How to edit the Wiki

Threads concerning the Documentation and Wiki for MEPIS.
Message
Author
User avatar
chatan
Forum Regular
Forum Regular
Posts: 798
Joined: Fri Oct 17, 2008 8:19 pm

#11 Postby chatan » Thu Sep 10, 2009 9:35 am

Jerry3904 wrote:Adding images
1. Images can be a great help in understanding certain procedures.
2. Please be careful about image size and format. Look at what others have done.
3. Images are uploaded by following the link "Upload file" in the left panel which takes you to the upload page.

When I click the upload file link, I get a wiki page that says:
The upload directory (/home/cwoodford/wiki/en/images) is not writable by the webserver.

I am logged in the wiki.
Cheers

User avatar
Jerry3904
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 15219
Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2006 6:13 am

#12 Postby Jerry3904 » Thu Sep 10, 2009 10:00 am

I got that error message too, but assumed it was because I had been screwing around with OpenDNS. Never assume...

I sent Warren an email yesterday, and he has asked Matt (his former associate who set up the Wiki in Drupal) if he can help. Now I will add this to the list.
Production: 4.2.0-0.bpo.1-amd64, MX-15 RC1, AMD FX-4130 Quad-Core, GeForce GT 630/PCIe/SSE2, 8 GB, Kingston SSD 120 GB and WesternDigital 1TB
Testing: AAO 722: 3.16-0-4-686-pae. MX-15, AMD C-60 APU, 4 GB

User avatar
Jerry3904
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 15219
Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2006 6:13 am

#13 Postby Jerry3904 » Thu Sep 10, 2009 11:26 am

Update: they are working on it. Got this reply from Matt:
Jerry and Warren,

I tried to log into the server last night, but ssh connections to http://www.mepis.org and many other variations were quickly refused:

ssh: connect to host http://www.mepis.org port 22: Connection refused

Warren, can you tell me what I need to do to access the wiki files?

-Matt
Production: 4.2.0-0.bpo.1-amd64, MX-15 RC1, AMD FX-4130 Quad-Core, GeForce GT 630/PCIe/SSE2, 8 GB, Kingston SSD 120 GB and WesternDigital 1TB
Testing: AAO 722: 3.16-0-4-686-pae. MX-15, AMD C-60 APU, 4 GB

User avatar
Rezin
Posts: 28
Joined: Wed May 09, 2007 5:52 pm

#14 Postby Rezin » Mon Sep 14, 2009 6:27 am

If I can't use this link to register to be able to edit the wiki would it be possible for someone else who is already registered to register me and then I will change the password? I don't even know if that's possible.
“To sit back hoping that someday, some way, someone will make things right is to go on feeding the crocodile, hoping he will eat you last -- but eat you he will.â€

User avatar
Jerry3904
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 15219
Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2006 6:13 am

#15 Postby Jerry3904 » Mon Sep 14, 2009 7:51 am

I can try. Send me a PM with the user name, password and email address you want to use.

I sent Warren and Matt a reminder yesterday, so hope to see some progress.
Production: 4.2.0-0.bpo.1-amd64, MX-15 RC1, AMD FX-4130 Quad-Core, GeForce GT 630/PCIe/SSE2, 8 GB, Kingston SSD 120 GB and WesternDigital 1TB
Testing: AAO 722: 3.16-0-4-686-pae. MX-15, AMD C-60 APU, 4 GB

User avatar
Rezin
Posts: 28
Joined: Wed May 09, 2007 5:52 pm

#16 Postby Rezin » Mon Sep 14, 2009 12:40 pm

Thanks Jerry, works great!
“To sit back hoping that someday, some way, someone will make things right is to go on feeding the crocodile, hoping he will eat you last -- but eat you he will.â€

User avatar
Jerry3904
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 15219
Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2006 6:13 am

#17 Postby Jerry3904 » Wed Sep 23, 2009 7:34 am

This email from Matt updates work this problem:
I did look into adding a captcha extension, but the wiki software is too far out of date. So we need to upgrade all of the wiki's to get captcha working, so we can enable new user registration. Phew! So for now, just hold on for a little longer as we figure out the best way to do this that will be maintainable in the future.
Production: 4.2.0-0.bpo.1-amd64, MX-15 RC1, AMD FX-4130 Quad-Core, GeForce GT 630/PCIe/SSE2, 8 GB, Kingston SSD 120 GB and WesternDigital 1TB
Testing: AAO 722: 3.16-0-4-686-pae. MX-15, AMD C-60 APU, 4 GB

User avatar
cozwurth
Forum Novice
Forum  Novice
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Nov 13, 2009 4:06 pm

#18 Postby cozwurth » Sun Nov 15, 2009 10:00 pm

Has there been any update on this? I tried to create a Wiki account this evening but cannot see a "create account" button of any kind.

Thanks.

User avatar
richb
Administrator
Posts: 13032
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 2:17 pm

#19 Postby richb » Sun Nov 15, 2009 10:03 pm

You do not need a special account. Just use your forum name and password to gain authorization.
Forum Rules
Guide - How to Ask for Help

Rich

Laptop: Acer V5-572G: Intel i5, 12 GIG mem, Intel graphics, SanDisk SSD, 256GB
Virtualbox: Win 7
Desktop: MX-15- 64, AMD A8 7600 FM2+ CPU R7 Graphics, fglrx driver, 16 GIG Mem. Samsung EVO SSD 250 GB

User avatar
cozwurth
Forum Novice
Forum  Novice
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Nov 13, 2009 4:06 pm

#20 Postby cozwurth » Mon Nov 16, 2009 9:20 pm

Richb,
I tried that several times. No joy.


Return to “MEPIS Documentation”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest