T4400 , Intel Mobile 4 graphics


Sat Jul 07, 2012 1:51 pm
Profile
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 11, 2006 10:42 pm
Posts: 4445
Has thanked: 123 times
Have thanks: 910 times
Post # 302345
Post Re: ----Display settings question
Dieselrider wrote:
My monitor display runs well at 1280x720 with the screen filling the monitor like it should. However, each time I shut down or reboot the system wants to default to 1440x900 and then I have things off the screen, such as my minimize, maximize and red close program buttons. Why would the system want to default to such a large screen resolution?
Is there a way to stop this? Running M11 standard and I have a 19 inch monitor measured diagonally. Thanks


Because that's the native resolution of your monitor.

Rather than fight it (I used to try and force an other-than-native res), with M11 I finally went with the defaults and adjusted fonts and icon sizes and application display setting to accommodate my tired old eyes.

_________________
Desktop: Custom build Asus/AMD/nVidia -- MEPIS 11
Netbook: Fujitsu Lifebook Pentium M -- MX-14
Laptop: Acer Aspire 5250 AMD Dual -- SolydK 64


Sat Jul 07, 2012 1:55 pm
Profile
Forum Guide
Forum Guide
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2007 6:57 am
Posts: 1019
Location: West Central PA
Has thanked: 36 times
Have thanks: 32 times
Post # 302347
Post Re: ----Display settings question
timkb4cq wrote:
When you change the resolution in the System Settings -> Display & Monitor -> Size & Orientation are you using the Save as Default button after you apply the change? That should make the setting permanent.

Not finding that button but after accepting that configuration, it is saying that is the default.


Sat Jul 07, 2012 2:01 pm
Profile WWW
Forum Guide
Forum Guide
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2007 6:57 am
Posts: 1019
Location: West Central PA
Has thanked: 36 times
Have thanks: 32 times
Post # 302348
Post Re: ----Display settings question
uncle mark wrote:
Because that's the native resolution of your monitor.

Rather than fight it (I used to try and force an other-than-native res), with M11 I finally went with the defaults and adjusted fonts and icon sizes and application display setting to accommodate my tired old eyes.


How do I go about doing that? Thanks


Sat Jul 07, 2012 2:02 pm
Profile WWW
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 5:54 am
Posts: 10946
Location: Tulsa, Oklahoma U.S.A.
Has thanked: 3701 times
Have thanks: 887 times
Post # 302362
Post Re: ----Display settings question
In System Settings/Applications Appearance/

Be sure to go through kdesu systemsettings to set things.

_________________
Yes, even I am dishonest. Not in many ways, but in some. Forty-one, I think it is.
--Mark Twain


Sat Jul 07, 2012 6:44 pm
Profile
Forum Guide
Forum Guide
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2007 6:57 am
Posts: 1019
Location: West Central PA
Has thanked: 36 times
Have thanks: 32 times
Post # 302376
Post Re: ----Display settings question
lucky9 wrote:
In System Settings/Applications Appearance/

Be sure to go through kdesu systemsettings to set things.

Thanks. I found where I can change the icon and font sizes. The default was a font size 9 and I went to 8 for all the fonts. Not sure I would want to go much smaller but don't know if that will help at all once I reboot and this all changes with the resolution?


Sun Jul 08, 2012 5:56 am
Profile WWW
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 5:54 am
Posts: 10946
Location: Tulsa, Oklahoma U.S.A.
Has thanked: 3701 times
Have thanks: 887 times
Post # 302380
Post Re: ----Display settings question
You want to use larger fonts and the native resolution together. Native resolution should make the windows the right size. The larger fonts/icons will make it easier to read. I'd suggest going to 10. Some might need to go even larger.

If this doesn't help you'll need to adjust the dpi so that things are larger. But don't do that until trying the above.

_________________
Yes, even I am dishonest. Not in many ways, but in some. Forty-one, I think it is.
--Mark Twain


Sun Jul 08, 2012 7:06 am
Profile
Forum Guide
Forum Guide
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2007 6:57 am
Posts: 1019
Location: West Central PA
Has thanked: 36 times
Have thanks: 32 times
Post # 302529
Post Re: ----Display settings question
lucky9 wrote:
You want to use larger fonts and the native resolution together. Native resolution should make the windows the right size. The larger fonts/icons will make it easier to read. I'd suggest going to 10. Some might need to go even larger.

If this doesn't help you'll need to adjust the dpi so that things are larger. But don't do that until trying the above.

Well, I tried fonts set at 12 and when I reboot and open anything to full page the top row (title row with the close, minimize and maximize buttons are off screen with the default resolution. These settings make all the fonts larger and easier to read but, I really do not need them that size (yet). Just wish the resolution would fit the screen. How do I adjust the dpi?


Tue Jul 10, 2012 5:55 am
Profile WWW
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 5:54 am
Posts: 10946
Location: Tulsa, Oklahoma U.S.A.
Has thanked: 3701 times
Have thanks: 887 times
Post # 302537
Post Re: ----Display settings question
What is the model number of your monitor (or laptop)?

_________________
Yes, even I am dishonest. Not in many ways, but in some. Forty-one, I think it is.
--Mark Twain


Tue Jul 10, 2012 9:49 am
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 29 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

Protected by Anti-Spam ACP Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by STSoftware for PTF.