MEPIS Community Forum

A Linux operating system based on Debian Stable
View unanswered posts | View unsolved topics | View active topics |



Reply to topic  [ 16 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2
Just Because . .. 
Author Message
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 5:54 am
Posts: 10906
Location: Tulsa, Oklahoma U.S.A.
Has thanked: 3651 times
Have thanks: 886 times
Post # 292718
Post Re: Just Because . ..
My Acer had a recovery partition that generated two DVD recovery disks. I tested them and they worked. I then deleted that partition. It was an XP OS so nothing else was required. I gained two Primary Partitions and an Extended Partition that way.

_________________
Yes, even I am dishonest. Not in many ways, but in some. Forty-one, I think it is.
--Mark Twain


Thu Jan 05, 2012 9:02 pm
Profile
Post # 292755
Post Re: Just Because . ..
I bought a Compaq Black 15.6" CQ57-319qm for $199.00 from Walmart on Black Friday. Gave it to my Wife for Christmas.
She was so happy with it she gave me her Acer Aspire 5534 which is the 4gig ram model with theAMD Turion™ 64 X2 dual-core processor L510 (1 MB L2 cache, 1.60 without a webcam, but the compaq has one. Which was why she gave me the Acer. :happy: The Acer has more omph though than the compaq except for missing webcam.

I've already made the recovery DVDs and am waiting for the new AntiX release for that Baby for the internal Hardrive install. It has a Atheros wireless chip and I have already ran a AntiX 11 antix2usb persistent on it for testing purposes, I run a Racy 5.2.2 USB persistent on it also (it sees all 4 gig of ram). The new Antix release should fly on it and smxi should give me a pae kernel (I hope). No swap partition should be needed though I might give it a couple of gig.

The Compaq stays Windows 7 since the wife is a die hard Windows user.. :blindfold:

I won't know how to act after dealing with my small EEEPCs and My older IBM and other Laptops. :snail:
15" screen.,4gig of ram,64bit architecture,250 gig hardrive , . Boolya. :p

Code:
# inxi -F
System:    Host: puppypc11428 Kernel: 3.0.7 i686 (32 bit)
           Desktop JWM sn-505 Distro: Racy Puppy Linux
Linux 3.0.7 [i686 arch]
Machine:   System: Acer (portable) product: Aspire 5534 version: V1.10 serial: LXPJV0200293721BAE1601
           Mobo: Acer model: Aspire 5534 version: V1.10 serial: LXPJV0200293721BAE1601
           Bios: Acer version: V1.10 date: 08/26/2009
CPU:       Dual core (AMD Athlon X2 L310,1197.160,512 KB,fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 clflush mmx fxsr sse sse2 ht syscall nx mmxext fxsr_opt rdtscp lm 3dnowext 3dnow extd_apicid pni cx16 lahf_lm cmp_legacy svm extapic cr8_legacy 3dnowprefetch lbrv,2395.08,amd) (-MCP-) cache: unknown  flags: (-)
           Clock Speeds: 1: 1197.160 MHz 2: 1197.160 MHz
Graphics:  Card: ATI RS780M/RS780MN [Radeon HD 3200 Graphics]
           X.org: 1.11.0 drivers: ati,radeon (unloaded: vesa) tty size: 80x25 Advanced Data: N/A for root
Audio:     Card: ATI SBx00 Azalia (Intel HDA) driver: HDA Intel Sound: ALSA ver: 1.0.24
Network:   Card-1: Atheros AR928X Wireless Network Adapter (PCI-Express) driver: ath9k
           IF: wlan0 state: up mac: <filtered>
           Card-2: Realtek RTL8111/8168B PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet controller driver: r8169
           IF: eth0 state: down mac: <filtered>
Drives:    HDD Total Size: (254.1GB,-) () 1: /dev/sda TOSHIBA_MK2555GS 250.1GB
           2: /dev/sdb SanDisk_Cruzer 4.1GB
Partition:
Sensors:   Error: You do not have the sensors app installed.
Info:      Processes: 72 Uptime: 1:25 Memory: 244.4/3796.1MB Client: Shell inxi: 1.7.27


Fri Jan 06, 2012 4:04 am
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
User avatar

Joined: Fri Dec 15, 2006 8:07 pm
Posts: 8586
Location: Skullcrusher Mountain, Santee, CA USA
Has thanked: 565 times
Have thanks: 1901 times
Post # 292847
Post Re: Just Because . ..
Quote:
Yes, that's how mine came, too. From my notes:

sda1: ntfs, 199.00 MiB (“SYSTEM”)
sda2: ntfs, 213.72 GiB (no label)
sda3: ntfs, 18.86 GiB (“RECOVERY”)
sda4: fat32, 103.18 MiB (“HP_TOOLS”)


Or sda2 is a data-only partition--my Lenovo came that way. Deleting it made Win 7 use its system partition to store data (sda1). Then I shrunk sda1 and converted all the empty space to an extended partition for MEPIS install.


Fri Jan 06, 2012 8:10 pm
Profile
Online
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 11, 2006 10:42 pm
Posts: 4387
Has thanked: 118 times
Have thanks: 882 times
Post # 292848
Post Re: Just Because . ..
Stevo wrote:
Quote:
Yes, that's how mine came, too. From my notes:

sda1: ntfs, 199.00 MiB (“SYSTEM”)
sda2: ntfs, 213.72 GiB (no label)
sda3: ntfs, 18.86 GiB (“RECOVERY”)
sda4: fat32, 103.18 MiB (“HP_TOOLS”)


Or sda2 is a data-only partition--my Lenovo came that way. Deleting it made Win 7 use its system partition to store data (sda1). Then I shrunk sda1 and converted all the empty space to an extended partition for MEPIS install.


Look again. sda1 is 199 MEGA, not Giga. Of course, this assumes good notes/good transcribing.

_________________
Desktop: Custom build Asus/AMD/nVidia -- MEPIS 11
Netbook: Fujitsu Lifebook Pentium M -- MX-14
Laptop: Acer Aspire 5250 AMD Dual -- SolydK 64


Fri Jan 06, 2012 8:13 pm
Profile
Forum Guide
Forum Guide
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 13, 2006 7:21 am
Posts: 1843
Location: albuquerque
Has thanked: 130 times
Have thanks: 158 times
Post # 292853
Post Re: Just Because . ..
uncle mark wrote:
Look again. sda1 is 199 MEGA, not Giga. Of course, this assumes good notes/good transcribing.


Found this posted by someone, from a Compaq Presario CQ61: http://img687.imageshack.us/img687/5246/partion.png

That's from a post here: http://www.computing.net/answers/hardwa ... 77320.html

That's similar to, but not the same as, what I saw on my CQ56.


Fri Jan 06, 2012 8:38 pm
Profile
Online
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 11, 2006 10:42 pm
Posts: 4387
Has thanked: 118 times
Have thanks: 882 times
Post # 292856
Post Re: Just Because . ..
malspa wrote:
uncle mark wrote:
Look again. sda1 is 199 MEGA, not Giga. Of course, this assumes good notes/good transcribing.


Found this posted by someone, from a Compaq Presario CQ61: http://img687.imageshack.us/img687/5246/partion.png

That's from a post here: http://www.computing.net/answers/hardwa ... 77320.html

That's similar to, but not the same as, what I saw on my CQ56.


Yup. Missing the HP_Tools. Showing exactly what I described would look after blowing that part away, shrinking the C: drive, and creating an extended in the free space.

_________________
Desktop: Custom build Asus/AMD/nVidia -- MEPIS 11
Netbook: Fujitsu Lifebook Pentium M -- MX-14
Laptop: Acer Aspire 5250 AMD Dual -- SolydK 64


Fri Jan 06, 2012 8:45 pm
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 16 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

Protected by Anti-Spam ACP Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by STSoftware for PTF.